Proof

Yes, this is my proof that went to the gym for my afternoon workout 🙂 This is big, friends. I even packed my favorite workout t-shirt to pump me up. My PE shirt from freshman year of high school. K – 9 I would do almost anything to get out of PE, but now I love working out. This shirt symbolizes something for me. I know, I’m a strange bird 🙂

I was so shocked at how awesome I felt working out in the afternoon! Jess was right – it was…easier?! I ran for 25 minutes on the treadmill and I wasn’t even tired! I only stopped because my ankles and calves were killing me. What gives?! So I hopped over to the ass-kicking stair machine and stayed on that for 25 more minutes. FIFTY minutes of cardio, my friends! That’s a success in my book 🙂

Here’s the only kicker – I have to take a second shower. I’m not a girl who works out and glistens. I straight up man sweat. It’s a concern.

Tell me – If you workout in the afternoon, do you shower twice?

 

13 Comments on “Proof”

  1. Paige says:

    I never workout in the morning, so I’m definitely on board with the afternoon workouts! When I get home I usually hop in a quick shower, though I rarely re-wash my hair (…is that gross?). I feel like if I don’t shower again then I have icky sweaty residue on me when I get in bed that night. Bleh.

  2. Jess says:

    I normally don’t shower in the morning if I’m going to workout in the afternoon:)

  3. Lindsay Harlow says:

    Sounds like a great workout! I love showering in the morning because it wakes me up and just starts the day off clean but I almost always workout in the afternoon, so I often do shower twice. On Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday I usually shower after my workout in the afternoon and wait and shower again after my next workout (the next afternoon) because I have early classes on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. So on those three days I usually don’t look very awake in the morning because I haven’t had my shower yet! After all that rambling, I do often shower twice because I always work out in the afternoon. And on a side note which has nothing to do with your question, I love your hair!!! I miss mine being short, I’m torn between cutting it again or not!

    • Colleen says:

      Lindsay!! You are a workout machine and I wish I could run like you do! I’m glad we’re in the same boat about showering twice. I just can’t go around looking like SUCH a hot mess! Not because I’m (so) vain, but because I think I might scare/offend other people around me haha 🙂 Thanks for the hair compliment! This is actually LONG for me! I’m trying so hard to grow it out so I can have an up-do for the wedding! I love short hair, but obviously I think you’d look beautiful with a buzz-cut 🙂

  4. Lauren says:

    Hey you! I workout on my hour lunch break (when I can which really means when I feel like it which is just once or twice a week) and I dont shower after. I do however, use extra deoderant before I return to work just in case. I am like you with the man sweat… BUT I tend to not work out too hard at lunch so I avoid that problem. If I shower it would take me a good 15 extra minutes to dry and fix my hair and I just dont have that kind of time!

    I hope to buy the p90x sometime in the next week so I will do that at home, man sweat it out, and shower before bed. Where do I get a good chin up bar? I think p90x uses

    • Colleen says:

      Hey you! Yeah, the extra deo for the BO is a must 😉 I just look like a wet dog after I workout and I can’t even pretend like I could pull it off. I actually didn’t get a pull up bar for P90X – I just heavy duty resistance bands (that you can find anywhere) and use those during the pull up sequences. Someone on the video is always using bands, so they show you how to do it. But it you WANT a pull up bar, you can find them anywhere. Target or Dick’s might be your best bets!

  5. OMG I have the same problem. I work out after work alot of nights, so afterwards I usually just take a rinse off shower – not a full shampoo/conditioning fiasco… because I really prefer to have freshly washed hair in the morning when I go to work!
    By the by, LOVE your blog. Just stumbled into it. We have a lot in common. I just graduated in December, and just got married last august, and am obsessed with fitness/healthy living. Good luck planning your wedding!!!

  6. Natalie says:

    Omg, I man sweat too! I use to use my lunchbreaks to go work out, but only if I don’t have any meetings for the rest of the day! I don’t know how people “glisten” after they work out– I need to sweat so I know I actually worked hard!

  7. I’ll usually take a shower the night before if I know I’m going to work out in the afternoon. That way my shower schedule goes on nights instead of days, haha. If that’s not possible though, I’ll shower twice. I’m disgusting after I workout, the first thing I want to do is get in the shower!

  8. tknologlvr says:

    Great job! Most times, I catch my second wind when I run after work!

  9. Glad you ended up enjoying it – maybe even discovered it works even better for you?!
    I hated PE in school, too. Well, in high school, at least. I still have my gym shorts though 😛


Leave a Reply

