Grocery Store Recap

I’m so weird. I will do just about anything to distract myself from beginning my readings for class. After the 5K I came home with every intention to start reading. Oh, but my bags needed to be unpacked. Yes, it was necessary to fold my laundry right then. Of course I had to go to the grocery store – I can’t starve! 😉

I know I’m playing these games with myself, but that doesn’t seem to matter. So after I went to the grocery store (and picked up some out-of-the-ordinary items) I came home and got down to business. After reading about psychological assessments for the past 90 minutes, I awarded myself with a blog break 🙂

Last time I posted pictures from my trip to the grocery store, I got a positive response 🙂 So here’s what I nabbed at Giant this afternoon

It wasn’t a huge trip, but this will certainly hold me over for a while 😉

I’m really excited about the new Chobani flavors and I’m excited to try Kashi’s GoLean Crisp! Courtney’s given them rave reviews, so when I saw them today, I had to pick them up.

I’m also really pumped about this purchase as well

Nutella!! Oh my goodness, this stuff is so tasty. I ate it multiple times a day while in Europe this summer. I couldn’t believe I’d never had it before. I’ve become more aware that Nutella has a cult-like following -has anyone else noticed that? I’m not there yet, but it sure is yummy 🙂

I don’t have a stove or an oven in my on-campus living arrangement – so it’s a little difficult to get creative with meals. But I truly am trying. I can’t tell you how tempting it is to eat cereal for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I kid, I kid 😉 Sort of.

It looks like my self-appointed “break” is almost up. Back to the school work I go 🙂 I love learning about counseling, but nothing seems to put me to sleep like a good ol’ counseling textbook.

Question for the afternoon – How to do you stay focused on daunting tasks?

17 Comments on “Grocery Store Recap”

  1. Simply Life says:

    oh I love nutella- all your food purchases look delicious!

  2. I’m with ya on “finding stuff to instead of doing homework”! I find that once I’m focused, I have to keep going. If I stop, then it takes me forever to get back on track!

  3. Meridith Jeffries says:

    I love nutella!! They sell it at Costco in a pack of two! It’s fantastic. My mom always buys it for me so I’ll have it when I’m back at school. It’s great on a piece of toast or if you’re really in the mood putting a little bit on top of ice cream!

    • Colleen says:

      Meridith! Yes, I’ve seen it at Costco – I really shouldn’t have passed up the two-pack opportunity 🙂 I’ve never tried it on ice cream, but I’m going to have to change that very soon 😀

  4. dressed2dish says:

    Ah we don’t have an oven either! Just a stove top – so I’m constantly thinking of things to cook without the oven, glad to hear someone else in the same boat! :)You’ve also motivated me to try nutella!

  5. Yay for the new purchases! Everything looks delicious…you’ll love ’em all! 🙂

  6. Jenny says:

    I love grocery shopping, probably even more than shopping for clothes. Haha how sad

  7. Kathryn says:

    That Kashi Go Lean Crisp Toasted Berry Crumble is my FAVORITE tasting cereal….however, I never eat it……know why? It makes me soooo bloated and gassy. Yup, I said and it’s true. I have to be careful of all the high fiber cereals 😦

  8. Jess Smith says:

    Good choices girl!! 🙂 Staying focused: good music & a hot beverage!!

    -Jess [nileandjess.wordpress.com]

  9. Michelle says:

    Nice purchases! I have not seen the strawberry banana Chobani in a store around here… I’m getting impatient because I keep seeing it on blogs 🙂

    For daunting tasks, I like to break it up too- I tell myself I can do something fun (e.g., read a blog or two) after every 30 minutes or however long.

  10. […] tried this yet?! Move over Peanut Butter Toast, you’ve made a new friend…Nutella! Okay Colleen said there seems to be a “cult-like following” to this stuff. Well? I think I’ve […]

  11. Danielle says:

    I also bought Kashi Crisp and Nutella the last time I went to the grocery store and I love them both. I’d never had Nutella before and I have to admit that it is so good I don’t know that it will be back in the house as my husband and I have a hard time controlling ourselves around it 😉 I had to say “NO!” when we passed the two pack at Costco today!


Leave a Reply

