FB Status Etiquette?

Friends! The stuffed mushroom was ahhhmazing!! Even as a leftover! I paired it with some (frozen) veggies and it was a meal fit for a queen 🙂 It left me feeling satisfied, not I-need-to-unbutton-my-pants full.

While that lunch left me feeling great, something else did not…

Sonofabitch. Man. I just hate that. It’s forty bucks, too. What really chaps my buns is that I had just gone out to check my car not 15 minutes before. My boss sent me out to run some errands, and that’s when I found this on LaFonda (my Honda). Grrr. Okay, that was me venting. This is me moving on.

Jamie and I met up for dinner this evening! Can I just mention again that I am so happy that my BFF is doing her student teaching up here?! 😀 We have so much fun. And she’s going to be so embarrassed that I put these up.

A night out on the town…

Bar night in Farmville! (We miss those days!)

Halloween circa 2008

We chatted over soup at this fine dining establishment – maybe you’ve heard of it? Panera? 😉 I don’t have one unkind word to say about that place. I just love it.

While enjoying our soups and baguettes, we started an in depth discussion about something I think almost everyone has an opinion on: Facebook Status Etiquette. Let me preface this with the statement that I’m a self-professed Facebook stalker. I’m not ratting on anyone who’s on there 24/7. I’m on FB several times a day. Therefore, there are things that irk me, and I don’t think I’m the only one.

  • Case One – The TMI Status: Telling the Facebook world that you were up all night vomiting and having diarrhea is not something anyone (not even your own mother) wants to read on their newsfeed.
  • Case Two – The Blow-By-Blow Status: When typing out a paragraph-long status about waking up, showering, stubbing a toe, running to Point A, Point B and Point C, cleaning the bathroom and giving the dog a bath – does one ever think: Who really wants to know this? (Other than the person who’s stalking you and trying to find the best time to rob your house).
  • Case Three – The Updated Every Five Minutes Status: Please just stop. Your clogging up my newsfeed, therefore taking away from my experience of stalking more interesting people.
  • Case Four – The Compliant about the Significant Other Status: It’s awkward when you put your dirty laundry out there for everyone to see. If you’re mad at Joe (or Jane) why don’t you call him/her up and talk privately rather than writing a mean Facebook status and waiting for him/her to react?

So tell me, do you have any Facebook pet peeves? I know ya do! 🙂

That said, I’ve got to go get ready for school!! Have a relaxing night!! 🙂


8 Comments on “FB Status Etiquette?”

  1. Stefanie says:

    I hate when people who live together post on each other’s walls. Say I love you face to face. Just sayin…

  2. LK says:

    I hate when people make a status and then comment on their own status. Ughh so obnoxious!!

  3. Jamie Cima says:

    Best! I couldn’t be happier that we are living in the same place! I absolutely love getting to see you whenever I want. We have SO much fun together. I feel like I am constantly laughing. I love those pictures! We have had some of the best times together. The first picture is my favorite. Colleen dancing at a bar- best day ever. Who can’t love the classic 1,2,3… game at the bar? And clearly, we had the best Halloween costume that year. LOVE you and LOVE your blog!

  4. Meg P says:

    When I see someone post pictures that are a blow-by-blow account of their night it makes me want to chuck my computer at them. To much?

  5. dressed2dish says:

    Gah my internet has been down so I’ve been catching up with your blog. And Seriously I have SO mant pet peeves on facebook! I’m so glad you wrote about this…I’ve wanted to put a status up about pet peeves on facebook…but then I would be sounding like those exact few that annoy me! Gotta lead by example right? haha


Leave a Reply

