National Cereal Day!!

Yes, friends. It’s true! Today is National Cereal Day πŸ˜€ This day is meant to celebrate the invention of Corn Flakes by John and William Kellogg in 1897.

While I’m not a Corn Flakes girl, you all know that I can’t function without cereal.

Speaking of cereal, you can make your breakfast go a long way! Cory’s mom let me know about Kellogg’s Share Your Breakfast campaign, and it’s awesome! All you have to do it take a picture of your breakfast and upload it on this site. OneΒ breakfast picture = One breakfast given to a school child who might otherwise go without. It’ll take you 2 minutes, really! All us bloggers out there who snap pictures of our daily eats have no excuse NOT to do this πŸ™‚

I hope you “celebrate” National Cereal Day well! (With lots and lots of cereal, of course!) πŸ™‚

Let’s chat: What’s your favorite cereal today? What was your favorite cereal as a kid?

20 Comments on “National Cereal Day!!”

  1. I never liked cereal as a kid! Cold cereal, at least. My mom used to make me Cream of Wheat or oatmeal, because I never wanted anything else. Now I like Quaker Oatmeal Squares. I’m still not a big (cold) cereal eater though…I like my oatmeal!

    • Colleen says:

      Oatmeal squares are my faaavorite! We’re opposites – I never liked oatmeal growing up. But things have changed, thank goodness! πŸ˜€

  2. Love cereal πŸ™‚ I have it as a snack more often than as a breakfast, though lately I’ve actually come to the realization that it does make a refreshing breakfast for mornings where I have to work. Who’da thunk?! haha. Favorites…definitely the Kashi shredded wheat line!! But of course, puffins will never grow old. Both very different choices than my favorite Apple Jacks or Fruit Loops as a child.

    • Colleen says:

      We’re cereal twins! I snack on it all the time, too! It really does make a refreshing breakfast, though πŸ™‚ I love Puffins annnd everything Kashi. Fruit Loops were a staple in my house growing up – and I couldn’t pronounce it, so I called them “boop boops” πŸ™‚

  3. dressed2dish says:

    Honey bunches of Oats & Cinnamon Toast Crunch were my favorites! I still love my Honey Bunches πŸ™‚ Omg – I used cornflakes in my mac n’ cheese last night!

  4. sanjapanja says:

    I shared my breakfast; it was Corn Flakes!

  5. BrittFit says:

    banana with cereal…two BIG thumbs up! My favorite was always kix or life πŸ™‚

  6. What a cool idea! I love cereal so much! I’m always mixing them up. Cheerios (or multigrain cheerios), kashi honey sunshine, barabara’s puffins, and fiberplus cinnamon oat are my faaavorites! Normally I combine those and add a sliced banana and some almond milk… YUM! πŸ™‚

  7. GF Grad Nut says:

    Aaah thanks for pointing this out!! I feel much less guilty about those two huge bowls of Cinnamon Chex I had for breakfast this morning πŸ˜‰

  8. Katy says:

    I’ll be checking out this ‘Share Your Breakfast’! Does it have to be cereal, or can it be any form of breakfast?!

  9. Cereal is my favorite food!! That and pizza! I love mixing cereals, like Chex, any type of granola and shredded wheat. So good!

  10. Jess says:

    I love Kashi’s heart to heart and honey nut cheerios mixed!

  11. Jenny says:

    Ahh so much cereal I love it! I could probably live off cereal O_O

  12. Lucy B says:

    Then and now….my 2 faves have ALWAYS been frutiy pebbles and frosted mini-wheats. I try and feel better about by choices by putting fiber one and some fruit on top!


Leave a Reply

