Playing Catch Up!

Holy smokes, it’s February?!

I haven’t been keeping up with my blog these last few days like I would be under normal circumstances. You know, life (and well, death) has gotten in the way. You feel like the world should stop spinning when someone you love dies. You look outside the window and see other people running, shopping, laughing and you just think, “What?? Don’t you understand what the world just lost?!” But then, you realize your world isn’t everyone else’s world.

I was sitting around this crowded house, and my mom asked me if I blogged today. I told her I hadn’t – I mean, I’m not super happy. I’ve been eating like it’s going out of style. Working out has been the furthest thing from my mind. Then a stranger said “People probably read your blog because it’s real. Life happens. It’s okay if you’re not perfect.” Oh, yeah – you’re probably right, Stranger Lady.

So, friends, it hasn’t been pretty – but it’s been real. That sounds like something off MTV (please excuse me) 😀

Look who came to visit yesterday morning! This is one biiiig dog. This is the best picture I got – he was movin’ all over the place! 🙂

Lunch yesterday was a small salad and a half a bagel with peanut butter and sliced banana. YUM.

Due to more and more people coming in last night, my mom, her girlfriend and I stayed at a hotel down the street. I’m so silly, but I love spending time with my mom and her friends. They laugh so much, and it’s really a lot of fun. Sharing a hotel room meant a couple of things: My mom and I spooned, I worked out (THANK GOD) in a small, hot hotel gym, and I got to have one of my favorite things ever – a continental breakfast. Weird? Yes. Wonderful? Absolutely.

My workout this morning consisted of hills and sprints on the treadmill. I was on it for 25 minutes when this fellow hotel guest was chomping at the bits for my treadmill. Whatever, lady. I’m in no mood to argue. I cut the run short and just went to weights.

After my workout I hustled to the lobby for my breakfast. I had instant oatmeal (plain flavor) with a scoop of peanut butter, jelly, honey and some banana slices. Oh goodness gracious, it was so delicious. I also had two cups of coffee – one at the table, one to go 😉 Man, oh man, what is it about “free” breakfast? I don’t know, but I luuurrve it.

The most recent meal I got a picture of was dinner tonight. Half a roll, a small salad, a small piece of ham, some sort of casserole and some grapes.

Who knew that casseroles were the universal comfort food? I kid, but honestly, I’ve never seen so many casseroles in my life. Woah.

So, maybe you’re thinking – God, Colleen, that seems like a pretty normal day of eating. Well, many, many handfuls of chips went undocumented. Many swift “grazes” through the kitchen happened without a trace. But these desserts made it into my belly and onto my camera. Don’t judge. Please.

A sour cream coffee cake with walnuts. Heavenly.

Brownies with powdered sugar and chocolate chips. Delicious.

Key Lime Pie I kept stealing bites of from my dad. Decadent.

Chocolate cake. A picture is worth a thousand words, right? 😉

I didn’t eat all this tonight, but certainly over the past two days or so. I feel like a blimp. I know that’s Fat Talk – but I really do feel uncomfortable. It really doesn’t help that it’s that time of the month and a pretty important person died – do I even stand a chance?! 😉

I hope you’re not judging. If you are – I guess I can’t blame you 🙂

Well, just a few more hours and Cory will be here! He’s flying in tonight for the service tomorrow. He’ll be here for less than 24 hours – talk about a quick trip! We’re all so glad he’s able to be here. Catch ya later!

Question for the night – Are you an emotional eater?!

 

 

 

3 Comments on “Playing Catch Up!”

  1. dressed2dish says:

    Hi Colleen, I have to confess I am definitely an emotional eater…big time. (Esp THAT time of the month) Ha meaning every other week I have to work my butt off because of that one week!!

  2. Your mom is a wise woman! 🙂 The best part of blogs is that you can write about WHATEVER you want. Part of healthy living is exactly what you’ve been doing. 🙂

    All those pictures of cake are torturous enough, I can’t imagine being AROUND them and not tasting. 🙂

    And finaly, I’m so sorry for your loss! I’ll keep your family in my prayers.

  3. Kathryn says:

    I do eat a lot more around that time of the month. However, I am not usually an emotional eater. When I’m really upset I rarely eat at all. However, I will eat a lot when I’m bored – so I try to stay busy! I’m so sorry for your loss sweetie. I’m so glad Cory can be there to support you!


Leave a Reply

