Fresh Start

Good morning, friends! It’s a new week and Β most of us are back to the grind! You know, Monday’s get a bad wrap. I understand how coming off a weekend makes it difficult to get back in the swing of the work/school week, but I think attitude is everything. Could that be the counselor-in-training speaking? πŸ˜‰

I think Monday’s are a fresh start to healthy living. Does anyone else slightly “let themselves go” on the weekends? This girls certainly does! Aside from getting my eating habits back to normal, there are several things that I do Β that make for a happy beginning of the week.

I make a short list of goals (both fun and serious) that I want to accomplish during the upcoming week

I schedule my workouts. I don’t know about you, but when I get knee-deep into the week, my workouts will start to slack if I don’t have a solid plan. Once they’re written down, they’re 10 times more likely to happen.

I’ve started “quote of the week.” I find a quote that motivates and inspires me and I pin it up next to my bathroom mirror. I love looking at it every morning when I’m getting ready for the day.

It sounds counterintuitive, but on Monday’s I get up a few minutes earlier than usual. This assures that I won’t feel rushed or end up running late. Frazzled + running late = the worst way to start a week.

I usually find something to look forward to – big or small. Maybe treating myself to coffee on Thursday. Or dinner with my parents. Or a date-night in. This week, I’m looking forward to my brother coming home!! πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen him in 2 months!

**********

Workout

This morning I woke up and did Ab Ripper X with Tony and the P90X gang. I was going to lift weights, but my arms are still sore from this weekend’s lifting sesh. As you can tell from the picture above, I’m planning on heading to the gym after work for some QT with the treadmill πŸ˜‰

Breakfast

It has been over a week since I’ve had oats of any kind (gasp!) I couldn’t workout and shower fast enough knowing that I had overnight oats waiting for me! Trust me, they did not disappoint πŸ™‚

1/3 cup oats + 1/3 cup water + 1/3 cup skim milk + 1 tbsp pomegranate Chobani + PB + Nutella + Kashi + 1/2 a banana. That’s a whole lotta stuff in one bowl!

Looks like I’m running on time this morning – thank God! I’m off to work. I’ll catch ya later!

Let’s chat – Are Mondays tough for you? What do you do to set yourself up for a good week?

23 Comments on “Fresh Start”

  1. aimee says:

    I tend to dred Mondays. Thanks for the reminder that attitude is everything (: Great thought to start the week!!!

  2. Mondays are pretty brutal for me. Back to the grind of working isn’t very fun. Makes me wish I was back in college! πŸ™‚

    • Colleen says:

      Tell me about it! College was so easy wasn’t it?! Working all day and going to school at night is certainly a challenge – no matter positive an attitude! πŸ™‚

  3. I know that this is beyond the point of your whole post, but I love your handwriting!

    I do the same things, though! Every morning I write down a list of everything I want to do today, work related or not. I break it down into pretty small items because I love crossing things off. πŸ™‚

  4. I always write down my goals of the week and goals for working out. I find it so much easier if they are written right in front of my face.

    Can you write out mine too because you have such lovely handwriting.

  5. I usually like Mondays! Tuesdays are rough though!

  6. I make a lot of to-do lists, but find that it’s sometimes difficult to accomplish everything I had planned. I guess the trick is to plan, but expect some changes!

  7. Trisha says:

    I’m totally a plan your workout kind of girl. I get so much more accomplished when I do! And I wake up my earliest on Mondays. From there it gets a little later each day haha

  8. love your weekly goals – I need to take a lesson from you! I have a chalk board I always *mean* to write my workout goals on for the week but somehow I let it slip! no more I say!! πŸ˜‰

    -courtney

  9. Paige says:

    I am much more likely to do my workouts if I actually schedule them on my calendar as well. I use Google Calendar to keep track of everything, so if I put my workouts on the calendar then I don’t tend to book my evenings totally full of coaching appointments because I know I have to leave room for my workout. Definitely helps!

    I just starting trying out P90X! My boyfriend did it for quite a while, so now I’m giving a few of the DVDs a try since we already have them around. They’re tough, but I like them a lot so far.

    • Colleen says:

      I need to become more dedicated to Google calendar now that I have a smart phone. That’s so cool that you just started P90X! Which ones have you done so far?

      • Paige says:

        I just got a smartphone recently as well, so now I’m even more invested in my Google Calendar. It saves me! I wouldn’t be able to keep things straight without it.

        I’m not following the P90X plan exactly right now (maybe once I’m fully moved and in one place all the time!), but I’ve tried the yoga, the ab ripper, and then last night I did the shoulder/bicep/tricep one (I don’t know what it’s called…) for the first time. I like them! I feel like I get a good workout when I do them, and Tony cracks me up.

  10. Jess says:

    Mondays aren’t bad for me at all, but mainly because I only have one class!
    I love that you pick a quote for the week:)

  11. I love all of your motivators and lists and notes. Girl after my own heart πŸ™‚
    I think Mondays are tough, but I also love the feeling of a fresh start! Happy Monday!

  12. I love scheduling my workouts, but I don’t do it quite as often as I’d like! Thanks for the reminder!! πŸ™‚

  13. Michelle says:

    Smart lady! Lots of great ideas for making Mondays better.

    I try to plan fun things to look forward to as well. Tonight I’m doing dinner with a couple girlfriends and tomorrow I’m supposed to go to lunch with another. Lots of good stuff to come this week!

  14. I love your take on Mondays! I needed your positive words today. πŸ™‚ And I’m 100% more likely to accomplish my goals if I write them down. Have a great rest of the day!

  15. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this post! Your tips are awesome. I unfortunately had a Monday that was not such a great start to the week and just as I was feeling discouraged I read what you posted! I am definitely making my goals, finding a quote and scheduling my workouts tonight so that the rest of my week is smooth sailing and on the right track!

    Oh and I TOTALLY get what you are saying about being “off” on the weekends. Happens to me all the time!! NEED TO CHANGE THAT!!

  16. ciaotochow says:

    Hi, Colleen! I just came across your blog and loved this post! I am an obsessive list-maker (I even add things AFTER I’ve done them to make it look like I accomplished more haha), and I really like your idea of making a list of goals for the week ahead. I’m definitely going to do start doing that! Oh, and I, too, love “scheduling” in my workouts…makes it so much easier to complete them knowing they’re on paper and you’ll feel guilty if you can’t cross them off πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

