Better Than Nothin’

Most of you encouraged me to take the self-control route with my Dots, and that’s what I did. I chewed the hell out of some gum, ate an apple and drank a bottle of water – and only three more Dots happened to find their way to my belly πŸ™‚

My healthy lunch also made it easier to ignore the Dots. Freckled butternut squash soup and a salad.

After work, I headed to the gym for a quick pick-me-up. I wanted to take a nap, but I knew I’d wake up cranky and pissed off that I had to go to class, so the gym it was! It’s great how a little bit of movement can really wake you up. I didn’t do anything awesome – 20 minutes on the ArcTrainer and 7 (I got so bored) minutes on the bike. I wasn’t feelin’ the workout, but it was better than nothin’, right?!

I’ve got to get out of my comfy pants and into something more acceptable for class – but not before sharing day 14 of the 30 Day Picture Challenge

A picture of your favorite book

The title is a little off. This book didn’t help me win friends or a Nobel Peace Prize, but it honestly changed the way I interact with people on a daily basis. This book was written in 1937 and is the first bestselling self-help book ever published.

I was assigned to read it my junior year in college and my professor said “this isn’t your ordinary class read” and he was so right. I don’t think I could have thanked him enough for assigning this book. The book discusses human interaction in such a common-sense manner that the entire time I was reading it I was thinking “Well, duh! How come I’ve never thought of that?!”

Anyway, I’m sure not many people who read this blog have ever read (or even heard) of this book, but it’s truly wonderful πŸ™‚

I hope you have a fantastic night, blog friends! I’ll catch ya tomorrow πŸ˜€

Let’s chat: What’s your favorite book? What did you have for lunch? Do you ever get bored at the gym?

10 Comments on “Better Than Nothin’”

  1. Diary of a Fitness Amateur says:

    I remember seeing that book and wanting to pick it up to read but I never did! Now I will have to try and find it! I can relate to getting bored at the gym too! I had one of those days this past weekend but I still feel the same way- some workout time is better than none lol!

  2. Jennifer Bennett says:

    Dr. C’s Consumer Psychology class?!?

    I had to read this book too and it changed my life! I loved reading it for class, but it didn’t feel like homework cause it was so good. I remember always talking to my friends or family about the book because it is such a classic. I love how you still reference it today! It is a winner!

    • Colleen says:

      Yes!!! Oh thank you for commenting πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you’ve read it. I totally agree – it never felt like homework and it totally changed my life. You can tell Dr. C that I wrote about it on my blog. He’ll think it’s weird, but I know he’ll love it haha πŸ™‚ I used to talk with him about this book constantly. It’s SUCH a classic.

  3. Kelly Pilka says:

    My sister and I were just talking about this book the other night. She pulled it out and said I need to read it. I’ve defintitely heard of the book before but now might actually read it. My mom also gave me a book called “Who Moved My Cheese?” and the title is silly but it’s about coping with major changes in your life (like graduating from college and planning a wedding!). Should look into it!

  4. For lunch I had a big bowl of steamed broccoli and some leftover light chicken alfredo. It was delish!

  5. Favorite book? That’s a tough one…maybe She’s Come Undone? Or anything by Ruth Reichl.

  6. Now i want to read this book! And any form of a workout/exercise is better than nothing at all in my book!!!

  7. Why change out of comfy pants? I go to class in my sweatpants or leggings probably once a week ;).


Leave a Reply

