Here We Go!

Hi, hi, hi! I’m Colleen! Welcome to my little slice of the blog world. It’s comfy here. I think I like it 🙂

I have been a dedicated reader of some of my favorite blogs for a while now. You know, until about a year ago I thought blogs were just dark, online diaries and I was totally turned off by the idea. Then one of my dear friends Ashley started her own blog, and I got hooked on reading it. Then I started reading Courtney’s blog and Anne’s blog and I became inspired to do it too!

For those who know me, life has gotten crazy busy (in a great way!) since I graduated in May. In the past 8-ish months I have:

  • Graduated from college. GO LANCERS!
  • Moved back to Northern VA
  • Got engaged! (And this whole “wedding planning” thing is like a full time job 🙂 )
  • Went backpacking in Europe.
  • Started graduate school.
  • Started working two jobs (to fund said wedding & graduate school): Counseling center office admin & graduate assistant

So things are movin’! I’m loving life, but I would be a huge, fat liar if I told you that adjusting to (almost) Big Girl World has been easy. It has not. But is has been fun and interesting (with lots of trial and error), and there is never a dull moment, that’s fo’ sho’.

I am a creature of habit, so leaving my nice, comfortable college routine was rough. Finding a way to work workouts into my daily schedule (getting up at 5:30 is WAY harder than it sounds), eating healthy meals (the dining hall did have healthy options!!), work + school (grad school is like college; but with all the fun sucked out of it), and maintaining some sort of social life (oh hey, mom and dad, want to hang out again?) has been tough! But I’m doin’ the damn thing and I’m proud of myself 🙂 But I wanted a new hobby, and although I love reading blogs, I wanted to start my own. To share my journey of finding the best way to balance this thing called life. And hopefully someone besides my mom will want to read about it 🙂

So, I hope you’ll stick around while I figure this whole blog thing out! Let me know what you think – I’d love to hear from ya!

Question for the day – how do you find time and motivation for workouts?

8 Comments on “Here We Go!”

  1. Colleen Whitney Baker :) says:

    YAY!! I’m the first to comment on your blog (which I found through my daily stalking of you through the FB)! Love that you’ve started one…I have a whole column in my bookmark toolbar dedicated to all the blogs I read so I’m happy to add yours! As for your question about motivation – I got nothing for you – I’m still working on this whole balance and motivation thing myself – let me know if you find something that works! Love you to the moon and back a gillion million times!

  2. Kathryn says:

    Great question! I’m glad you like Jillian Michaels so much! I’ve been using her workout DVD Shred it with Weights. Do you have it? I have to use DVDs to workout this time of year because I can’t afford a gym membership while I’m in school and it is waaaaay to cold to be outside! I look forward to reading your blog!

    • Colleen says:

      Thanks, Kathryn! I’m so glad you love Jillian too! 🙂 I have her 30 day shred, and I like it a lot! I rely on workout DVDs strong so much in the winter for the same reasons you said! Can’t afford the gym, and the one on campus is way too far of a walk at 5:30 in the morning when it’s absolutely freezing outside. I tried to run outside today, but the cold makes it so difficult and unenjoyable! Thanks again for reading and commenting! 🙂

  3. Renie says:

    Hi Colleen, I am a regular reader of fannetasticfood.com. I just read your comment on Anne’s blog and decided to read your. I really like it and have signed up for future post. I guess I am not your regular reader. I am 59 years old, a diabetic and have lost 39 pounds since July. Anne encouraged me along the way. I have been married to my recently retired USMC guy for 40 years. We have 5 children and 8 grandchildren. I never really read blogs before I saw Anne’s and found that it was just delightful. I browsed yours and I think yours is going to be just as much fun. Good Luck.

    • Colleen says:

      Hi, Irene! Thank you so very much for subscribing to my blog; you truly made my day! 🙂 Congratulations on your amazing weight loss! I hope I can serve as some sort of encouragement to maintain your weight, as Anne encouraged you through your weight loss journey. At the very least, I hope I can serve as a small bit of entertainment 🙂 Thank you again for your kind words! I hope to hear from you again in the future!

  4. Anne P says:

    Hey, Colleen! I’m honored to hear my blog helped inspire the start of yours 🙂 You’re off to an awesome start – keep it up!

  5. […] started reading healthy living blogs a while ago, and I finally got the courage to start my own. I have a knack for expressing myself through writing, and I wanted to share my journey to find my […]


Leave a Reply

