Worth the Tummy Trouble?

It looks like most of us absolutely hate the dentist! I’m glad I’m not alone on this one 🙂 While the sound of metal tools scraping my teeth and the offensive “dentist aftertaste” were in full swing this afternoon, I actually ended up complimenting my dental hygienist. She didn’t ask me any questions while she was working and she was super fast. Done and done!

Pre-dentist I made a trip to Target (!!!) and a bought cute sundress  (it will be making an appearance this weekend) and a pair of sunglasses. I’m so not a sun glasses snob. $16.99? Works for me! If I bought an expensive pair, I know I’d sit on them within the first week. Story of my life. Do you splurge on sun glasses?

Before heading out, I made sure to pack some snacks to keep my hanger at bay 😉

Some H20, a Fuji apple (I am an apple snob. Fuji all the way), some Kashi crackers and a Cinnamon Raisin Gnu Bar. I can’t lose with these things! They’re all so good! You have a couple more hours before I pick a winner for my Gnu Bar GIveaway!

Okay – so for dinner Cory, my Dad and I went to Hard Times Cafe for some excellent chili. Ever since my dad suggested this place on Monday, I had corn bread and chili on the brain.

The menu has several chilies to choose from, so they give each table a little sampler to share. It’s so helpful! (My apologies for the orange-y photos. The lighting was terrible.)

This picture makes them look so gross! But they were all SO tasty. I went with the Terlingua Red Chili and it was on point.

I think the phenomenal corn bread deserves it’s own close up 😉

Again, these pictures suck. I almost didn’t post any of them. But that would have been even less fun 😉

So the chili was great, but only minutes after eating only a few bites, I knew I made a mistake. I’ve mentioned before that I have Crohn’s, so I am no stranger to tummy troubles. I know there are certain foods that I should avoid (like, say…chili!) but sometimes I can’t help myself.

So my question is, are there any foods that make you feel yucky after eating them – but sometimes you eat them anyway and just accept the fact that you’ll have to deal with the consequences?

As you can imagine, I’m feeling a little less-than-stellar, so I’m going to call it a night! I hope you are having a relaxing evening, friends!

Catch ya in the morning 😉

14 Comments on “Worth the Tummy Trouble?”

  1. tknologlvr says:

    So sorry…feel better soon! I can’t drink juice in the morning…major heartburn.

  2. Ooh, ooh – LOVE the cinn. raisin gnu bar!! I’m still crossing my fingers that I win. I know that sounds selfish but I don’t care when it comes to gnu bars, heh…
    I hope you feel better soon!! I hate when my stomach just feels “off.” If I drink too much coffee in the AM I will sometimes get heartburn so I try to limit my intake. I can’t think of anything else atm but I’m sure there is! I know it when I have it 😛
    And I am terrible with sun glasses. I lose them like it’s my job!! TJMaxx FTW 🙂

  3. Aww feel better! The food DOES look good, though!

  4. Trisha says:

    I have tons of digestive problems and really can only handle a hand full of foods without getting sick. I don’t usually give in…but I know the temptation! Hope you get feeling better soon.

  5. Jenny says:

    I wish I knew what food was causing my tummy trouble but I don’t 😦 Hope you feel better, don’t worry you’re not alone girl!

  6. LK says:

    Mmm my food that I know I will regret later is Chinese food. I think because I eat and eat until I’m full but Chinese food sneaks up on you. So you feel miserable after you eat it. I also love spicy things but get heartburn super easily so basically I’m a masochist.

  7. I love my Marc Jacobs sunglasses–they seem to be indestructible! Also, since I bought them from Nordstrom, they can be easily fixed/returned if broken! 🙂

  8. Hope you feel better in the morning!I have a little bit of acid reflux, so if I eat (or drink) anything too acidic, I’ll be feeling it later. Sometimes I decide to live with the consequences…and extra strength antacids.

  9. Jess says:

    Hope you feel better!
    I am definitely not a sunglasses snob, they never look completely right on me so I figure why waste all the money, right?

  10. Katy says:

    I hope you feel better!! 😦 I am the same way about sunglasses! Cheap ones from WalMart or Target all the way!!

  11. im an apple snob too… i like the pink ladys. nothing else will do!

  12. I usually feel terrible after eating deep-dish pizza, but sometimes I really just crave it! The cornbread does look really yummy!

  13. 9 times out of 10, dealing with the stomach pain isn’t worth it to me. My body obviously doesn’t like wheat I put in it, so I don’t think it’s a good idea to try to force it!

  14. I have certainly had foods that upset my stomach…it’s usually more from the amount though. Holidays I always want to try a bit of everthing. I know it will be too much but I can’t help myself. It’s always worth it though for those few occasions. 🙂


Leave a Reply

