Biceps and Legs and Core – Oh My!

Good morning, friends! 😀 I love Thursdays because they’re like my Fridays. Trust me, it’s a long day – so I totally earn it 😉

This morning I slightly impressed myself and got a little creative with Tony and the P90X gang. The DVDs each focus on one region – such as arms, legs, cardio, etc. – but I was in the market for a full body workout at 5:15 this morning 😉

I ended up doing 15 minutes of Shoulders & Arms, 15 minutes of Legs & Back (but only did leg exercises) & 10-12 minutes of Ab Ripper X – there are just some moves on there that I skip because I simple can’t do them 😉 That said, I’m feelin’ pretty good! Did you get a good workout in this morning?

I read an interesting article on Self.com about how often a person needs to workout per week. I was shocked to read that the most current research shows that we need to being doing around 150 minutes per week – that’s only 2 and a half hours per week. When you think about it in those terms, it seems totally doable. Although, the article does state that the amount needs to be upped if you’re trying to lose weight. Anyway! I just thought you’d be interested 🙂

So, I’m not sure how this happened, but I had an epic fail with my overnight oats (?!) Last night I put in the usual mix, but they were way watery this morning. Yuck. So I just went ahead and made regular hot oats instead.

Courtney put some Quaker Oatmeal Squares in her oats yesterday and I thought it was a brilliant idea!

Besides being pumped about my mash-up of a workout this morning, I’m also pumped because I got a free t-shirt at work yesterday and I get to wear it to today 🙂 I 1. love free t-shirts and 2. love long-sleeved t-shirts. It was a red-letter day, friends!

I love being able to wear t-shirts and jeans to work! 🙂

It’s lookin’ to be around that time…I’m off to work! Let’s touch base this afternoon 😉 Have a terrific Thursday!

 

 

 

3 Comments on “Biceps and Legs and Core – Oh My!”

  1. Rachel Fortney says:

    Colleen! I love your blog, and I love you! Your work out this morning sounds great and I also am a huge fan of long sleeved free tshirts!

    In response to the recommended workout time: ACSM (American College of Sports and Medicine) say that each person should complete a minimum of 150 minutes of activity a week. You are really encouraged to do more 🙂 So with 150 mins you could do 30 mins of cardio 5 days a week and then on saturday pull out a longer run and relax on Sunday, combined with some weight training at least 2-3 days a week and you are right about where ACSM suggest you to be 🙂 Also, just a fun fact, a lot of people trying to lose weight focus on the cardio side of things – which is AWESOME, because that is the fastest way to lose fat, however while doing sit ups wont help you burn belly fat, increasing your lean muscle mass by weight training helps your body to burn fat by being more efficient!

    P.s. I LOVE YOU and you are FABULOUS!

    • Colleen says:

      Rachel! Thank you SO much for that information! You’re so smart 🙂 That makes total sense – especially about the weight training! I’ve actually been doing more of that than cardio and I’ve seen a difference! I just thought it was neat that the article put fitness into an “attainable” perspective of a 150 minutes – as a lot of people think “I don’t have enough time.” Any interest in doing a guest post sometime?! That’d be so great! 😀 I LOVE YOU!

  2. I always put Quaker Oatmeal Squares in my oatmeal! It’s so good!


Leave a Reply

