Living in a Van Down by the River

During my first-ever attempt at searching for an apartment, I learned several things.

  1. You will absolutely get what you pay for.
  2. Piggy-backing off #1, I now have a better understanding of the term “low rent.”
  3. It’s not a good idea to search do anything, ever on an empty stomach.
  4. People will tell you all kinds of nice things about yourself when they want to sell you something.
  5. Like an expensive store you know you can’t afford, don’t go in. You will only end up frustrated.
  6. Patience is a virtue that I should hurry up and work on. Like, now.

Because we didn’t find our future home in one afternoon, I chalked it up to a failure. Cory, who is more level-headed than I, chalked it up gathering valuable information. He said it’s good that we saw both ends of the spectrum and now we have a better understanding of where to focus our efforts. Okay, so maybe we won’t end up living in a van down by the river.

I will certainly keep you updated on our search! In my life, I have either lived with my parents or on campus, so this will truly be an experience!

Aside from my future living situation, I wanted to update you all on a fantastic raffle that my friend Heather has organized. Heather is helping her cousin raise money for Relay for Life, and she asked me about a month ago if I’d be interested in baking something for the raffle. Of course I said yes! Several other amazing bloggers have contributed yummy treats or fun goodies – and I think you should check it out! The raffle is live until next Saturday, April 16th 🙂

Alrighty, my friends! I’ve got work to do. I have three papers, two presentations and one video recording standing between me and the end of my first year of grad school. These next three weeks are going to be insaaane!

10 Comments on “Living in a Van Down by the River”

  1. Cait says:

    ughh i know how that goes girl- i have 2 presentations, 1 huge poster, and 3 huge projects between now and may 10th! LETS DO THIS THING! love ya grad school buddy! xo

  2. I know how you feel – apartment hunting can really suck, but having seen more apartments over the past 3 years than I can count, you’ll find the perfect place for you guys soon enough and you’ll know it when it happens.

    • Colleen says:

      Thanks for the vote of confidence! We’re still excited about it, I think I’m just too impatient and want to find something immediately! 🙂

  3. Wow what a great article. I’m going to be living off campus next year and been having such a hardtime finding a good house/apartment. I’d rather have something that hasn’t been partied in but I mean those are so much more.

  4. Jenny says:

    It’s always better to wait and find something that you end up falling in love with. Never settle because it’s there 😀

  5. I am also apartment searching. And it is not fun at all. I am telling myself that the housewarming party will make it all worth it. lol

  6. Aw good luck! This is a tough one, but I’m sure you guys will find a great place!

  7. Good luck on the search, girl! You’ll find something!

  8. Heather says:

    thank you dear for the wonderful support!!

  9. Good luck! Don’t get discouraged your perfect little casa is out there waiting for u 🙂


Leave a Reply

