Pre-Valentine’s Day Rant

It’s Friday!! Wow, the morning has certainly gotten away from me! I hope you’ve had a wonderful day so far 🙂

I have some pretty exciting happenings planned for later this afternoon, but I can’t tell you just yet! I don’t want to jinx anything 😉 Come back tonight and check it out!

So, it’s almost that time of year again – and I’m assuming many people are celebrating this weekend with their other halves. That said, have you  noticed that you can’t walk into any store without Valentine’s Day smacking you in the face? I’m going to go against the  grain and say that I’m not a celebrator of Valentine’s Day. I’m blessed to be in a loving relationship, but I can’t help but imagine how much Valentine’s Day must really suck if you so happen to be single.

Let me clarify – being single does not suck. I actually think single is the way to go unless you’re with someone you see yourself spending a long time with. I just think Valentine’s Day makes people feel like they should be dating or married or in love.

But I also think Valentine’s Day sucks if you aren’t single. It’s built up to be this monumental day that I’m supposed to show my significant other how much I love him.  That’s a lot of pressure! How can I put my love for my future husband into a cookie, a store-bought chocolate or a $4 card that someone else wrote?  I just can’t.

But I do leave him love notes in his socks or dress shirt pockets to find on a random Tuesday.  He warms the car up for me because I hate the cold. I try to hang up my coat and put my shoes in the corner because I know he hates clutter. He always shares his french fries without complaining. We tell each other everyday that we love each other and that we appreciate one another.

I think if you’re in a relationship, you should celebrate your love in some way everyday.

If you celebrate Valentine’s Day and it makes you happy, that’s wonderful! I’m not bashing anyone for how they spend a random day in February. I love love and I love when people celebrate it! I just don’t like the nature of this “holiday.” I just wanted to write about it now, because I don’t plan on mentioning it on Monday 🙂

Question of the day – Agree or disagree? Do you love VD (I get a kick outta that) or is not your thing?

 

7 Comments on “Pre-Valentine’s Day Rant”

  1. Joni says:

    Even if you weren’t so very lovable, I would love you anyway, for the way that you love my son. All you moms out there know what I mean! Thanks, Colleen, for being your loving and lovable self.

  2. Paige says:

    I’m somewhat indifferent to Valentine’s Day. My boyfriend and I have never been big on celebrating it, but I’m not opposed either. We certainly make a point to love and appreciate each other on a daily basis, but I don’t have an issue with there being a special day to recognize it either (though the silly expensive materialism of it is a bit unnecessary, I think). We’ll usually do something small (last year we played with a build-you-own-crazy-straw kit while having lunch in Panera), but we don’t go all out.

    • Colleen says:

      Yeah. that’s great! I mean, I don’t wear all black on Valentine’s Day – and I love the idea of going out to dinner or taking the time to do something a little extra special. I’m all for that! Glad to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t go all out

  3. Jenny says:

    I think it’s a fun and cute holiday but should not be to remind you that you are in love. Just an extra to do something extra nice. My bf is always doing nice things for me and me for him so to us it’s just another fun day. We’re not going out to a fancy restaurant, or spending tons of money, just hanging out at home making a romantic dinner and cuddling lol 🙂


Leave a Reply

