Wax Attack

Hello, friends!! I hope you’re not up as early as I am on this fine Saturday morning 🙂 I’m getting ready to head out to my Saturday class, but I wanted to share last night’s highlights with you!

After work, I finally made Courtney’s scone recipe!! I was so pleased – they are delicious! I might take one with me to class today 🙂

Around 4 Cory and I metroed into DC, and thanks to LivingSocial we were able to hang out with all 44 (wax) Presidents – and some wonderful celebrities – at Madame Tassauds 🙂 I thought Heather would enjoy this outing 😉

I won’t lie – at first, it was almost like being at a morgue. It was semi-creepy seeing all these life size presidents standing around. But, as you can see…we got over that feel pretty quickly 😉

Cory and Tommy J..

I’m trying to keep an eye out for John Wilkes Booth. (I was disturbed that Lincoln was placed in a theatre booth)

“You can’t handle the truth!!” I forget who this is! But I kept laughing because Cory would bang his fist on the table each time I tried to take a picture. “Cory, I appreciate your enthusiasm, but we’re in public and we can’t hear the fist bang in the photo.”

I was hoping this moment would come 😀

Madame Tassauds was right across the street from a self-serve frozen yogurt shop. We stopped for an appetizer 🙂 A dollop of red velvet cake and a dollop of cheesecake flavors with a hearty serving of rainbown sprinkles and almond slivers. Yes, please! 🙂

We had plans to go to THE CEREAL BOWL (!!!) after Madame T’s – but the crazy intense winds blew a tree over on the metro rail, shutting down the red line, the one needed to get to Cereal Utopia. But it’s okay, we improvised and had a great time!! 😀

We ended up at a Spanish tapas bar – the food was good, but a little too oily/greasy for me. I really can’t tell you in much detail what we ate – and the menu is not online, but I’ll do my best. We started with bread and three dipping oils:

Then shared fried eggplant with a queso dipping sauce:

We moved on to more eggplant – not fried this time – filled with ricotta cheese and tomatoes:

Then we topped off a calamari bowl that had shrimp and mushrooms. It was great!

It looks like a lot of food, but we didn’t finish everything – and the servings were great sizes to share! 🙂 It was almost like we were back in Spain 🙂

Well my friends, I’ve got to hit the road if I want to grab some coffee before class!

Chit – chat: Do you have a favorite President? Mine is Lincoln! 😀

 

9 Comments on “Wax Attack”

  1. Lincoln’s my favorite too!!! Who couldn’t love Honest Abe? Haha!

  2. Cait says:

    haha great photos- i love honest ab myself 😉 xoxo

  3. Meg P says:

    I am a H. Hoover girl

  4. dressed2dish says:

    Ah LOVE your facial expression with Michael Jackson! And can you please send me some of that red velvet and cheesecake for my b-day pretty please 🙂

  5. tknologlvr says:

    Reagan was my fav.

  6. Heather says:

    i want to goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. [insert 4 year whining – as if this place was = disney world.]

  7. Jenny says:

    Love all these pictures of you!! And omg that froyo looks delicious! We use to have a cereal bowl here but they closed it down! >:{

  8. I love this!! Those wax sculptures are so fascinating to me. They always look SO real!!
    And I now have this image in my head of the cereal bowl being like…a giant cereal buffet. Please tell me that that is what the cereal bowl actually is…because that would mean I have a new life goal: to find one.

  9. I don’t have a favorite president, but that wax museum looks like a lot of fun! I also want a bite of your frozen yogurt…yum!


Leave a Reply

