Sweet Cookies & Sweet Potato

It’s been a “sweet” day so far! This afternoon I made White Chocolate Butterscotch Cheesecake Cookies! I found this recipe on Courtney’s website, and it is a crowd pleaser, that’s fo’ sho’!

They were simple and easy, and if this Betty Crocker wanna be could pull ’em off, you can too! 🙂

First, add your sugars, butter, applesauce, dry pudding mix and vanilla in a big bowl – then add in your eggs and keep on’a mixin’!

Gradually add in your flour, baking powder and baking soda

Then add yo’ chips! (And snack on a few in the process)

Roll ’em into nice round balls (heh) and put them in the over for 8 – 10 minutes

Out come these delightful cookies 🙂

You know I had to taste test one as soon as the first batch came out!

My mother will be proud 😀

White Chocolate Butterscotch Cheesecake Cookies:

  • 1 1/2 stick of butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 package Jell-o pudding and pie filling, any flavor (I used cheesecake, clearly)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 egg + 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1.2 baking soda
  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 12 oz. chips, any flavor

Directions

1. Preheat over to 375.

2. Beat butter, sugars, applessauces, dry pudding mix and vanilla in a large bowl

3. Add eggs and mix well

4. Gradually add flour, baking powder and baking soda

5. Stir in chips

6. Bake 8 – 10 minutes, or until golden brown

7. Cool & enjoy! 🙂

I loved my cookie snack, but I was in the mood for veggies when it came to be lunch time. I made a mean loaded sweet baked potato!

Look at that bite. YUM!

I just baked the sweet potato in the oven at 400 for 35 minutes. I loaded this sucker with chopped red pepper, mushrooms, red onion, green onion, black beans, cilantro and a dollop of Oikos plain Greek Yogurt. This was such a tasty, satisfying, healthy lunch!

Potatoes get a really bad rap in my opinion. When low carb diets were all the rage a few years ago, it seemed that my poor potatoes were shun from every lunch and dinner table across America! But really, potatoes – especially sweet potatoes – are so nutritious. Sweet potatoes are high in fiber, vitamins A and C, complex carbohydrates (takes the body longer to digest, therefore leaving you fuller, longer), iron and calcium. These babies are so good for you!

Well, friends, Cory and I are headed over to my parent’s for dinner tonight! I’m looking forward to it! There’s also something “special” in store after dinner. Cory loves the movie The Newsies. He tried to get me to watch it sometime during my freshman year, and I fell asleep 10 minutes into it. It’s been a running joke between us forever, and tonight is the night! Four and a half years later, I’m being held against my will giving The Newsies a second try 😉

Have you seen The Newsies? What are your thoughts?

 

3 Comments on “Sweet Cookies & Sweet Potato”

  1. Mom says:

    Your mom is proud. I love the blog, great job.

  2. dressed2dish says:

    Yes Cush and I absolutely LOVE that movie…and hey the young & cute Christian Bale is in it 🙂

  3. Jamie says:

    I hope you love the movie! It is so good. Trust me!


Leave a Reply

