Friday = Baking Day

Good morning, my fine friends! I hope you’re enjoying your Friday so farΒ πŸ˜€

I love Fridays because no alarm is necessary. There’s something so wonderful about just waking up on your own, do you know what I mean? I would much rather wake up on my own at 5:30 than wake up to an alarm at 7:00.

The agenda today is lookin’ great for me πŸ™‚

I didn’t workout this morning because of my legs hurting so badly yesterday. Any seasoned runners out there know possible reasons why my ankles and calves are in so much pain when I run? Cory suggested that I take a day or two off, and I think that might be the best idea.

What I did do this morning was make my favorite cereal power house combo. It’s the best combo in the world if you ask me πŸ˜‰

I use a 1/2 cup of Oatmeal Squares, 1/2 cup of Honey Nut Cheerios and a pinch of Kashi topped with 1/2 a banana. MMmm, good!

I’m realizing that I like to bake on Fridays. I’m new to the whole baking scene, but I really enjoy it. I didn’t grow up around baking. My mom is good at 99% of things, but she is a chronic Bottom Burner. Meaning, every time she tries to bake something, the bottoms are burned. I say that with the utmost love and respect for Kate πŸ˜‰

I thought that Bottom Burning was hereditary. I was shocked the first time I made cookies from scratch and nothing was burned and they tasted heavenly. This was PB (pre-blog) but I remember taking pictures with my phone and excitedly texting Cory’s mom (who is the most gifted baker). When my mom came home from work I displayed my cookies upside down. It was proud moment πŸ˜‰

Come back later today to see how today’s recipes turn out!

It’s Day 9 of the 30 Day Picture Challenge πŸ™‚

A picture of your favorite band or artist.

I have a favorite band: The Beatles

I have a favorite artist: Michael Jackson

Oh, and yes. I am a 45-year-old trapped inside a 23-year-old’s body πŸ˜‰

Let’s Chat! Who is your favorite band or artist? What is your favorite baked treat to make? Do you mix cereals together?

19 Comments on “Friday = Baking Day”

  1. Cait says:

    wow i never thought to MIX cereals together- what a fabulous idea girl πŸ™‚ you’re so creative! oooo LOVE M.Jackson- his song just make me get up and dance! xo have a fabulous friday dear!

  2. bearrunner says:

    Check the mileage on your shoes.. You may need new ones, and if you have new ones, you probably need different ones

    cheers

  3. kayejohn says:

    I’m an amateur baker myself, and sometimes the bottoms are burned, and sometimes they’re not, but I never pay close enough attention to what I’m doing to realize what’s making the difference. What’s the secret???

    and um, yeah. There’s a reason everyone loves both The Beatles and Michael Jackson (except, inexplicably, my best friend’s loathing of The Beatles. She’s mental I tell ya!). And that reason is that they are both AWESOME.

    • Colleen says:

      I haven’t burnt any bottoms yet. I pay really close attention to time. I always check them a minute before they “should” be done.
      And I’m so glad you love the Beatles and MJ! πŸ˜€

  4. I listened to one of my Michael CDs to and from work yesterday in the car :). And I own a few Beatles albums, as well!

  5. dressed2dish says:

    I love your cereal combos!! I know I can always count on your posts to make my day! Not gonna lie, I had a rough day today…not even a blog post gasp! But I’m glad I can read your blog to make me feel better, I can’t wait to see what you baked! πŸ™‚

  6. tknologlvr says:

    Hurt calves and ankles…have you recently increased your mileage (should be no more than 10% increase per week and long run should be no more than 50% of weekly mileage).
    Favorite band is The Black Keys. Favorite thing to bake is chocohotopots.

  7. Jenny says:

    Before blogging I use to think I was the only crazy person who mixed their cereal, now i know otherwise πŸ˜‰ My previous mixtures would be Special K chocolate with honey nut cheerios. I cut out the special k and now my mixes are usually Kashi Go Lean with Kashi Go Lean Crunch! yum πŸ˜€

  8. A Friday baking day sounds so great! I think I might join you! πŸ™‚

    I’ve never mixed cereals–but what a great idea!

  9. Michelle says:

    There is no shame in loving the Beatles or MJ. Whatsoever πŸ™‚

    Have you thought about getting new shoes? That usually seems to fix any workout problems for me.


Leave a Reply

