Better than MMMbop

Good morning, my fine friends! Who’s happy that it’s Friday?! This girl is ๐Ÿ™‚

Today’s ย agenda is a little more school-work intensive than I usually allow my Friday’s to be, but these papers aren’t going to write themselves (although, that would be so totally awesome).

Source

Boy bands

I have a giggle-worthy story to tell you. Students here on campus use a lot of sidewalk chalk to advertise for things like Greek life and other organizations, and when I was walking to class yesterday I saw a chalking that I thought saidย Justin Bieber. I got oddly excited and took out my phone to take a picture to immediately text Jamie, because that’s absolutely normal. Before I snapped the shot, I realized it said Just Believe.

I’m a Justin Bieber fool.

Moving on to a more acceptable boy band: Hanson.

Did anyone else plaster their bedroom walls with Hanson posters in grade school? I vividly remember asking my mom for a Tiger Beat every time we went to the grocery store. Come on, a huge fold-out Hanson poster?! Of course I needed another one. My ceiling still had some open space! Gooosh.

It’s weird that no one my age wanted to date me like I wanted to date Zac Hanson. I was cute a nice person.

Please note:

The itchy sweater vest that I thought was cool and…feminine?

The poor choice of oversized glasses.

The Grease-inspired hair ‘do.

The reason I thank God for braces on a nightly basis.

In a nutshell: I had nowhere to go but up, my friends.

I digress. What got me on this boy band brainwave was a video that one of my fave bloggers, Alyssa, posted yesterday. I’ve heard some of Hanson’s new stuff, and it’s actually good. And they’re actually nice to look at now. People change, friends. People change.

Check it out! I’ve pretty much had it on repeat. Enjoy your Friday!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Let’s chat – What do you think of the video? I think it’s so catchy! Were you a Hanson fan? I saw them in concert several times. Thank you/sorry, Mom.

 

20 Comments on “Better than MMMbop”

  1. Cait says:

    omg i was a HUGE Hanson fan! HELLLOO MMM BOPPPP! i think it was on repeat everyday for me in 5th grade ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I used to LOVE Hanson! I actually heard on the radio that they were coming here, and I got pretty excited. I just need to find someone to go with me :). And we all have awkward elementary pictures…I had a gap between my front teeth, curly bangs (never cute), and I wore overalls. A lot. Apparently I thought they were cool ;).

  3. Jenny says:

    Aww I thought they were so cute! I didn’t know they were still singing songs, lol I’m so out of the loop =/

  4. aimee says:

    I was a hanson fan. They still release music. Although, I don’t have the recent albums…what I have heard of them are pretty decent!

  5. GF Grad Nut says:

    I just saw them play a free show in my hometown last week. They were phenomenal! Looove them ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. my high school actually had a fundraiser where they played “MMMBop” on repeat in the hall’s and during lunch until they raised enough money for it to be stopped. for me, it was the BEST few days! and needless to say it stopped before they even collected enough money. I was sad – my friend and I actually made shirts, “don’t stop the bop!” I was obviously just as cool as you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    happy friday!!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    -courtney

  7. Hanson was one of the first CDs I ever bought! Probably that BSB and Christina Aguilera. In high school we had a campaign called “stop the bop” where Mmmbop would play the entire time when classes switched until we raised enough money for Breast Cancer.

  8. Brittany says:

    I loveeee Hanson! (yes, that is present tense!) I cut my own bangs in 4th grade— curly hair with bangs is not a pretty sight!

  9. Trisha says:

    That song is catchy! I think i love every group that should be on the “embarrassed to own” list ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I was such a big Hanson day back in the day. We actually had a big house jam party a few days to Hanson.

  11. I never got into the whole Hanson thing. I liked Mark McGrath from Sugar Ray, Rob Thomas from Matchbox 20 and Gavin (Qwen Stefani’s Husband) from Bush . They were all over my walls. Oh my mother must have wanted to kill me. HAHA

  12. Jamie says:

    I think it’s called Bieber fever, big!

  13. alex says:

    hi from your newest fan.

    i just died a little. first of all, LOVE hanson, already wrote that on alyssa’s blog but it gets better every time.

    also, i think i had that same vest. brass plum nordstrom? i think i wore it the first day of school one year, but it would have been perfect for picture day.

    • Colleen says:

      HI, Alex! So glad to have found another Hanson lover! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hahah I think we might have had the same vest! I went to a Catholic school so we were uniforms – no snazzy “first day” wear. I only broke out the stylish stuff for picture days ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. Colleen, we are meant for each other. I loved Hanson with every fiber of my being. Okay, I still love them. My sister had so many posters!

  15. Ahhh I can’t believe Hanson has a new song out! My inner 9 year old is hyperventilating right now! And you’re right, it IS catchy. I like it. ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. Alyssa says:

    I JUST SAW THIS. yaaayyyy… i gotta tell ya, i’m obsessed. it’s been on repeat for a week. laalaala.

  17. Paige says:

    Yes! Hanson was the first band I ever saw in concert. I was like…nine. Awesome ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

