What Do You Do with 250 Chicken Wings?

Why would anyone in their right mind have 250 chicken wings? Oh, yeah. If they planned a programming event that no one showed up to. That’s the story of my evening, friends. I’m slightly ticked off, but this too shall pass.

I hope you’ve had a wonderful day! After work this morning, Cory and I managed to get a couple wedding things crossed off of our epic Wedding To-Do List.

Our afternoon was kicked off on the right foot: with Chick-fil-a. I tried the new Spicy Chicken Sandwich. It was glorious πŸ˜€

Okay, I know that many of you ban fast food from your life (more power to ya!), but I can totally get down with it every once in a while. And on the fast food spectrum, Chick-fil-a isn’t that bad. I usually have a grilled chicken sandwich, but Cory talked me into the spicy one, and I wasn’t disappointed πŸ˜‰

After Β lunch we headed out on our search for Cory’s wedding attire! I didn’t think this task would be super interesting (shopping for boys rarely is, right?) but I was just tickled with excitement every time he tried on something! I can’t wait! πŸ™‚ (We didn’t end up choosing any of these items, so there is no spoiler alert here)

After finding the most handsome wedding garb, I had to go pick up 250 chicken wings to take to this alcohol program. I’m not sure if you’re aware (because I was not) that an order of 250 wings is pretty darn heavy. Upon arriving to campus, I grabbed the closest parking spot I could find (aka NOT close) and carried these damn wings to the building of said program.

I looked like a huge creep walking around with two tin containers that reeked of chicken. I didn’t know where the building was, so I shamelessly stopped not one, but two different students asking them to point me in the right direction (while sweating from carrying the weight of 250 chicken wings).

I imagine I looked like a girl being hazed; like I was asked to supply food for a fake party. Who carries around 250 chicken wings and doesn’t know exactly where she’s going with them?! Me. Only me.

Like I mentioned above, this story doesn’t have a pretty ending. No one was high-fiving me for being awesome and buying them chicken wings. No one showed up. What the H? That just chaps my buns.

ANYWAY – after the epic chicken wing failure, I came back home and didn’t even have an appetite. Juuust kidding! But because I was on the splurge-spectrum with my Chick-fil-a, I opted for a salad for dinner. It’s all about balance, folks πŸ™‚

Alas, the world was not on my side. Or so I thought. I made this sweet salad of lettuce, tuna, red peppers, cheese and almond slivers when I realized:Β I have no salad dressing. I usually use salsa, but I was out of that as well.

Enter: BEST IDEA EVER. I made my own salad dressing! I combined a tablespoon of sugar-free raspberry preserves and a tablespoon of plain non-fat Chobani and it was fabulous!

It’s not pretty, but it was tasty!

I think this is the new way to go! I’m very picky about salad dressing, as it can totally kill a salad’s healthy potential, but this was healthy and flavorful! I ❀ Chobani πŸ™‚

Oh – my workout for the day? Chicken wings.

Tell me – How do you deal with a less-than-stellar situation? I try to use humor, but sometimes eating ice cream works just as well πŸ˜‰

15 Comments on “What Do You Do with 250 Chicken Wings?”

  1. Michelle says:

    Awww, that totally stinks about the event and the chicken wings (can’t lie though… I definitely cracked up a bit at your telling of it).

    Great idea with the yogurt dressing! Which reminds me- I forgot to tell you what I thought about the pomegranate flavor. I like it, but the first time I tried it, I was really surprised by the seeds in it. They’re kind of hard. Other than that, though, it’s good!

  2. tknologlvr says:

    Chick-fil-a deserves its own food group! Chaps my buns…love it! I will have to try that salad dressing, too.

  3. cbrady3 says:

    hahah I have a funny image in my head. And so creative with the dressing..I would have never thought to combine those two things!

  4. Kristina says:

    you crack me up! That stinks though!!!!
    I usually always use humor-sometimes after the fact of me pouting profusely!

  5. I exercise…or eat chocolate πŸ™‚

  6. Aw, the exact same thing happened to me this semester. Only it was the first Psych club meeting and I was lugging around pizzas. Then no one (except for the officers) showed up. That was crappy–haha!

  7. dressed2dish says:

    Colleen I LOVE your facial expression as you’re eating that chicken sandwich, I’m jealous I miss it! I always get the grilled chicken sandwich too πŸ™‚

  8. Paige says:

    Ugh, unlucky with the chicken wings! What did you do with them all?!


Leave a Reply

