A Chocolate That’s Good for Me?

Happy Friday, my lovely friends!! Wow – all I can say is thank you for the great discussion about wanting to see the more “real” side of bloggers. Just to clarify – I was in no way  trying to suggest that we bloggers are deceitful by putting our best face forward – I mean, why wouldn’t we? The only point I was trying to make is that there is no need to attempt to fit in a blogger cookie cutter. It’s okay to be exactly who you are 🙂

Source

On the note of being exactly who you are – I’ve mentioned before that I have a little stomach issue called Crohn’s. Now that I’m on medication, it’s hardly an issue, but it does cause me to consider everything that I put into my body. I think, “Will this make me sick?” Mexican, yes. Veggies, no. 😉

So when Attune Foods offered to send me some of their probiotic bars – make that, chocolate probiotic bars, I jumped at the chance.

For those of you who aren’t super familiar, probiotics are “good” bacteria that help with digestion and nutrient absorption by fighting bad things in your digestive system. Three cheers for probiotics! 😉

Annelies, the lovely woman from Attune, sent me a two week sample and suggested I finish both boxes to get the full effect. First off, let me say that I loved these things! I ate one every day at 10 AM and I felt so indulgent for eating a “chocolate bar” mid-morning. But at 100 calories a pop, they’re far from indulgent. The almond flavor was by far the winner on taste – mainly because I’m obsessed with the almond/chocolate combo, but the milk chocolate crisp was tasty, too!

After two weeks of eating these chocolatey probiotics, I feel great. The most important thing for me is that my stomach feels good after I eat. No bloating = a happy Colleen 🙂 I highly suggest trying these bars!

Well, friends – I didn’t workout this morning. I did a little X-Stretch with Tony and the Gang and it felt mahhvelous. I might get a little run in there later today – but I’m not making any promises to myself. Why? I might just be too excited from Apartment Hunting: Round Two. Cory and I are looking at two places today and I’m feeling optimistic 🙂

Let’s chat – What’s your favorite chocolate combo? For me, it’s gotta be chocolate and PB.

26 Comments on “A Chocolate That’s Good for Me?”

  1. kristisn says:

    I think my favorite chocolate combo is chocolate and peanut butter. You can’t go wrong with that combo 🙂

  2. Gina says:

    Omg! I would love to try these. Especially since I feel like I have so many stomach issues and I absolutely adore chocolate 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    This sounds awesome! I’m going to have to do some research and figure out how I can get my hands on these.

  4. Those look great! I haven’t jumped on the probiotic bandwagon yet…

  5. TheCreamFilling says:

    Chocolate and mint forever 🙂

  6. Cait says:

    ahh- need to get some stat! happy friday gorgeous bff 🙂 xo

  7. That’s awesome that you found some bars that bother your stomach! And my favorite choc combo also consists of PB and chocolate – can’t beat it!!!

  8. Brittany says:

    yay! I didn’t know you had Crohn’s! Pardon the nurse in me, but i get excited when i found out that my friends have certain medical conditions 🙂 And i’ve been having chocolate cravings lately!

  9. Jenny says:

    Sign me up for some of that healthy chocolate!! 😀

  10. These sound so yummy! I love the chocolate and peanut butter combo too!

  11. Katy says:

    I think I just like chocolate and chocolate… Haha. 🙂

  12. I have seen these and I really want to try one. My favorite combo at the moment is orange and chocolate but pb and chocolate is also an awesome combination.

  13. peanut butter and chocolate is like romeo and juliet. true love.
    do you know if Attune bars are available in Canada?

  14. dressed2dish says:

    Mmm those sound so good! Yep – my weakness is PB and Chocolate, although I have a soft spot for chocolate and almonds 🙂

  15. My best friend has Crohn’s too and it really hinders her when she has a flare up. I’ll let her know about these!

  16. Definitely chocolate and peanut butter. I LOVE chocolate and coconut, too!

  17. I love a plain and simple dark chocolate. Nothing too over the top, but dark and smooth. Yum.

  18. Paige says:

    Definitely chocolate and coconut for me! I’ve heard great things about the Attune products and have been meaning to try them. Maybe I’ll finally get motivated 🙂

  19. The Balanced Bean says:

    I have heard such good things about attune bars!! I need to try them for sure. I do make a conscious effort to get probiotics, usually from kefir!

  20. HELLO chocolate!!! YUM! I love Dark Chocolate and Mint…hold me back now 😉

    xxoo

  21. I like dark chocolate and pb or almonds. In smallish quantities, though 😉 I can’t take too much chocolate! These attune bars sound really neat, though!
    I hope you and Cory were successful in apartment-hunting today!

  22. Wow girl, I had no idea you have Crohn’s. My bf has UC and seems to have had a flare up for over a year now, so I know how bad it can be–and home important Probiotics are. Have you heard of or tried BioK+? Great product to look into and try as well. Over 50 billion active live bacteria..

    And as far as these Attune bars go, I’d like them for myself, let alone for the bf! That’s awesome Annelies sent you two weeks worth. Good to know they’re worth trying. I’m a choc/almond or hazelnut girl, but the bf is straight up chocolate/peanut butter:)

  23. Chocolate and mint is my favourite combo ever! Especially in ice cream. 😀

  24. Chocolate + peanut butter or chocolate + strawberries are the best!! 🙂

  25. Belinda says:

    Hey Colleen!

    Where can I buy these lovely-sounding bars?


Leave a Reply

