Call Me Betty

Sike, don’t really call me Betty. But seriously, I had quite the productive morning in the kitchen!! Cory and I are going to my parent’s for dinner so I volunteered to bring dessert. My mom doesn’t like sweets, but I know Daddio will appreciate my efforts 😉 (Kate will, too. She’s a good sport.)

I called my parents last night with several recipes for them to choose from. When I mentioned truffles, both my parents said “What are truffles?” Oh, Lord. With that said, I knew I had to go the truffle route.

So first up, cookie dough truffles. Need I say more? I borrowed this recipe from FoodNetwork, and it is divine!

Oh.My.Word. These are so good. You must make them immediately. The recipe is simple – but it’s very messy! When I make chocolate-covered-anything, the kitchen ends up looking like an unsupervised five-year-old was left in there for days. It’s not pretty. But the end result always is 🙂 (That said, I’m not a blogger who can take step-by-step pictures of my baking. My hands are too messy!)

Here are the directions I followed:

* As you can see, I drizzled mine with white chocolate. Deeelish! 🙂

Round 2 was scones again! I used Courtney’s recipe and they turned out fabulously. I know I made these last week, but I made them again because I wanted my parents to have them. I’m not a scone hoarder. Not that there would be anything wrong with that..

Here are the directions that Courtney so generously provided on her blog

* 6 wedges = 12 -15 minutes

* 8 wedges = 10 – 12 minutes (This is what I did)

* 12 wedges = 8 – 10 minutes

Needless to say, I’ve got A LOT of sugar sitting in the other room. I can’t handle all that temptation. That is why I’ve boxed things up, ready to take over to my parents 🙂

Cory’s off work, so I’m gonna get outta here 🙂 Enjoy your weekend!

9 Comments on “Call Me Betty”

  1. I absolutely love truffles, but I’ve never tried making them. I could definitely see myself making a huge mess haha!

  2. tknologlvr says:

    Yum!

  3. Katy says:

    I want those truffles! OMG! They look (and sound) divine!

  4. Gina says:

    Cookie dough truffles?!?! Drool.

  5. Jenny says:

    Omg those truffles look delicious!!! Canihaz? 😀

  6. Your parents are lucky tonight 😛 Everything looks wonderful! Hope you’re having/had a fun time 🙂

  7. cbrady3 says:

    Those truffles look insane. I think you’re parents will definitely know a good truffle now!

  8. Colleen says:

    The truffles and the scones were fabulous. I will have to share because I can’t have all these sweets in the house. Love you


Leave a Reply

