Dining Hall Date

Wow! Thank you SO much for all of the kind words about my first vlog post! You guys are wonderful. I’m so glad it was enjoyed. I think I’ll have to do another one in the future 🙂

Did you have any problems with WordPress last night? I did! I was super annoyed because a) wanted to post and b) I normally do a little blog work before bed to prep my morning post. Grr.

But here’s what I was going to share last night

Cory and I went to the dining hall for dinner. I fought the urge to eat cereal as my meal 😉 I had some chicken (sans skin) with some rice and half a bread stick (they serve bread sticks in halves. Strange.)

Cory took full advantage of our dining experience. He sampled a bit of everything. A hot dog, fries, mashed potatoes, broccoli and cheese..he was lovin’ it. He can eat like that and not gain any weight. I wish. How can guys do that?!

What else was calling Cory’s name? Cheesy, gooey, 100% delicious mac ‘n cheese. I think a dining hall is the only place you can find something like this. It was goooood 😉

I did cave, though. I swear the soft serve and rainbow sprinkles were eyeing me from across the room all through dinner. I even tried to plan ahead – I grabbed an orange to serve as my “dessert” but that seemed pathetic when I set my eyes on the Edy’s machine. All bets were off 😉

The rest of the night was spent curled up watching TV and being absolutely lazy. I liked every minute of it.

This morning I had a date with the gym, but I stood him up. I hope he forgives me this afternoon 🙂

I’ve had sinus head aches the past two days. I think the lovely spring weather is to blame. Does anyone else get allergy/sinus head aches when spring rolls around? I’m popping Ibuprofen like Skittles, but it’s not cuttin’ it for me.

Well, friends – I’ll off to work! My RA class is giving presentations today. I’m looking forward to hearing them/not needing to prepare anything for class.

Have a fantastic Wednesday! Is that the weekend I see on the horizon? 😉

I want to know – How do you motivate yourself for workouts you’re not looking forward to? Does cereal ever count as a dinner meal in your world? 😉

11 Comments on “Dining Hall Date”

  1. I remind myself how accomplished I’ll feel after the workout! and cereal has definitely counted as dinner for me every now and again:) I too cannot eat somewhere with a soft serve machine with out eating a big cone or bowl full! I love it! When I was a freshman in high school I went on a cruise and in one night ate 6 cones of frozen yogurt, it didn’t even faze me! I’d have such a stomach ache if that happened now!

  2. Um why are your dining hall plates so cute? HA. Ours our like 10 year old big ole plastic do not break plates ha.

    I’m glad you had a good dining hall experience though. 🙂

  3. What a fun night! I miss going to the dining hall from when I was in school (kind of…). It was easy – no clean up required! 🙂

  4. Michelle says:

    I love that you guys made it a date!

    Oh, and I stood up my date with the gym this morning as well! I had plans to run, but my body just didn’t want to get out of bed at the ripe old time of 4:55.

    Have a great time with your class today 🙂

  5. Cait says:

    so glad everyone enjoyed your blog pretty girl 🙂 i can’t wait to do one in the future now! I motivate myself to go work by saying “As much as you HATE to do _____ (whatever you’re going to be doing___ you know you always feel 10x better after!” I sometimes post motivation post its in my bathroom so when I brush my teeth and have that voice saying “don’t go to the gym” i look up and see a post it that says “When in doubt, work out”.
    Oh yes and cereal counts for dinner 😉 yumm!

  6. I miss having the dining hall as an option! And in order to prep myself for a workout (especially an AM one), I have to start giving myself a pep talk the night before about how it’ll be worth, how I will have my evening free to do whatever, etc. I know it sounds crazy, but it works!

  7. My allergies have been acting up too…I joke that I can predict the weather, because my sinus headaches always let me know when it’s going to rain. I had a hard time passing up the ice cream machine in the dining hall too…it’s just too tempting!

  8. Trisha says:

    Sometimes i just have to GET myself to the gym. ya know? once i get there, i can get myself to push it because i already made the effort to go. its just getting in the car 🙂

  9. Alyssa says:

    I used to LOVE cereal as dinner, but my mom would never let me eat it for dinner when I was in high school. NOW, I actually never even want it unless it’s for breakfast or a snack! 🙂 strange…

  10. Stefanie says:

    Colleen- I love your blog! 🙂 First and foremost. Also, I often have to punch myself out of bed to work out in the morning. I rely on my other friends I know who are trying to lose weight/work out.

    Soft serve and sprinkles are my weakness too 🙂


Leave a Reply

