Calm Before the Storm

I’m sitting here in my apartment on this fine Sunday evening leisurely folding my laundry and listening to Mumford & Sons. I’m switching between Facebook stalking (don’t judge – you do it too) and watching the SVU marathon. In other words, I’m doing absofreakinglutely nothing. Then out of nowhere I remember “Holy smokes! Classes start this week!!!!” Panic sets in. Facebook stalking loses it’s appeal (gasp!). I’m already worrying about papers that haven’t been assigned. Future readings that will be discussed. I’m a maniac. Are there any grad school students (past or present) out there who can relate to the Grad School Guilt that I feel? You know, that very real guilty feeling that sets in when you’re doing anything that is not school related? I know I’m not the only one.

Last semester was full of Grad School Guilt. My undergrad professors warned me of this. Spring 2011 is going to have to have far less GSG, or I won’t be able to stand myself.

Enter: The Lunchbox Diaries. This blog is about healthy living and finding a sense of balance – so I’m starting to make weekly resolutions to keep myself in check. To make sure I do what needs to get done for school, but also what needs to get done in order to stay sane. It’s all about balance, right?!

School & Sanity: Check Yo’self List

  • Baby steps: Just ease back into the first week of work + class (easy, right?)
  • Try making one new recipe from my new cookbook 🙂
  • Cardio twice, strength three times – I can’t let fitness fall by the wayside!
  • Make time for daily blog posts – because I really am having fun with this! Aren’t you? 😉

My full Check Yo’self List seems a mile long, but those are the most important resolutions for the week 🙂

Lunch today was kind of a hodgepodge of things. Yogurt, Odwalla bar, veggies and a few almonds. I can’t wait to get to the grocery store!

I packed this small trail mix (on top of yogurt) but instead I ended up throwing in some almonds and something unexpectedly tasty: a pretzel stick! 🙂 Delish!

Later in the afternoon before a presentation on Social Change, I picked up a cup of coffee on campus with my co-work friend, Christian. Hazelnut coffee = obsession.

Well, folks, I’ve got a few more things to do before I hit the hay in a few hours. Ta-ta for now! 🙂

 

2 Comments on “Calm Before the Storm”

  1. Kathryn says:

    I can totally relate to the Grad School Guilt – but I refer to it (in my case) as Nursing School Guilt. I was truly a lunatic last semester and I was SOOO miserable. This is my last semester before I graduate and I am going to try to chill and enjoy it at least a little bit! Keep with your blog – I LOVE it!

    • Colleen says:

      Oh, I’m SO glad you know what I’m talking about! I know, I’ve really got to just chill the heck out. I was miserable! But everyone tells me the first semester is the worst, so I’m feeling a little more optimistic for round 2 🙂


Leave a Reply

