Feelin’ Full & Fabulous

Date Night was a success! We went to dinner at this really neat restaurant called Eggspectation. Obviously, you can get eggs and breakfast all day, but the menu has a variety of non-breakfast items (and a great happy hour) as well! πŸ™‚

Before I get into my fantastic dinner, let’s talk about my time in the kitchen this afternoon. I attempted – and I think succeeded at- making stuffed portobellos. I found two recipes in my new cookbook that I really liked, so I took bits and pieces from them and ended up with some semi-original beauties (and no fires to speak of).

I started out by ripping out removing the stems and scooping out the gills. So, far, so good πŸ˜‰

These are the rest of the ingredients I used. The original recipe called for mayonasie for this pretty sauce, but I just substituted the mayo for Chobani Greek yogurt.

This tasty dressing is 3/4 of the yogurt, some (reduced sodium) taco sauce, to taste and a squirt of yellow mustard. It’s so delicious and I can’t wait to drizzle it on my ‘bello for lunch tomorrow!

After 15 minutes in the oven, out came these babies. It was hard not to try a bite, but I knew a great dinner was already in the cards. Let’s just say, lunch may come early tomorrow πŸ™‚

Colleen’s Stuffed ‘Bellos

  • 3 fresh portobello mushroom caps
  • 1/2 box of Long Grain and Wild Rice (easy substitutes: couscous, bulgar, rice pilaf, brown rice)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon EVOO
  • 1 can tuna

‘Bello Drizzle

  • ~ 3/4 cup Chobani Greek Yogurt (honey)
  • Reduced Sodium Taco Seasoning, to taste
  • Squirt of yellow mustard (my apologies for the lack of precision – but this was all to taste. Feel free to experiment!)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Cook rice as directed on box
  • Chop onions and mince garlic – cook in hot oil until tender (throw in the walnuts as well)
  • Drain tuna, add remaining yogurt, mix
  • Once rice is cooked, add onion/garlic/walnut mix and tuna
  • Stuff your ‘bello to your heart’s desire
  • Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, or until tender
  • Don’t forget your dressing!
  • Enjoy! πŸ™‚

It’s only Monday and I’m able to scratch one thing off my Check Yo’self List! YES! πŸ™‚

Dinner

Eggspectation was delish. Cory wavered between a few items, but there was no question that I was getting an omelette. I got the Veggie Omelette – egg whites, cauliflower, green & red bell peppers, broccoli and onion with a side of rye toast and a fruit salad. Veggies were just bustin’ out of this omelette! πŸ˜€

I ate about 3/4 of the omelette – not because I’m Mary Kate Olsen – but because I saw the dessert menu as soon as we sat down. When I saw the description – a chocolate chip brownie “muffin” hollowed out and filled with ice cream, covered in chocolate sauce, and sprinkled with pecans and strawberries, I was sold. For those of you who are unaware – my ultimate weakness is the heavenly brownie + ice cream combo. When Cory said he’d be down to split it – I was elated!

Without further adieu…

I told Cory I was a little hesitant about posting this, as many of the amazing healthy living bloggers I follow and admire indulge with a simple cookie or scoop of ice cream. I thought “will people laugh at my idea of healthy living after they see what I did?” Yet, I have no shame and went all in.

As if you need any evidence:

Clearly unaware of the paparazzi at my table…

You bet I had the last lick…

What’s that you say? Man vs. Food is calling?

That last picture makes me look like I’m regretting every bite, (so not the case!) but I was just practicing my breathing exercises πŸ˜‰

Don’t get me wrong. Afterwards I said “Holy (expletive) I don’t even want to think about the damage we just did.” Did I go overboard? Quite possibly. Am I going to gain 10+ pounds because of this one dessert (and an otherwise healthy day of eating)?: Absolutely not. I really enjoyed that dessert, and I’m not for one second going to apologize for devouring it and/or showing you. I hope that’s okay with you!

Well, my friends, I’m in a sugar coma and my cozy bed is calling my name. I hope you’ve had a delicious start to your week!

Question(s) of the night – When’s the last time you were a little overzealous with food? What did you eat? Did you take note of how you felt?

One Comment on “Feelin’ Full & Fabulous”

  1. Paige says:

    Yum, I definitely support going for a dessert every now again (although sometimes I think I over do that “moderation” thing when it comes to treats…). That looks so tasty!

    I’ve never been to Eggspectation, though we have one really close to where I live. I’ll have to make a trip one of these days.


Leave a Reply

