Lacking Motivation?

Happy afternoon, my friends! Did anyone have a good lunch?! I had a turkey sandwich on a bagel thin with red pepper, hummus and mustard, Kashi crackers and a crisp Fuji apple ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think a Larabar snack is in my future as well.

I have a question: Is it just me, or is it sometimes difficult to remind yourself why you work so hard at being healthy? I was talking with a friend earlier about staying motivated when it comes to eating healthy and working out. It just so happens that Cory sent me a link to this article that really helps shift your focus in order to maintain your motivation, and I thought you fine readers might be interested in a light afternoon read ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sometimes we might think something along the lines of “Man, I have to workout because I want to have abs” but let’s be honest, those babies don’t appear over night – or if ever? ๐Ÿ˜‰ If we only focus on huge physical goals, we can sometimes lose our fitness fire. The article talks about looking for the instant gratifications of working out. Physical activityย instantly acts as stress relief, a mood enhancer or a confidence booster. If you only focus on flat abs, skinny thighs, or erasing your muffin-top, you may become discouraged because none of those things will happen after one workout, you know what I mean?

So, if you have trouble finding a reason to lace up your sneaks this afternoon after school or work – just think about the good mood you’ll be in after 30 minutes on the elliptical or a couple laps around the track. Sometimes reverting to baby steps helps us make the big leaps in the long run.

Happy sweating! ๐Ÿ˜€

Quick question: What motivates you to be healthy?

Leave a Reply

