Back In Action!

Oh, 5:40 came far too quickly this morning. Since it’s been winter break and because I’ve been under the weather for a while, it felt like forever since I last set my alarm to get up before the sun in order to workout.

When I finally reached over and turned off my alarm, I thought, Should I just reset it for 7:00? The thought was oh-s0-tempting. If I don’t workout first thing in the morning, I have a snowball’s chance in hell of actually doing it later. When I don’t feel like getting up in the morning to workout (and, hey, sometimes I just don’t!) I weigh these options: feeling tired for 10 minutes, but feeling great for the rest of the day OR get my extra hour or so of sleep, but feel crappy for the rest of the day because I skipped a workout. Don’t get me wrong, sometimes sleep absolutely trumps getting up early for a workout, and on those days I don’t feel bad. Sleep is very important! But, I had my 7 hours of sleep and no excuses to desperately cling to, so I just did it. And, boy! I’m glad I did!

Disclaimer: I am not a natural runner. I actually don’t really like it. I’m awkward and not too fast. Seeing as I hadn’t been on a treadmill in weeks, I was nervous that I wouldn’t last 10 minutes.

But I ran 3.1 miles in 31 minutes. I’m back in action! I felt so good afterwards. During, not so much. But I am running a 5K in a few weeks with Cory and our friend Emily, so I had to prove to myself that I could do it. I’ve done 5Ks before, but being out of the running game for a few weeks made me doubt myself. So take me for an example – if this non-runner can do it, so can you! 🙂

Breakfast

Breakfast today was the exact same thing as yesterday, so I’m sure you won’t mind if I recycle yesterday’s picture 😉

Well, friends, I’m off to work! (I totally wished for a second ice day 😉 ) I hope your day is a great one! Catch ya later!

Question for the day – What’s your biggest health or fitness accomplishment? Come silent readers, I’m talkin’ to you, too! 🙂

 

6 Comments on “Back In Action!”

  1. Cory says:

    I am most proud of running the 10k in <1hr last year. Thanks for running with me. 😉 I love you and your blog, you're doing great.

  2. Lucy B says:

    Colleen…I am LOVING your blog. So glad Joni shared w/ me. I have never been a blog reader but you are clearly a girl after my own heart…..working out/feeling fit and great food are passions 🙂 This is such a treat!

    So, to answer your question….I would say working out every single day through both pregnancies for sure! I was at the gym the day both boys were born 🙂

    • Colleen says:

      Oh my gosh! Thanks, Lucy! I SO appreciate you reading! I think your answer is amazing! Every day through both pregnancies?! At the gym the days they were born?! You’re a machine! I love it! 😀

  3. Lauren says:

    There are just so many things that we have in common – perhaps is due to the family ties – the breakfast choices the ‘not a natural runner’ (that is me to the T)

    My accomplishment is actually running, I used to literally get on the tredmill for 5 min and think eh why am I doing this I’m out of breath and sweaty, BUT now I can run a mile lol still working on getting to marathon status 🙂

    • Colleen says:

      Lauren, that’s awesome! When I still get on the treadmill I think “eh, why am I doing this?!” 😉 But it does get easier, you’re right! Marathon status?! You go, girl! Let’s think about doing a half marathon together! (There no way on God’s green Earth that I’m doing a marathon!)

  4. Emily says:

    I am so excited for the 5k with you and Cory. I haven’t made it in 31 minutes yet, that is amazing little! But in the next 2 and a half weeks I plan on getting pretty darn close to that time!!!


Leave a Reply

