We Gave it an Old College Try…

Dinner, that is. One perk of working for the university? I get a meal plan at the dining hall(s) on campus 🙂 It’s certainly not someplace that I could eat dinner every night, but when the words “all you can eat” and “free” are in the same sentence, sometimes I (and a hungry fiance) just can’t turn it down.

Except, I guess you can. After circling the dining hall I passed pizza, waffles, cheeseburgers, pasta, egg rolls, cheesy mashed potatoes and a plethora of other “passes.” How did I do this for four years?! Oh, yeah – LOTS of cereal 😉

I ended up with a turkey sandwich on wheat bread with lettuce, tomato, green pepper and onion. I also fixed up a little side salad. And okaayyy, I picked up some fries 😉

But it was all unsatisfying. I ate half of everything. I hate being wasteful.

Oh, there was one thing that I managed to finish…

A BIG bite of soft serve with rainbow sprinkles (duh), 3 pathetic Oreo chunks and a drizzle of caramel. It was just enough to satisfy my sweet tooth without feeling like I had undone my entire day.

On the agenda for this evening?? GLEE, of course! The Biggest Loser is on tonight as well, but that’s a show that I have to watch after it’s been DVR’d (thanks, Mom!). Does the weigh-in really need to take an entire hour? The answer is, absolutely not.

I hope you have a relaxing evening! I’ll see you for breakfast! 😀

Question of the evening: Caramel. Do you pronounce it: care-a-mel or car-mul? Obviously an easier conversation to have while talking with a friend, but it’s a very pressing topic, so we’ll make do 😉

3 Comments on “We Gave it an Old College Try…”

  1. I say caramel. I would have also finished the soft serve over the rest!

  2. Kathryn says:

    I say cara-mul

  3. Joni says:

    car-mel before I became my so sophisticated self now it’s care-a-mel all the way :)My SSS (so sophisticated self) has also taken to saying ale-a-pee-no instead of jail-a-pee-no. There is no stopping me!Your dining hall post brought back all those memories of the freshman 40. What? What’s that you say? It’s the freshman 15? Well, if that is true then I can finally say that I exceeded expectations in college!


Leave a Reply

