No Long Weekend Here!

I didn’t have a break today, but that’s okay! I’m lovin’ this whole “work during the day – have the afternoons and evenings free” thing that I’ve got going on for another week. It’s like I almost forgot that I’m a grad student ๐Ÿ˜‰

But do you know what will remind any graduate student of their current status faster than you can say ilovespringbreak?

Paying for textbooks. Lots, and lots of textbooks. I think a little part of me dies on the inside when I have to spend that kind of money on a book. Oh, dear.

My credit card is still cooling off, and I’ve stopped sweating – so I guess it’s best to just move on.

Today was a long day at work, so I ate at my desk ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I know, I know. It’s best to get up and move and not eat in front of your computer – but it just didn’t happen today. Maybe when Virginia doesn’t resemble the arctic tundra, I’ll have my solo picnics ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve been staying at my parent’s for the last couple of weeks because it’s been winter break, and I’ve eaten them out of house and home! Today I had some slim pickins. It’s time for me to go grocery shopping. For lunch, I packed a PB&J on rye, a handful of Sun Chips, an apple and a clementine (which was bad, so I didn’t eat it).

I usually eat something small likeย just a sandwich, and then I’ll snack on the rest of the stuff throughout the day. Today was different though because I’ve been sick and have had a pretty nonexistent appetite for God knows how long, so I was thrilled when I was actually hungry at 11:30. YAY for small victories ๐Ÿ™‚

Today was a sandwich day – and I couldn’t be happier. Cory made my favorite sandwich of all time for dinner tonight.

Mozzarella, tomato and basil on french bread. Oh! It’s so simple, yet so freakin’ delicious. We add a tad of EVOO and a splash of balsamic vinaigrette and it just melts in your mouth. I also had a few slices of an apple. I don’t know about you, but I have this very real inability to eat a sandwich without chips. So, instead of eating not-s0-good-for-me chips every time I chow down on a sandwich, I often trick my brain and eat sliced up apple or sliced up red pepper. The crunch fakes me out ๐Ÿ˜‰

Well, I’m all sandwiched out – so I think the rest of the night calls for doing some serious Netflix damage. Law & Order: SVU, here I come! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a marvelous night!

Quick Question – Law & Order: SVU – I know you’ve seen it. Do you hope and pray think that Benson and Stabler (the most beautiful detectivesย ever) will get over themselves one day and just confess their undying love for each other? Let’s just say, I wouldn’t hate it ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 Comments on “No Long Weekend Here!”

  1. Jenifer says:

    Oh man, I’ve been spending hours at end looking up the cheapest avenue to my textbooks so when I saw your blog post I almost cringed at the all too familiar covers!

    Thank god my cringe-worthy moment was fleeting and I was able to drool over that FABULOUS tomato, moz, and basil sandwich!

    • Colleen says:

      Textbooks! AHH!! I finally just bit the bullet and bought them. YUCK. I’m sorry I didn’t put a disclaimer up before those textbook photos ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks so, so, so much for reading, Jen! See you next week!

  2. emma says:

    hey! i’m with u on the tomato, mozzarella and basil combo! yum!

  3. Danielle says:

    I also have a really hard time not eating a sandwich unless there are chips on the side. Yum!


Leave a Reply

