Stepping Outside the Box

Happy Monday, friends! I hope most of your are enjoying your day off. I, on the other hand, have to go into work ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I guess therapists can’t tell their clients to put their issues on hold. Darn it. Unfortunately, my camera has lost it’s battery and I cannot find the charger (ahh!!) so my breakfast has gone un-photographed. But ย just try and imagine the scrumptious blend of Special K, Fiber One Honey Clusters, and Quaker’s Oatmeal Squares with sliced banana on top. Yummm!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night Cory and I saw The Dilemma and went out to dinner. Cory had the bright idea to stop for candy before we got to the movies, so he could save approximately $5.00 ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good call!

The movie wasn’t that great. If I were you, I’d totally wait until it comes to Redbox. We were disappointed because it wasn’t too funny – it was more serious than we expected – and it was looong. Has anyone else seen it? Care to agree or disagree?

After dinner, we planned on going to Bonefish because I had a hankering for bang bang shrimp but the wait was long and the bar was crowded. Then we thought we’d go to our safe bet, Panera (because it’s always so good!), but we decided to keep our date “outside of the box” (because we don’t usually go to movies) and we went to this Indian restaurant called Aditi.ย It was deee-lish! It was my first time having Indian food, and I’m sad to say I’ve waited this long!

We started off with some naan, accompanied by this amazing yogurt-y dipping sauce.

I ordered the Chicken Tikka; boneless pieces of tender chicken flavored with house spices and herbs, along with saffron flavored rice and yellow lentils. SO GOOD! I gave Cory one piece of chicken, and had one left over. It was a lot of filling food!

Cory had the Chicken Tandoori; spring chicken marinated in yogurt, garlic, spices and lemon juice. The chicken was so tender.

Yum, yum, yum! I will absolutely be going back!

I still have this ugly cough, and it’s making working out pretty darn difficult. My doctor even gave me an inhaler (enter loud mouth breathing here). So, no workout again today. This is really bumming me out! Oh well, I guess it’s the smart idea to let my body heal…right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Question for the day –ย what did you eat the last time you stepped outside of your “food box?” Was it a good choice? ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Comments on “Stepping Outside the Box”

  1. Kathryn says:

    I’ve always enjoyed the “greek” style food my friends or I would make. However when I went to an authentic style Greek restaurant I thought I’d try the classic dolmathes…….yuck!! Very briny with a strange texture and strange spices. The tzatziki was really good though…. I hate when I try something classic and don’t like it. For example one of the easiest snacks on the planet is raisins and unfortunately I hate them. I remember as a kid at lunchtime when everyone pulled out their cute little raisin boxes I was mad that I couldn’t eat because they taste so damn bad!

  2. CaSaundra says:

    Love your blog!!

    My friends and I always stock up at the Dollar Tree with candy and snacks before the movies–saves so much money!

    • Colleen says:

      Thanks for reading!! Yes, stopping by the Dollar Tree is the perfect place to create a candy stash! Who the heck wants to pay $6 for a handful of gummy bears?! Not this girl! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

