Work Smarter, Not Harder

Thank you to P&G’s Have You Tried This Yet? program and Kroger for sponsoring my writing about trying new things and breaking out of my everyday routine. Click here to find great savings on high-performing P&G products at a Kroger store near you. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

When asked to write a post about trying something new, I immediately thought about the small changes I’ve made to my everyday routine that have made my life so much easier. My motto is: Work smarter, not harder.

I do a good deal of “prep work” before I go to bed so that my mornings run smoothly. I need to be efficient in the morning because I have a lot to do in a short amount of time. Maybe these tips will help you, too!

Before I go to bed I

  • Lay out my workout clothes: pants, t-shirt, sports bra, socks and shoes so that there is no fumbling around at 5 AM
  • Decided what I want to do for a morning workout to cut down on time deciding between the elliptical and the treadmill πŸ™‚ (although it sometimes doesn’t workout the way I plan)
  • Pick out my outfit for the next day (I also look at the weather to make sure I’m on target!)
  • Pack my lunchbox with my fruits, cut up veggies and my sandwich. If I take anything frozen, I just need to grab and go!
  • Create a skeleton of my morning blog post

While getting ready for the day I

  • Keep the shower short – no need to shave every day in the winter!
  • Let my hair mostly air dry while I finish up my blog post (saves so much time with the blow dryer!)

Random “Make Life Easier” Tips

  • Put an extra trash bag on the bottom of the trash can – so when I take it out , another bag is already there and ready to go (it’s the little things)
  • Put a dryer sheet on the bottom of your trash can to help eliminate stench (I swear I’m not a trash lady)
  • Always buy things like toothpaste, contact solution, hand soap, etc in pairs. Those are the things you want to have on hand when you run out! And they’re cheap enough to buy two at a time πŸ™‚
  • Make a tentative “meal list” for each week. It helps me save money and cut down on impulse buys at the grocery store

I started trying these new things little by little, but they added up very quickly! I love any tips that help make my days run smoothly πŸ™‚ Thank you again toΒ P&G’sΒ Have You Tried This Yet? program and Kroger for sponsoring this post! I hope you all have a fabulous Wednesday morning!

Let’s chat: Do you have any daily time saving tips?

12 Comments on “Work Smarter, Not Harder”

  1. Cait says:

    What fabulous tips hun πŸ™‚ I usually always lay out of my clothes for the next day just incase I wake up late (which rarely happens) and I can throw on my what I want to wear haha! have a fabulous day! xo

    • Colleen says:

      It helps so much, doesn’t it?! The times I DON’T pick out my outfit the night before are the days I’m usually running 10 minutes late and have left a tornado-like path in my room of every item of clothing I own πŸ˜‰

  2. Leave it to me to pick the most random thing to comment on, but: “Put an extra trash bag on the bottom of the trash can – so when I take it out , another bag is already there and ready to go (it’s the little things)” I learned this “trick” from my mother and swear by it. Unfortunately, I can’t get everyone at work to realize how much easier it is, so it never fails that I’ll be making their life easier by having a bag ready for them, but they won’t replace it when they see they’re taking the last one πŸ˜› Ohh well.
    Love the tips! I try to get everything I need for morning ready the night before, too. Otherwise I’ll just stare into the fridge/closet having no idea as to what I want to eat/wear. I don’t do decisions that early.:P

    • Colleen says:

      I swear by it, too! I mean, how often to do take trash out, not put a new bag in because you get distracted (maybe that’s just me), and then go throw something away 30 minutes later and go “aw, damn it!” and have to fish it out. Oh, the trouble! πŸ˜‰

  3. Your tips are great! Now if only I could force myself to go to sleep before midnight so I could wake up around 5:15!

  4. Trisha says:

    We are quite similar! I pack my lunch and workout bag the night before, as well as pick out my clothes for the next day. I also write out a list at the beginning of each week of things that are most important for me to get done that week. I put it by my computer and cross things off as I go!

    I liked your tips!

  5. Paige says:

    I love the extra trash bag trick! It makes me crazy if I take out the trash and discover there’s no back-up bag ready to go.

    I also have to get a lot of my stuff ready the night before–clothing, lunches, etc. Otherwise I’m running around like crazy the next day!

  6. Megan says:

    These are some great tips! I just wish I followed them…especially laying clothes out the night before (I always attempt that…but never successfully do it!).

    But I really love planning meals ahead and need to try sticking to it when I write them out!

    Have a wonderful day!

  7. dressed2dish says:

    Ahh I always pick my clothes out the night before, if I don’t – my morning routine is sooo much longer & people at work can probably tell I had a rough morning πŸ˜‰

  8. I do most of those things, too! Definitely makes life a lot simpler! When I come home from the grocery store, I wash and cut up as many fruits and veggies as I can. Washing a container of berries at once is a lot easier then washing a small handful each day! I also divide up almonds, pistachios, etc and put them in little containers so that I can easily toss them into my purse or lunchbox for a snack.

  9. Katy says:

    Great tips! I think I might try out that dryer sheet one… Haha!


Leave a Reply

