Happy Anniversary!

To who? To US! The Lunchbox Diaries has been up and running for one whole month today πŸ˜€ Let’s call off work and go eat cupcakes!

No? Okay, maybe later πŸ˜‰

It may sound silly, but creating and keeping up with this blog has brought me so much happiness. I’ve never felt like I’ve had a thing – if that makes any sense. My brother’s things have been baseball and music (he taught himself to play the guitar and the piano!)

Cory’s thing is being business savvy. I don’t have a picture for that πŸ˜‰

My mom’s thing is being the huge sports nut. (At a National’s game with 3 – of her 7 – brothers, my cousin and his wife)

My dad’s thing is being a huge music and history buff.

My thing has always been writing – but it was private and only for myself, so I felt like I had nothing to show for it. I felt that I wasΒ thing-less.

Don’t get me wrong! That is not meant to be a woe-is-me statement. Writing (and more recently, healthy living/fitness) has always brought me happiness even if it was only for myself. I just never felt like I had an appropriate outlet to showcase it or experiment with it.

Well, it may have taken 23 years, but I finally have a thing that I can call my own πŸ˜€ Blogging has made me more excited about the everyday aspect of life. Everything I do and experience serves as inspiration for what I’m going to write about next. I’m more aware and I look forward to every moment – I’m more present – because who knows? It could just so happen to be my next blog post. And that makes me excited.

If you’ve read from day 1, I hope you’ve enjoyed it so far! If you’ve just stumbled across my little corner of the blog world – stick around! I promise you won’t be disappointed πŸ™‚

Now, let’s get back to the basics πŸ™‚

My workout came and went before the sun even rose – yikes. I did the full Β P90X Shoulder & Arms workout, because I only did 15 minutes of it last week and I really like it. Plus, I’m still working towards my Jennifer Garner arms.

Not there yet. But I’m workin’ on it, guys! πŸ™‚

My breakfast was delish! Yet another cereal combo. While I was creating this concoction this morning, I thought about how fantastic it would be if there was a restaurant that had, instead of a salad bar – a cereal bar! I’d be there all day, everyday πŸ˜‰Β I don’t just eat a plain bowl of cereal, my friends. I add all different kinds of cereal together, I add nuts and fruit. And I love it. Every time πŸ˜€

This morning’s mash up was Quaker Oats Oatmeal Squares, Honey Nut Cheerios and Kashi Go Lean Crisp! with almond slivers and half a banana. It was essentially a party in my mouth.

If loving cereal is wrong, I sure as heck don’t want to be right.

I’m off to work, my friends! I’ll catch ya later this afternoon. Again, happy anniversary! πŸ™‚

Question for the morning – What do you enjoy about reading this blog and healthy living blogs in general?

13 Comments on “Happy Anniversary!”

  1. Cait says:

    yay happy anniv πŸ™‚ haha so cute! love cupcakes and those sprinkles look yummy! seriously loving your blog girl! its the best πŸ™‚ xoxo

  2. Lindsay S. says:

    Colleen, there is such a thing as a cereal bar! I saw it on the food network. Here is the website http://www.cereality.com/main.php. I’m sure one day you will get to visit and be in cereal heaven!

  3. Heather says:

    I totally understand the feeling of non-stop smiling and the happinessthat comes from blogging πŸ™‚ So glad you found it, and then found me, in order that I could find you. (ok. that sounded really sappy. ha.)

    xoxoxoxox

  4. Kylie says:

    Congratulations on one month of blogging!
    Skipping work in favor of cupcakes sounds like a plan to me! πŸ˜‰

  5. Kathryn says:

    Yay! I have enjoyed your blog this past month because of all the many healthy living/food blogs I have seen now, you seem the most down to earth and relatable….could be because I already know you, but still! You’re driven, but not obsessive. I think you’re a great example to others!
    I guess it also helps that I already know you and have seen how you live a healthy life in many ways – not just eating and exercising!

    • Colleen says:

      Oh my gosh, thank you, Kathryn! You are so kind! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the blog! Thank you for being someone who comments on my posts πŸ˜€ It makes my day!

  6. Danielle says:

    Colleen!!! There is something called the Cereal Bowl and there is one in Washington DC. So not far from you so you should go!!!!! Just google The cereal Bowl Washington DC. Misss youuuuu!!!!

  7. Michelle says:

    Love it! Happy blogiversary! I love that you seem so honest in your blog, it’s definitely something that keeps me coming back.

    Oh, and I totally get what you mean about having a “thing.” I was always looking for something I could call mine, and maybe now I’ve found it too πŸ™‚

  8. Congratulations! I can relate with finding your “thing.” When sports are so commercialized and well-known, it’s hard to convince people that writing is a legit hobby. It’s pretty cool when you have something to show for it!

  9. Sophia says:

    I love combination cereal bowls!! Chex + Kashi granola is my favorite! Congrats on your blog being 1 month old!!

  10. tknologlvr says:

    I love your breakfast concoctions…keep ’em coming!


Leave a Reply

