A Whole New Bowl

Good morning, good morning! How’s everyone’s Monday going?! I was pretty darn pleased when I saw that it’s supposed to reach 80 degrees today. Hello, wearing a skirt to work! ๐Ÿ™‚

I slept so well last night. Like, so well that when my alarm went off at 5:30, I felt like I had slept in. I was ready to go. I jogged over to the gym and completed 20 minutes of speediness on the stair master and 12 minutes on the elliptical. 12 minutes? I had to leave the gym by a certain time, so that’s just how the cookie crumbled ๐Ÿ˜‰

As I was making my oats this morning, I may have been signing “a whole new bowllll” to the tune of the timeless hit, A Whole New World from Aladdin.

My oats were all kinds of new this morning. Well, the same – only a little different ๐Ÿ˜‰ I finally picked up some chia seeds that I keep reading about all over the place. But to be honest, I was quite disappointed. I don’t get the hype. I could hardly noticed them once they were mixed in. Maybe I did something wrong? I’m not sure!

The other new addition to my oats? Artisana almond butter! ๐Ÿ˜€

Let me tell you, this almond butter totally made up for the chia’s slack.

The lovely people from Artisana sent me tons of their yummy nut butters to try out. All of their nut butters are raw and organic. I’m not a 100% “clean” eater and I certainly cannot afford to buy all organic food, but I truly appreciate it when I can!

I love these packets. You can bet your sweet buns that these will now be a staple in my lunchbox. They’ll be so easy to use with apples, veggies, or if I make oats in the office. I also love that I don’t have to measure out a serving size. That’s key for me, because PB calories can add up quickly!

I may or may not have eaten the pecan butter straight out of the jar. The consistency is the perfect combination of nutty and smooth. Mmm good!

I have a day full of work and pre-cana meeting. Cory and I are having an “interview” of sorts with a priest tonight to ensure that we’re compatible (the Focus test, for any Catholics out there). Jesus, after almost five years – I hope we pass! ๐Ÿ˜‰

One more thing – I want to give a HUGE shout out to my dear friend and sorority sister, Ashley, for running her first 5K this weekend! I’m so, so proud of her! She’s amazing. She also writes a blog that’s so funny you will cry from laughing so hard. Every time.

Let’s chat – Chia seeds. Love em? Hate em? Have no idea what they are?

29 Comments on “A Whole New Bowl”

  1. I love chia seeds in my oatmeal! I find you have to add a lot (at least a tbsp) to notice the difference though.

    Lucky you for getting all those Artisana goodies! I’ve only tried their coconut butter, but I love it. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I never got the chia seed thing at first, but I tend to like them better it something like overnight oats because they have time to gel up more. They definitely add volume if given the chance, but sometimes when I just mix them in my morning oats and eat it immediately I don’t get that result. I love those nut butters – their coconut is so good.

  3. I put chia seeds in my oatmeal this morning! I use them more for the health benefits than for the taste, because they really don’t have a taste anyway!

  4. Trisha says:

    I eat some hemp hearts instead of chia seeds, but i think they are both more for the health benefits than the taste! Since they kind of just mix in. But girl, that nut butter stash looks incredible!

  5. I use something called FiProFlax Medley, which is a mixture of chia seeds, flax seeds and hemp seeds. I don’t notice a taste difference, but I blend them up in the magic bullet a bit to combine them into a powder and put them in my overnight oats. They definitely help it bulk up.

  6. I COMPLETELY agree with you! Almond butter = win, chia = fail.

  7. oh my gosh!! I need those packets in my life for my lunches, too ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree, my dad used to order chia seeds online YEARS ago (before the hype! ;)) and I never got into them! I’d just add them to stir fry’s for a little extra crunch. Of course these were my pre-blog-oats-bowl-days, but I just can’t bring myself to buy them on my own now!

    -courtney

  8. Luck you to get all those amazing nut butters!

    Thanks for the chia seed info. I have been thinking about trying them for a while, but at $8.00 a pop, I was hesitant. I think I might by pass them now.

  9. I don’t hate chia seeds but I don’t love them either. They just really aren’t my jive but I’ll eat them once in a while…kind of like hummus.

  10. OhJones says:

    Thanks ninny! You’re the best! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you!

  11. Kristi says:

    I love chia seeds. I mostly add them to my smoothies. I haven’t tried putting them in yogurts, but I’m sure that will be next.

  12. Love Chia seeds!!! And that coconut butter? Oh Lawd – you’re in for a treat!

  13. SO LUCKY with your artisana products!! chia seeds= big yay!

  14. Good luck with the priest! I’m sure you guys will do great! I’ve actually never tried chia seeds before!

  15. The deal with chia seeds for me is their amazing staying power. I cook them into steel cut oats, top the bowl with fruit and a nut butter and i’m full for hours! If I mix chia seeds into yogurt, same thing; it’s 3 to 4 hours before i’m hungry again.

  16. Jenny says:

    Ch ch ch chia! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love chia seeds. Perfect for them overnight oats. Let me know what you do with the coconut butter haha I’m letting you be the tester ๐Ÿ˜„

  17. I love artisana products! And chias are great- I always put them in my oats ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Yum! I love artisana products! They are such quality nut butters…have you tried the cashini butter yet? One of my faves!!!

    I really like chia seeds actually! I think they add a nice crunch to things and when you let them sit they work great to thicken different foods up! I am pro chia seeds fo shooo!

  19. All of those artisana goodies look so amazing!! I’ve been interested to try some of their newer flavors. Don’t they have like, a cashew-macadamia butter or something?!
    Chia seeds = love! Don’t worry…I didn’t “get” it at first, either. But now I hate having a bowl of overnight oats without them! I can’t say they affect taste – but texture, yes. I love chia pudding, too!

  20. OMG! Those different nut butters sound awesome! I’ve never had some of those! I’ll bet macadamia butter is AMAZING!

    Chia seeds are wonderful!

  21. I really like chia seeds, but I don’t really add them for taste or crunch, I guess just more for the nutritional factor. Hello, omegas! Plus, I love using them in place of an egg as a chia egg when mixed with water!

  22. moveovercelery says:

    I’ve never had chia seeds! But I feel so out of the foodie loop because lots of people use them and rave about them. Hmmmm maybe experiment some more?

  23. carlee says:

    That’s funny! I actually JUST bought some chia seeds about a week ago! I have not dug into them yet, but I have good hopes for them! Sorry you were dissapointed! Hopefully I’m not! Like everyone said I’ve heard they are best in overnight oats! And you might want to add MORE for crunch!

  24. […] For quite some time now I have come across recipes from my favorite blogs (here,ย here,ย here andย here) that incorporateย chia seeds. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on them and finally did this […]

  25. I just posted a post today on chia seeds (http://sprinkledwlove.com/2011/04/13/overnight-choco-coconut-oats/) love themmmmm! New favorite ingredient!


Leave a Reply

