What Am I Afraid Of?

…Oh Lord. It’s day 11 of the 30 Day Picture Challenge: A picture of something you’re afraid of. When I saw this question on the list, I knew exactly what the picture would be

GAHH!! I’m terrified of whales. The thought of this huge massive animal jumping out of the water (as pictured above) absolutely scares me! I don’t know when this fear was born. I remember going whale watching as a kid and totally loving it. Times have changed, my friends.

I know the chances of coming in contact with a whale are slim-to-none. But you never know! Ask my brother. We can be in a man-made lake and I’ll say “You think this is a whale-free zone, right?” Don’t worry. I’m aware that this fear is insane and completely irrational.

I’m just trying to keep it real 🙂

Do you have any fears? Come on. They can’t be any stranger than mine.

15 Comments on “What Am I Afraid Of?”

  1. Michelle says:

    Whales creeped me out when I was little! I had this thing where I thought they were hiding somewhere through the bathtub drain, so I had to stay super far away from it when I took baths. Weird, I know 🙂

    Now, I think I’m most afraid of failure. Kind of cliche, but true :/

  2. Jess says:

    I hate heights! And dark scary areas- like basements:)

  3. Oh my goodness! I hate whales too-I’m always afraid they will appear out of nowhere.

    On a side note-I’m deathly afraid of crowded places but I guess that is a rather common fear.

  4. Jamie says:

    I am SO afraid of sharks. Best, I had no idea we were both afraid of sea life. It takes everything in me to get into the ocean. I know that a shark swimming near me is unlikely, but I just can’t get it out of my head that when I get into the ocean I am willingly swimming with them. They are there…somewhere.

  5. AH! I went whale watching as a kid and was PETRIFIED, so I can’t blame you on this fear. I mean, they’re huge!! I think I was more afraid of the boat tipping over than the whales, though. Seriously – every time a whale was spotted on one side of the boat, everyone ran over to that side and it felt like the boat was about parallel to the ocean.

  6. BrittFit says:

    Im not going to lie.. that is a very odd fear haha .. luckily you probably don’t come across many wales? My fear is snakes (CRINGE) luckily i dont come across many of those either! haha

  7. That’s so funny…my best friend is deathly afraid of whales as well! My fear (that I can think of at the moment) is pretty trivial in comparison…I have a weird fear (more of a phobia, actually) of nuts in my food! Ever since I was little, I have always been sensitive to having the addition of those little things in my meals! I like some nuts on their own, but I freak out if I find them in desserts, salads, etc.!

  8. Katy says:

    I totally get it. I used to not be able to swimming along in a POOL, for fear of sharks.. and I’m only slightly better now.. Haha!

  9. jennifer says:

    Oh I totally get it, I am slightly scared of whales too but I am much more afraid of alligators/crocodiles. I hate their long mouth with all those teeth and how they swim at you with only their eyes out of the water. I think with whales the size is a huge factor of the scariness and also being the water humans are typically helpless unless your an experienced diver. I went to a museum with a life-sized whale and i know its fake but it scares me everytime I see it because its just SO big.

    • Colleen says:

      The size is just so scary! I agree about alligators and crocodiles, too. My friends go to school at the University of Florida – and they have seen alligators/crocodiles just chillin’ at their bus stop! AH!


Leave a Reply

