An End to Fat Talk

I have some thoughts about fat talk, or negative self talk in general, but I wanted to share this quick video with you before I leap onto my soap box this morning. Let me know what you think!

Isn’t that such an empowering, motivating video? I saw it a while ago, and I thought it was appropriate for my little blog.

True Life: I am a recovering fat talker. I am not fat. But through lots of self reflection (hello, Counseling program!) I’ve had some great revelations that might (or might not!) mean something to you.

I’ve found that I retreat to fat comments when things in my life make me feel stressed, sad, anxious or overwhelmed. I don’t fat talk when I feel happy or proud. So when I “feel fat” I’m really trying to say “I feel stressed/anxious/overwhelmed.” Why is it easier to use the word fat rather than sad???

I’ve come to realize that fat talk and negative self talk are not just words. It’s like verbally punching yourself in the gut, you know? Those words like “Do I look fat?” or “God, I feel so fat!” stick around and leave bruises on your self-confidence. So, I thought: If negative words can have such a powerful effect, positive words can, too.

Every time I feel a “fat thought” or a self-defeating thought creep into my head, I push it away as fast as I can and replace it with a positive one. For instance, my “trouble area” is my stomach. I could obsess over it for ages. And actually, I have. But recently, when I feel my critical eyes wondering to my midsection or my thoughts becoming nasty, I focus on something I’m proud of (hint: it’s not always something physical!) So “I’ll never have abs” is pounced on by “I have a college degree” or “I can run six miles at a time.”

Admittedly, it’s difficult at first. And I still sometimes fall off the bandwagon when I feel like things are out of my control. When that happens though, I hop back up and get right back on that stinkin’ bandwagon! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Either way, it’s something I’m truly dedicated to –ย and it’s actually worked. ย I don’t cut myself down nearly as much as I used to. You wouldn’t believe how productive your thoughts can beย when you eliminate bashing yourself!

So, that’s what I think. Maybe it means something to you, maybe it doesn’t. But if you are a fat talker, try cutting it out. Let me know if it works for you.

Excuse me while I step down off my soap box ๐Ÿ˜‰

I hope you all have a beautiful day!

10 Comments on “An End to Fat Talk”

  1. Brian Whitney says:

    Hey the video in the beginning of this post is awesome. This is a great blog sis.

  2. Dana Podgurski says:

    I LOVE this post! I am a TOTAL fat-talker, and nobody has ever been able to make me want to stop, or even limit it… but this post was written really really well, and makes total sense. Thanks for posting!!!!

  3. Jenifer says:

    BEST POST!

    I love the whole concept – words are incredibly powerful, whether they come from yourself or others.

    I remember growing up and my grandmother always hated the saying “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never harm me”. We decided to change it to something far more realistic: “stick and stones may break my bones, but words will break my heart”.

    Yeah – I know that’s super corny but I was like 8 years old! It still rings true, though – as evident in all this “fat talk”.

  4. I love the idea of telling yourself something you are proud of! I have struggles with this as well, and it usually comes up subconsciously.

  5. Lucy B says:

    LOVE this post. Again, I feel as though you are writing this for me. I hate it admit it but I am without a doubt a serial “fat talker”. I also recognize that I am not fat but my moods are very often linked to what the scale says or whether or not I can fit into my “skinny” jeans….and lately, since not being able to run, I’ve been at my worst. Interestingly, like you, my talk is mostly aimed at my stomach. I can’t recall a time in my life when I didn’t complain about it or look at it in the shower and cringe. It’s never been flat or firm (even before kids) and it truly drives me nuts. Even though I recognize that there are so many reasons to be grateful to my body, I have never even thought about trying to retrain these negative thoughts. I am so proud of you for doing so. You’ve given me a lot to think about!

    This also made me think about who we “fat talk” to. I’ve learned over the years that no one wants to hear a relatively small person complain about feeling fat. I save it all for my closest of friends and my poor husband who hears it all the time. I’m sure they would love to never hear about my stomach again!

    Something else that I think about when I get on this kick, is that no matter how mad I am about weight gain…it never stops me from eating my favorite foods. It’s like I’m in a constant tug-of-war b/w my desire to be thin and my love of food and neither side ever really wins!

    • Colleen says:

      Lucy, I can’t agree with you more! And I’m really glad you were able to relate (I mean, I wish we didn’t fat talk, but you know what I mean! ๐Ÿ™‚ ). I, too, save my “fat talk” for my immediate family and of course, Cory. They would throw a celebration if they never had to hear me talk about my “flabby-ness” ever again. And again, I’m the same way with food! I can’t ever give it up. Which is probably the main reason (other than obvious health benefits) that I try to maintain my weight. I would probably die a slow, painful death if I couldn’t eat my favorite foods whenever I wanted. AH! It’s such a struggle! As always, thank you so so much for reading!!


Leave a Reply

