Giving Foods a Second Chance

Hello and gooood morning! I’m here hoping your day is going along well πŸ™‚

My days have been quite busy lately. I don’t like that I’ve only been able to get in one post a day. I think once the semester is over, I’ll be able to squeeze back into my two-a-day routine. Thanks for hanging in there with me during this crazy time!

****************

Would you believe it if I told you that it’s probably been almost a decade since I can remember having a pear? I don’t know if I had a bad experience or what, but they have just turned me off for as long as I can remember. When I was at the grocery store on Sunday, I passed by the pears and thought,Β I honestly don’t remember what those taste like. So, I bought one and enjoyed it at lunch yesterday πŸ™‚

It was nice and juicy. While I didn’t dislike it, I didn’t love it either. I was glad to remember the taste, though! It took my right back to childhood, as weird as that sounds. Have you ever tasted something that brought back a memory? It’s the craziest thing!

A Second Shot

So many of you backed up the chia seeds that I had to give them another go this morning. Yesterday I put them in my overnight oats right before I ate them, but many of you suggestedΒ mixing them them in the oats and leaving them in there overnight. Thanks for the tip!

While I still couldn’t taste them, I could absolutely tell how the texture differed from yesterday. So I take it back; chia seeds aren’t so bad after all πŸ˜‰ I appreciate your help, blog friends!

Well, it seems to be about that time – I’ve gotta go make that dough πŸ™‚

Let’s chat – What’s your favorite fruit? “Everyday” favorites would be a tie between bananas and apples – “splurges” would definitely be kiwis and blackberries!

37 Comments on “Giving Foods a Second Chance”

  1. Why oh why are we the SAME person? I avoided pears for YEARS until like.. .last month. Now I am obsessed.

    • Colleen says:

      Real question of the day – why do you live so far away?!

      • I love pears! I can understand how you could pass up a pear though. If the pear is anything less than perfect it can be too hard or way too soft (and funky). Even if you get a perfectly ripe one, sometimes the grittiness can be too much too!
        Colleen and Chelsey, next time you feel like having a treat (appetizer or dessert whichever you prefer) slice up a pear and manchego cheese (sidenote: Chelsey I’m not sure if you would need to omit the cheese, it’s very light and not creamy), drizzle a little honey or agave, and enjoy! This combo is divine!

  2. I love pears actually one of my favorites. I do like cherries and blackberries as well. Also delicious, I go through nanner stages. Right now I’ve been on a nanner kick.

  3. my work always has pears that I try to snag, except I never eat them on their own – I usually roast them. I should try it today!

    -courtney

  4. Strawberries are my favorite! I could eat a whole container in one sitting…but since they’re the more expensive of all the fruits, I try to eat them sparingly. Key word- *try.*

  5. Pears are actually one of my faves!! I also love blackberries, raspberries and cantaloupe! Oh and plums! It’s so hard for me to choose one haha!

  6. Cait says:

    my fav fruit is strawberries, raspberries and cantaloupe πŸ™‚

  7. Strawberries, but mostly when they are in season. They are absolutely phenomenal right now in Florida!

    I recently bought pears too because I was kind of sick of apples, but love having a crunchy snack (I know, that’s weird.)

  8. I love fruits of all kinds but my favorites are mangoes, strawberries, and oranges. And I’m glad you gave chia seeds a second chance! πŸ˜‰

  9. Bananas are my all time fruit fruit, but grapes and apples are a close second. And if you can believe it I avoided peanut butter from 7th grade until COLLEGE. I was convinced it was giving me migraines and I was allergic. I’m still making up for lost time.

  10. I love pears, strawberries, bananas, apples. Actually, I have an obsession with apples, I could eat 5 a day, no joke. Yum- all fruit is sooo good to me!

  11. dressed2dish says:

    I agree – for some reason I’ve never been a ‘pear eater’. But I loooove bananas & pineapple! Having been in Thailand my new favorite splurge is dragonfruit!

  12. I wasn’t a fan of pears years ago but now I like them more than apples or oranges or even plums… but only when they’re ripe. An unripe, starchy pear is SUCH a disappointment… and I think Bosc are the best!

    Still not feelin’ the Chia… being “not so bad” isn’t enough for me to buy them again. =) Happy Tuesday!

  13. Sarah Joy says:

    I’m not a pear person either! I actually prefer more of a crunch…hence why my favorite fruit = APPLES πŸ™‚

  14. I am giving Strawberries a second chance at the moment. It is strawberry season in south Texas and they are amazing! No lie, I have never had a pear though.

  15. Jess says:

    I’m not a huge pear fan either, but I do like them. Bananas on the other hand, can’t live without em!

  16. Michelle says:

    Funny about the pears! I didn’t like hummus the first time I tried it (crazy, right?), but now I loooooooooove it.

    Favorite fruit right now might have to be raspberries. I wish they weren’t so freakin’ expensive!

    • Colleen says:

      I know!! I LOVE raspberries. They’re like $4 and you get a handful. Maybe when I win the lottery I’ll start buying them on a regular basis πŸ™‚

  17. I love pineapple and watermelon!

  18. Alyssa says:

    I ADORE mangoes. SO good.

    and I’ll bet you didn’t have a ripe pear before! I’ve gotta tell you, though.. you haven’t LIVED until you have a Harry & David pear. try it; you won’t regret it.

  19. ihearteggs says:

    Lately I’m ALL about banana… but once summer comes I’ll be eating nothing but strawberries and blackberries! YUM!

    .. okay. and melon. Any kind will do! Lol

  20. For some reason pears are something I never buy, but always see, maybe they deserve a 2nd chance!

  21. I love chia seeds. They made my “friday favorites” last week! I like them gooey and crunchy, every which way!

    As for pears, I never used to buy them, but my son is into them right now. So, I’ve been buying them and when you eat them at the PERFECT time, when they are juicy without being mealy, they are to die for.

  22. My days have been super crazy too – so I totally get it! πŸ™‚

  23. Jenny says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever bought a pear lol I can’t remember the last time I ever ate one! Glad you gave chia seeds a second chance, they belong in overnight oats πŸ˜€

  24. Bananas are usually an every day thing for me, but I love mangoes and blackberries…too darn expensive, though!

  25. Brittany says:

    I love lots of fruits! My favorites are Strawberries and Clementines! Sad thing is, clementines are only available in the winter into early Spring!!!

  26. Add me to the pear avoider list…up until about a year ago! I think my aversion was because I would think pears and think of their canned counterpart being served on lunch trays. Not yummy. Fresh pears? Very yummy. (In my book, at least!)
    Favorite fruit? Definitely a banana. So simple…yet so versatile. And just plain delicious!

  27. I haven’t had a pear for so long! I am adding them to my grocery list now πŸ™‚ I like apples with peanut butter…best afternoon snack!

  28. My two favorites are DEF apples and bananas!


Leave a Reply

