Fake-Me-Out Spaghetti

Hi friends! How’s the transition from weekend to work week going for everyone? These past few days have been full of exciting things, so I’m still running around with my head in the clouds πŸ™‚

If you happened to miss yesterday’s post, you didn’t hear my fantastic news! We are so excited. We may or may not have walked around Home Goods last night just “looking for inspiration.” Does anyone else love Home Goods as much as I do??

Sunday Dinner

Cory and I tried spaghetti squash for the first time last night. This stuff is so freakin’ cool – have you tried it before? (Cory picked up this squash at Whole Foods.) All we had to do was cut it in half, place it on a baking sheet (cut side down) and place in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes

When you pull it out of the oven, flip it over, grab two forks and start shredding

I was so amazed by how a huge squash went from that, to this

To this!

My “spaghetti” sauce was from a jar, and I added meat, broccoli, onion, red peppers and mushrooms. And you know what? This dish was pretty close to tasting like actual spaghetti! I was skeptical at first, as I’m a huge carb fiend. I love pasta, but I don’t eat it often because I tend to overload. Needless to say, this is a great option if you inhale carbs on a meal-ly basis like I do.

Now if only I could create a fake-me-out baguette to go with this meal πŸ˜‰

Monday’s Moves & Morning MealΒ 

This morning at the gym was just what I needed. I completed a 4.5 mile run in 40 minutes with the help of the fantastic 5-4-3-2-1 pace. If you haven’t tried out this treadmill workout, I suggest you change that πŸ˜‰

Another exciting thing for me was this morning’s breakfast. Believe it or not, I’ve never had a green monster before! I read about them on almost every blog that I follow, so I figured it was time I gave it a try. Again, I was a Doubting Thomas. Can you really not taste the spinach?


Well, I’m here to tell you that I could not taste a single bit of spinach. It’s pretty neat. I’ll be making one of these again soon!

In this smoothie went

  • 8 ice cubes
  • 3/4 skim milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 huge handful of spinach
  • 1 frozen strawberry
  • 1 scoop of Arbonne Essentials Vanilla protein shake mix (I think this made the smoothie. SO good!)

I’m spending today with my mom to run some important wedding errands! πŸ˜€ As excited as I am, I can’t forget that I have this waiting for me when I get back

Can anyone say crunch time? πŸ˜‰Β 

Let’s chat – Have you even tried spaghetti squash? What’s your favorite pasta dish? <— If you have recipes, please share!Β 

28 Comments on “Fake-Me-Out Spaghetti”

  1. I have been loving spaghetti squash these days! I’ve got one chillin in my fridge right now, that I’m planning on turning into dinner!

  2. applesnoats says:

    ahh congrats on your first green monster!i tried my first a couple weeks ago and now im addicted!!!your post inspired me to pick up spaghetti squash today at the grocery store when i go!:)

  3. Michelle says:

    Very nice! I haven’t tried spaghetti squash or a green monster… perhaps I should get on that if they’re both so good!

    PS – love the bottle of nail polish in the background of the photo with all the papers πŸ™‚ I allllways do my nails when I’m working at home for a long period of time!

  4. I have yet to try spaghetti squash! I really want to! Your final dish looks amazing! And good luck with the wedding errands – so many exciting things going on for you!

  5. Val says:

    I love squash. All kinds haha. I usually eat my spaghetti squash the same way you do or sometimes with some cheese melted in it. I find it has such a great buttery flavours on it’s own. Glad you liked it!!

  6. Congrats on the lease!

    I’m glad you like the spinach smoothie – I was a doubter too but even got my fiance’ to try them!

    I still need to try spaghetti squash… I just always forget to buy them!

  7. Meaghan says:

    I love, love, love spaghetti squash! But I hate cutting it, and I’m really impatient so I almost burn myself everytime trying to scrape it out right away. It’s so worth it though πŸ™‚ And I have tried green monsters, but they never look or taste as good as everyone says. Mine always looks gross and not pretty green, and the spinach never blends all the way, I can see green flecks. I’m starting to think maybe I just have a crappy blender? Or I’m doing something wrong

    • Colleen says:

      Mine wasn’t pretty either! I also let mine just blend away for several minutes. I had to stop it once or twice to stir it up to get the spinach mixed in πŸ™‚

  8. dressed2dish says:

    I have been wanting to try spaghetti squash for awhile but just never have – it looks so good! We tried a new pasta tonight – Mexican Spaghetti! Congrats again on the apt – so exciting!!

  9. Oh I can definitely say crunch time!! πŸ˜‰

    Mm, I need to grab another spaghetti squash before they’re gone for the season!!

  10. I love spaghetti squash. It makes so much for so cheap and it really takes on the flavor of what you put in it. Left overs for days when you’re cooking for one person too.

  11. Ashley says:

    I love, love, love spaghetti squash, but we are not fun we just eat it as a side dish, nothing special.

  12. kristisn says:

    I have never had spaghetti squash. I’m definitely going to try it this year!

  13. Do you go to Longwood? I almost went there for school versus Upstate NY.

    I love spaghetti squash, I have become completely addicted lately.

  14. I still haven’t tried spaghetti squash yet. Maybe I’ll finally do it this summer!! πŸ™‚

  15. Katie says:

    I bought a spaghetti Squash today and it is on the menu this week! Love what you added to yours!! Yummy!

    Have a great week! Will keep u in loop on meetup!!!!

    xoxo

  16. love spaghetti squash! it always amazes my roommate because she can’t get over how similar it looks to spaghetti. however, to my boyfriend it still looks like a pumpkin. πŸ˜‰

    -courtney

  17. I’m not a fan of spinach, but I love green monsters because you get all the benefits of spinach without the taste πŸ™‚

  18. Jenny says:

    I love ghetti squash!! I add Ragu sauce and top that baby with parm cheese. I’m too impatient to bake it. Stick that baby in the microwave lol πŸ˜€

  19. Um, I made spaghetti squash for dinner last night too!! I love it with anything honestly. Soooo yummy, it’s one of my favorite foods!

  20. Everytime I see spaghetti squash featured I always think- I need to try this!! It really does look just like spaghetti!

  21. I love spaghetti squash as a light, summery meal! Well, I guess it doesn’t matter what the season is, that’s just the only time I’ve ever had it, lol. I don’t really view it as spaghetti – but it definitely makes a good meal, spaghetti or not!

  22. Lauren says:

    I love spaghetti squash! Sometimes I layer it with some cheese and sauce to make “lasagna” πŸ™‚

  23. Brittany says:

    I’ve been wanting to try the Spaghetti Squash, and make a alfredo sauce with it!!! YUMS!

  24. Jess says:

    I’ve never tried it, but i wanna!! this is definitely my fav pasta recipe at home though: http://a-taste-of-confidence.com/2010/10/12/a-day-in-the-kitchen/

  25. The Balanced Bean says:

    I love spaghetti squash! and congrats on signing the lease! =)

  26. I have had spaghetti squash and I liked it! I actually need to have it again soon. I mean, I love my carbs too, but it’s nice to have a low calorie sub from time to time. πŸ™‚

  27. […] I’m off to workoutsΒ , volleyball ,and probably making spaghetti squash thanks to Colleen. […]


Leave a Reply

