Get Off Yo’ Buns!

Oh Lordy, I don’t know what you do for a living (well, I know what some of you do for a living 😀 ) but working an office job from 8 – 3:30 then classing from 4:30 – 10:00 = a whooole lot of sitting!! My co-worker friend, Krystle (who is also in my grad program), and I were bitching and moaning discussing how gross it is that we spend so much time sitting three or four days out of the week!

So, with Krystle’s encouragement, I came up with the idea to create a short little circuit of movements that we could do once an hour to get off our buns. We did it three times today and it was great! What’s not so great? People giving you awkward stares. I asked the front desk student-worker to take our picture and she thought I was so freakin’ weird. Whatevs.

Get Off Yo’ Buns Office Circuit

  • 1 minute arm circles
  • Desk push ups – max reps  (Don’t mind my cute face mid-apology to Front Desk Girl. “Sorry this is so weird. Yes. Yes, just take a picture.”)

  • 40 – 50 Calf Raises
  • 30 Squats
  • Take four flights of stairs (it’s a short building) up to the top floor and walk a full circle (~4 minutes)

It felt so good to get up once an hour and get movin’ even if it was just for a few minutes!

This morning’s workout was barely there,as Thursdays are an off day, but when you wake up at 4:45 feelin’ good – you’ve got to do something!I did 20 minutes of shoulders and arms with my 10 pound dumbbells + lower body for 10 minutes aka a mash-up of P90X vids 😉

Dinner was classroom-style tonight. I packed a turkey sandwich on an everything bagel thin with hummus, mustard, half a babybel spreadable cheese wedge and slices of red and green pepper. I had grapes and Kashi crackers on the side.

I’m now waiting for class numero dos. I’m seriously considering asking Kate to make me a chair cushion for Thursday nights. SO.MUCH.SITTINGGG 😉 I wonder if the professor will mind if I do arm circles in the middle of her lecture 😉

One more thing and then I’ll go. Women’s Health mag is having a contest for putting together a blog roll of reader’s favorite blogs. I have nominated some of my favorite bloggers and I had convinced myself that I wouldn’t ask anyone to nominate me. It’s too awkward for me. Plus, I’ve only had a blog for a month and a half. I’m not a huge blog sensation and I don’t get 75+ comments on my posts. But I figured that not even trying wouldn’t be 100% fair to myself. Although I’m a brand new blogger (and who wasn’t at one point?) I am passionate about this. I truly enjoy it. I’m a straight-shooter and I think most of you appreciate that. So, if you have 2.5 minutes, I’d REALLY appreciate if you nominated me. I’m sweating as I type this. I’m not kidding about the being awkward thing. Thanks in advance 🙂

Enjoy your evening, folks!! It’s almost the weekend! 😀

Office Workers Unite! – Do you do any simple moves to get up from your desk at work?

5 Comments on “Get Off Yo’ Buns!”

  1. I’m sitting at a desk from 8-5 and it stinks!! Haha! Thanks for the moves!! 🙂

  2. Love the moves! There are days at my work where I do a lot of sitting – definitely prefer the days where I’m moving around! On slower days where I sit a lot and my butt starts hurting I do little jogs in place and high knees around, lol. It’s more to warm up tho 😛

  3. dressed2dish says:

    Love love love the office moves! You made me laugh bc I felt the same way when I asked the waitress to take my pic when I dined alone! I just woke up and dinner looks so tasty I actually want it for breakfast! 🙂


Leave a Reply

