Love the Run You’re With 5K!

Good afternoon, friends! I’ve got to tell you, I’m feelin’ pretty great after our 5k this morning. Why, you ask?

Because it was a PERSONAL BEST!! I finished in 28:56! (The overall winner? 14:00. Holy cow.) Friends, I am so excited! I’m really not a runner, and I’ve never finished a real 5K sub-30. This is kind of a big deal in my book. If you’re a fast runner, maybe you can’t understand my joy. But if you run, yet don’t consider yourself a “runner” you know how cool this is 😉

Cory was right on my tail and finished 20 seconds behind me. Emily and Jamie crossed the line in 36:00! I’m so proud of all of us 😀

The course was hilly! At first I was thinking “Oh my word. I don’t think I can do this!” Then, you know what I thought of? This blog. I didn’t want to write I got tried at the first hill, so I slowed it down to a walk. No. I wanted to tell you that I ran well. Therefore, I tried harder. So if you read this blog, I just want to say thank you for helping me push myself!

Needless to say, we were pooped –  but we managed to get a decent post-run picture 🙂

I also had to get a picture with the one “I love that I’m with” 😉

Can’t you tell how happy I am? I don’t even care that I’m posting pictures with no make-up, no shower and lots o’ sweat 😉

We also got one free drink at Champs after the race! I was lovin’ my mimosa 🙂

I love the feeling after running a race. I just feel so darn good. (I wish it felt that way during the race, but oh well! 😉 )

Alrighty! Thanks for sharing in my day! It was a great way to spend time with the ones I love 🙂 I’m so proud of each of us!

Enjoy your day, friends! I’ll catch ya later this evening 😉

10 Comments on “Love the Run You’re With 5K!”

  1. Ashley says:

    Maybe I can be a runner… I forget that there is always a free beverage invovled! haha! Good job today guys!

  2. akparis says:

    CONGRATS!

  3. Congratulations Colleen! That is so awesome!

  4. G'ma says:

    OMG Colleen. I am proud of you. Next you can start training for a triathlon!!! Keep up the great work.

  5. I ran this race today too, which is how I stumbled across your blog. I’m really impressed by your 101 in 1001 list. I’ll be sure to keep checking in to see how you’re doing, and congrats on checking one off your list!

    • Colleen says:

      That’s so cool that you ran this race today, too! I hope you enjoyed yourself – and got a free beverage at the end 😉 Thanks for the compliment on my 101 list! I was pumped to cross a 5K off the list!

  6. Jamie says:

    I am so proud of you, best!!

  7. Congrats on the PR! I remember when I got my first sub 30 5K in November – I felt like I had won the Olympics that was until my boyfriend at the time informed me that he finished 5Ks in under half that time….buzz kill haha

  8. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ScorpioDJs, lunchboxdiaries. lunchboxdiaries said: Love the Run You're With 5K! http://wp.me/p1ioJf-dr […]


Leave a Reply

