The Girl Behind the Lunchbox

Hey, friends! After taking care of some things after work I ended up at Cory’s for a night of watching Newsies. I think if your love of the movie started as a child, it’s probably much more bearable as an adult. Spoiler alert: Christian Bale can’t sing.

Since my night was pretty uneventful, I thought I’d do a little something different with tonight’s post. I kind of put “myself” out there by writing a blog, but unless you know me well enough to have my number in your cell phone, you really only know what I eat and how I exercise. I haven’t really talked about other important things in my life.

That said, let me introduce myself through ideas that I live by:

Blood is thicker than water. My brother and I were never really allowed to fight with each other, hence we never really have. My mom always told us that we were “built in” best friends. That when we thought we had no one, I would always have my brother, and he would always have me. I was so lucky to have grown up with a best friend as close as the room next door.

Trust your gut. My mom will be happy that the first two rules I live by came from her πŸ™‚ I’ve always been told to just trust my gut and go with what I know is right. My favorite “gut” story is from my first weekend of my freshman year of college. My roommate, Katie, and I went to our first party. We were standing in the corner (obviously intimidated) when Cory walked into the room. I immediately turned to Katie and said “I’m going to marry that guy” and I went up and introduced myself! That’s something I would have normally never done!

Always be a first rate version of yourself, instead of a second rate version of someone else. Thank you, Judy Garland. I’ve lived by this quote for as long as I can remember. I glued it to my mirror in my bedroom when I was in middle school. I may not be good at much, but I’ve always beenΒ really good at knowing myself – and that’s something I’m proud of. So many people feel they have to be someone they’re not, just to impress others. Shoot, what you see is what you get with me. This mantra has helped me fill my life with love, laughter and irreplaceable friendships πŸ™‚

Don’t bother with people who don’t make you happy. Life is far too short to spend time around negative people. Without a doubt, you’ll have to work and/or interact with people who make your blood boil – but I don’t waste my time worrying about people who like drama. Drama is everywhere – how you respond to it is what matters.

Invest in your health. I workout for several reasons. Obviously, one reason is 100% vain: I look better when I workout. More importantly, though, I exercise because I see it as the most beneficial investment in my future that I can make. I exercise and eat healthy because I want my body to feel good now and 50Β years from now.

Everything in moderation; even moderation πŸ˜‰ Although I try to live a healthy life by exercising and eating well, I absolutely make sure to not deprive myself from anything. If I want chocolate, I’ll eat it (in moderation). If I don’t want to workout one or two days a week, I don’t. If I want to drink too much with my girlfriends, I will (in moderation!). Life is no fun when you put restrictions on the things that make you happy.

Try to see the best in your situations. Oh sure, sometimes things really suck. Like, monumentally suck. But the longer you spend time dwelling on the negative, the less amount of time you’re able to be happy. You get out of life what you put in, so make sure to put in your best!

So now you know me a little more about me beyond my favorite eats and exercise moves. I hope you still want to stick around! πŸ™‚

I’d love to know some words or mantras that YOU live by!

3 Comments on “The Girl Behind the Lunchbox”

  1. You are so cute! I love all your photos and your mantras in this post! πŸ™‚

  2. Lindsay Harlow says:

    You are, and have been, my idol! I love the story about first meeting Cory!!! Why have I never heard it before? I shared it with my roommate and she said it made her want to cry! Its like a fairytale! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

