Dinner for One

Hunger, party of one? Yes, that was me this evening πŸ™‚ I live alone, but most of the time I eat dinner with Cory, in class or with friends. I find it a little difficult to make dinner for one person, which is why mine looked like this:

Another reason I shouldn’t eat alone? I’m mildly disgusting.Β I don’t even clear off the table. But I mean really – would you?

So I ended up eating aΒ Veggie Patch Garlic Portabella Burger, red pepper slices and some Baked Lays. It was a meal for a campion. Okay, not really – but the burger wasn’t half bad. It tasted decent, and it earned a “B” rating when I used my Fooducate app at the grocery store πŸ˜‰ This is the best app ever! You simply scan the bar code of the product-in-question and up pops an A – F grade, healthier alternatives and Weight Watcher’s points.

I’m sure you won’t be shocked to know that I’ll probably have a little cereal for dessert during Glee tonight πŸ™‚

Also, thank you to some marvelous readers who let me know that I am not alone in my bottomless pit-ness. I guess I’ll just accept the fact that I’m a “naturally hungry person” πŸ˜‰

I also have a Valentine’s Day Dilemma Update –

He ended up taking the flip-flopper to the concert. She didn’t want to stand with any of his friends once they got there (what a gem). So he stood with her (upon hearing this, I immediately called him an idiot). After the concert, everyone went back to his house – Stuck Up Suzy in tow. Suze started playing a popular drinking game with another guy and that caused he-who-shall-remain-nameless to suddenly grow a spine! He told her to leave, and that she wasn’t welcome back (he’s so rude, I know). It was a zig-zaggy path he took, but in the end, he stuck up for himself πŸ™‚

Question for the night – If you ever have to eat dinner alone, what do you normally make?

12 Comments on “Dinner for One”

  1. Meg P says:

    Cereal or a PB&J

  2. dressed2dish says:

    First off I think I need to invest in an Iphone so I can get that Fooducate App! And sadly when I eat alone, I feel like the pressure is off of cooking so I will sometimes just resort to microwave dinners…haha sad life. But I do love SMART ONES – they’re actually pretty tasty!

  3. tknologlvr says:

    Clear the table? The MacBook and iPhone? Nah, let ’em stay! Have you ever tried Morningstar Spicy Black Bean Burgers? Yum-o!!

  4. Paige says:

    I’m lazy (aaand kind of a slob) when I’m eating by myself. Usually I pick something super quick that’s not nearly as healthy as if I eat dinner with someone else (bagel & cream cheese, anyone?). I do much better when I’m with my boyfriend and actually feel motivated to make an effort πŸ™‚

  5. I eat breakfast and lunch in my office like every day. I just use my pull-out keyboard thing as a desk for my food! lol So no, I don’t think it’s gross. Maybe that just means I’m gross, too?

  6. why move the mac? it is sometimes the perfect dinner companion when you live alone! sometimes I’ll make a big batch of soup and then have it for lunches the rest of the week, but when I’m not that ambitious I’ll just do breakfast for dinner (it’s my favorite) oats, pancakes, eggs, etc. I LOVE BREAKFAST!

  7. My alone dinners are always the easiest option–veggie bowls, salads, grain bowls! And I wouldn’t clear off the table either. πŸ˜‰

  8. My dinner tonight was a little pathetic. I got so caught up in homework that before I knew it, it was after 9:00. I don’t like eating dinner too late, so I just had a muffin (homemade and fairly healthy :)) and some green tea. Since I ate a late lunch, it balanced out. Oatmeal is kind of a go-to alone dinner for me on other occasions though, I find it comforting :)!

  9. I make a big bowl of pasta and divide it up for a couple of dinners/lunches. Then I mix up either some veggies, or spaghetti sauce and then mix up some baked chicken. That is my go to meal.

  10. I love having a big bowl of cereal when I’m alone for dinner. Probably not the healthiest thing, but I’m a cereal fanatic haha!

  11. Kylie says:

    I ate dinner in the break room at work tonight and I was too lazy to actually cook anything to bring to work so I settled for frozen fruit, toast, and a cliff z bar.

    And if I eat alone at home, I tend to eat at the table with my laptop out, catching up on blogs. That way I’m not exactly eating alone πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

