Practice Run

Hey, friends! I hope you’re enjoying your Saturday! I sure am 🙂 I’ve already gotten a practice 5K in, showered, eaten breakfast and now I’m waiting for my friends, Jamie and Emily to arrive!

Emily, Cory, maybe Jamie and I are running in a 5K tomorrow morning, and I’m looking forward to it. If you check out my workout log, you can see that it’s no secret that I’ve been doing more weight training than cardio lately – so I was a little nervous about my date with the treadmill this morning.

But to my surprise, I was able to knock out my 5K in 29 minutes! I know it wasn’t a race, and I know it was on a treadmill, but that’s the best time I’ve ever run 3.1 miles. I walked away from the gym sweaty and out of breath feeling confident about tomorrow’s race. Fingers crossed that it’s “warm” (above 35) tomorrow morning by race time! 🙂

When I kicked off my shoes this morning I noticed that I’m probably in the market for a new set of sneaks.

It seems as though I’ve run the life out of these puppies 😦

Breakfast was the usual cereal combo. I feel silly mentioning this every morning – but hey, it’s my real life 😉

I was so caught up in my own self and new toy yesterday, that I didn’t take the time to mention my lunch date with my mom! We were both in Old Town yesterday afternoon, so she took my out to lunch at this fabulous restaurant, Overwood. I got a wonderful salad! It’s not on the regular menu, but along with regular lettuce it was topped with grilled chicken, avocado, walnuts, feta cheese and cranberries with a vinaigrette. It was great – and pretty, too!

The best part? Spending time with my mom 😀

Well, I’ve got company to go get ready for! Enjoy your Saturday, friends! I hope you have nice weather wherever you are 🙂

Question for the day – I need new running/workout sneakers. Any recommendations?

5 Comments on “Practice Run”

  1. Michelle says:

    I wear Mizuno Wave Nirvanas and love them… my feet are kind of flat, and they provide the right amount of support so I no longer have any knee or shin pain.

    Have you thought about going to a running store where they can help you find the right pair for your feet? I did that and it was so helpful. If you don’t really have any pain when you run, you may not need to, though.

    Oh, and great work with the weight lifting! I am so bad at doing that regularly.

  2. akparis says:

    BROOKS! I have an obsession with them. SO sexy.

  3. Paige says:

    I’m in need of some new sneakers also (my foot has started going nub when I run–probably not a good thing, I suspect), so I think I’m finally going to go to a running store and have them help me pick some out. My shoes are wayyy old.

  4. Jenny says:

    Yummy what cereal is that?! 😀


Leave a Reply

