Losers Make Excuses, Winners Make It Happen

This is what I told myself this afternoon, but more on that in a minute 🙂

I got up bright and early this morning and worked out with Tony and the P90X gang for 40 minutes of Back & Biceps. It felt good, but it didn’t leave me with the feeling of “yeah – that totally counted as a workout.” Do you know that feeling? Either way, I celebrated with my over night oats. 😉

Work today was Lame City, and keeping with the theme I had a less-than-stellar lunch of a turkey sandwich, an apple and some Kashi crackers. I didn’t take a picture because I feel like I’ve posted 10 pictures of the same sandwich. It’s old news.

After work I headed to the grocery store! It wasn’t a huge shopping trip, as I’m going away for the weekend (!!!) I just needed enough food to get me through the week – and then a little extra. The last things I want to do when I come home from a weekend away is a) clean b) do laundry and c) need to go grocery shopping.

Here’s what I got!

On the drive home form work I toyed with the idea of an afternoon workout. (I think this trend is catching on!)  But I don’t really have to – I thought – I mean, I did work out this morning. But why NOT go? I was just going to sit around if I didn’t. I stopped making excuses and just did it.

So I put my groceries away and jogged over to the gym for 30 minutes on the elliptical + 15 minutes on the stair master. I know the elliptical gets a bad rap for being a “cop out” to the treadmill, but I’m still trying to take it easy on the knees (my God, how old am I?!) I made sure to up the resistance and I ended up with yeah, this totally counted feeling 😉

I haven’t felt so hot after my workout, so dinner was 1 cup of butternut squash soup with a few pretzel nibblers on the side. Yes, I do like to keep it classy with paper towels as plates. No big.

I had never had butternut squash soup before, but it was really good!

Okay, bloggy friends – I’m off to get ready for some Glee 😀 I hope you have a fabulous night!

Let’s chat – What’s your favorite soup? Do you like the elliptical or avoid it at all costs? Do you ever catch yourself making excuses not to work out?

 

16 Comments on “Losers Make Excuses, Winners Make It Happen”

  1. Trisha says:

    Love P90x! But I’m also a fan of the elliptical. Ya, I get why it gets a bad rap because it isn’t the most intense thing in the world. But I sure can get myself sweating on that thing! And I like it for my “easy” day. Good for you for pushing to the end!

    • Colleen says:

      Oh, I’m glad to find someone else who loves P90X! I don’t do it as a scheduled routine, I just choose the workout that I want to do. It works so well for me! 🙂

  2. I do like the elliptical, but I rarely ever do it anymore. I really want to try px90, but I don’t want to shell out the cash!

  3. tknologlvr says:

    Fav soup is French Onion, preferably from Panera Bread. If I’m still tired when I look at the clock at 4:30 A.M., I roll back over and tell myself I can always workout tonight.

  4. Right now since my heels are bothering me I need to cross train as much as possible. The arctrainer (elliptical and treadmill hybrid) is one of the few machines that I can do. So basically I’m living my life on that guy right now. Since I am a natural born swimmer and zone out is more forte-it doesn’t bother me too much.

    • Colleen says:

      Yes! The arctrainer is what I use! I always just call it the elliptical ha 🙂 It’s so much better on my knees, so I figure I’ll stick with it for a while before I start running again. I’m so impatient though – I want to run! But it’s probably best to not hurt myself even more 🙂

  5. Jess says:

    I like the elliptical! It’s easier on my joints:)

  6. I prefer the ArcTrainer over the elliptical. I like how easy it is on my joints, and I still feel like I’m getting a really good workout. I sometimes make excuses to not work out, but I feel like it’s good to take a little break sometimes. I know what you mean though…if I just do a yoga or pilates DVD, I feel like I need to workout again to get that good “I just worked out” feeling that is the result of cardio.

  7. Confession: I’m not a huge soup fan :X Unless it’s something hearty like a chili (if that counts.) I dunno…otherwise I always just feel like I’m “missing something,” even if it’s perfectly filling?
    I spy Snyders! Best pretzels evaa.

    • Colleen says:

      I’m not a huge soup fan either – I TOTALLY know what you mean about feeling like you’re “missing something” It’s really not my meal of choice – but with an upset stomach, it was light and easy 🙂 And yesss you did spy Snyder’s! Favorite pretzel everrr

  8. Katy says:

    I use the elliptical all the time, because I am always getting hurt, but I hate it. Haha. 🙂

  9. Ooh I LOVE all that grocery loot! I actually enjoy the elliptical sometimes haha and my favorite soup is probably minestrone!

  10. […] Tonight I felt inspired by The Lunchbox Diaries, so I decided to do 30 minutes of free step on my Wii Fit Board while watching TV. My husband was […]


Leave a Reply

