Teacher of the Year Award

Should never go to me. Ever. Well, mainly because I’m not a teacher. As I’m sure that’s a qualification πŸ˜‰

Today my students gave awesome presentations. They talked about pushing themselves outside of their comfort zones. They attended group organizations to learn about different cultures. One girl used a Prezi powerpoint (SO COOL). Me? I had to doodle in order to stay awake. What’s up with me?

I know I’ve been in classes before when I truly felt like I couldn’t keep my eyes open. Don’t you HATE that?!

But I never thought about the instructor feeling that way. Holy cow, all eyes (the ones that can stay open) are on you. For all your teachers out there, you are amazing.Β And probably pumped full of caffeine.Β There’s no way in hell I could pull that off all day every day.

One kid even commented on my lackluster presence. “I’m uh, not feeling the energy today.” Is what he said. “Really? Weird. Because I totally am.” Is what I wanted to say, but I opted for a giggle and a friendly shoulder shrug.

I know it’s because I woke up early but didn’t work out. Now I’m beating myself up over it. And all that beating has made me tired πŸ™‚

Now the question is: walk to the dining hall for lunch (it’s going to start raining any second!), or eat the bagel/PB/banana combo I have with me? Oh, the things I have to think about πŸ˜‰ (Please note my sarcasm. We all know now how I feel about being sarcastic on my blog πŸ™‚ )

15 Comments on “Teacher of the Year Award”

  1. Don’t worry, during some small group instruction time, there has definitely been some yawning.. and some eye dryness. Don’t tell.

  2. I made a Prezi last semester for one of my classes; isn’t the coolest thing? And I’m sure your students can cut you some slack- we all have those days (I had to fight to stay awake in my first class this morning)!

  3. I hate that feeling of not being able to keep your eyes open!!! I say eat whatever you’re craving!

  4. So I’m sure you’ve already eaten by now and this comment is completely useless, BUT I hope you went with the PB and bagel combo because that’s a classic!

  5. Seriously I was so tired today too! It must be something in the air. Story of my life with all my math classes…I’m always fighting to stay awake.

  6. Jenny says:

    Why in the world would you say no to a bagel/PB/banana combo?!! Take it down girl! πŸ™‚ Love your doodling haha I use to do that all the time

  7. aimee says:

    Hi! I stumbled upon your blog and enjoyed reading what I did – even your first vlog! I just wanted to say hello (:

  8. so funnyyyy! love your doodles πŸ˜€

    -courtney

  9. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    OMG my teacher makes us use Prezzi presentations all the time! They are so complicated but they end up looking really professional, so that’s a plus!

  10. UGGGHH HATE feeling like I cant keep my eyes open! I usually resort to coffee…a lot of coffee! And not getting in a workout when i HAD the time makes me feel totally bummed out too! We should be easier on our selves! πŸ™‚

  11. I didn’t get a workout in today either…boo! It’s okay, there’s always tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  12. I have legit had that feeling of literally not being able to keep my eyes open a few too many times this semester! Never thought about it from the teachers perspective though…must be tough!


Leave a Reply

