Good Question, Grandma

Hiya, pretty people! How the heck are ya?! I’m pretty great πŸ™‚ I spent yesterday afternoon running errands with my mom. I bought several adorable dresses, but since they’ll be making appearances soon-ish, I’m refraining from posting them. But I was thrilled with my shopping success!

Last night, I finally got to see my grandma! She lives here in NOVA, but she’s one lucky bird who migrates to Florida during the winter. She leaves right after Christmas, and I hadn’t seen her since then!

I’m glad she’s back. I need a little more bad-ass in my life πŸ˜‰


While we were catching up, the topic of my blog came up. Not being one to mince words, she says, “I read it everyday, but I don’t get it. Who really cares about what you’re writing about?” Β 

Oh. Hm. Good question, Grandma. To be honest, I didn’t have a good response. “Um, I’m not weird. I swear there’s a big community of people who like that stuff” is the best I could come up with.

So, for today’s post, my input is simple. I’m kind of relying on you readers to help me answer my grandma’s question – and to help me come up with a better future response! I hope you can help me out!

Why do you read my blog, or other blogs in general? If you blog, why do you do it? Obviously you’re a blog reader, so why do you care about what other bloggers are doing?Β 

46 Comments on “Good Question, Grandma”

  1. I read blogs because I’m nosy. Plain and simple.

  2. Amanda says:

    It’s like being part of a community that you never meet. Reading other people’s blogs is kind of like living vicariously through others and experiencing different cultures. Also, some bloggers are easy to relate to. It helps to motivate me.

  3. Your Grandma is a wise woman. Sometimes I ask myself that very question, actually! haha. But you’re right — it really is like a whole ‘nother community! For me, it’s a creative outlet. A lot of my friends don’t really care if I’m baking samoas or making gnocchi, and think I’m crazy for running 1 mile, let alone 3. Sure, we have plenty of other things to chat about, but might as well find some way of feeding these passions, right?! It’s more than just about the food, though. I like incorporating life bits, and I like reading about what’s up with other people’s too. And, like Chelsey said…I’m nosy. No shame. Aren’t humans inherently nosy, anyways?

    • Colleen says:

      I know! I ask myself the same question, too – it just caught me off guard when someone ELSE asked it πŸ™‚ But I agree with you, it’s a creative outlet and I have fun with it. If someone’s not interested, they won’t read it, ya know?

  4. Michelle says:

    I’m nosy too. And I feel like lots of bloggers have good ideas that I’m not creative enough to come up with.

    Buuut, I read your blog in particular because I like your outlook on life. And because you’re quite fun and that we’d make awesome friend in real life πŸ™‚ Am I weird for saying that?

  5. Lauren says:

    Being nosy is pretty good, I never really read any blogs on the regular but the link to yours is always on my facebook news feed plus your my family so I have a semi-obligation to support you LOL. You in particular also have helpful tips and suggestions about real life things that apply to me and on top of that its entertaining to read someone elses take on life! Never been a blogger or a die hard blog reader but yours is worth the time. Simmer down Grandma and if you’re reading this welcome back from Florida, my parents are a few weeks behind you!

    • Colleen says:

      Thank you for feeling semi-obligated to read my blog! You’re a fantastic cousin! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see you and celebrate you and your wedding in a few weeks!! ❀

  6. Brittany says:

    I think our Grandma’s would be GREAT friends πŸ™‚ ha. And i love you and your blog for your optimisitc, cheerful, happy, uplifting qualities and self πŸ™‚ You always have great things to say… even at times when it’s not to the best of situations, you make them seem upbeat πŸ™‚ And I LOVEEEEE you for that, my dear! I blog as a way to share with people, to write my feelings and emotions out. It’s my “journal” just without having to write in a book!

    love you girl!

  7. Cait says:

    omg i just DIED loving on that pic of you gma! how fn awesome is that lady πŸ™‚ hahaha! so cool girl! duh the reason i read your blog is because you have WONDERFUl posts that reach out to so many people- and because you’re just FABULOUS my blogger bff! xo have a sweet tuesday!

  8. My Grandma goes to Florida over the winter months too! I love reading blogs that I can relate too, or that make me think. It really is amazing how it can feel like you know so much about a person, when you haven’t even met them, but have been reading their blog.

  9. That picture of your grandma is hilarious. ha.

    I read blogs because well, I find other peoples live fascinating and don’t really live in the gossip life of college. ha.

  10. If I’m being completely honest I read all blogs because their a peak into someone else’s life. Also they make me feel connected to that person, like their a friend even though we’ve never met and I’m lacking on the girl friends in real life so why not have them virtually? But also, they can be a wealth of information and an incredible motivator that has really helped me along my health journey.

  11. Trisha says:

    I think we all look for affirmation that we are “normal”, in any aspect of life. So when we read about people doing normal or not so normal things, it gives us something to say “see, that’s okay” about. Does that make sense? Haha…maybe not. Either way, I love your blog πŸ™‚

  12. I blog to share my ideas, failures and successes in healthy living and cooking. Plus, my real-life friends would think I was crazy if I called oats and shredded carrot that I left in a the fridge overnight a “cookie”.

  13. Okay first of all, that picture of your grandma is hilarious! Love it!

    And second, I love the community that is formed through blogging. I mean, originally I read blogs for more recipe ideas, but then I realized that I loved getting to know the people behind the recipes even more. It’s so great to have other people to talk to who are interested in the same things I am (health, fitness, FOOD, etc)… love it! πŸ™‚

  14. Because I am nosey, and also because it is an emotional network where you can say whatever you want and not really have any rules or guidelines.

    I have a lot of people who ask me that question also, and I mean I tell them that it is a good emotional and creative outlet – so someone told me it was like a journal online (which is not exactly true, since I do not publish all my thoughts and feelings on the blog) but in a sense, it is an online journal

  15. I feel like it’s a fun community to be a part of. As for my blog, I just love sharing recipes. If I know that just one person reads it and gets excited, that’s enough for me πŸ™‚

  16. aimee says:

    I live vicariously through your breakfast options! I think you eat some fun stuff! I might use the excuse that I can’t make time to prepare breakfast (I pour dry cheerios in a bag and go-so boring), I like reading what you have prepared. And since I like working out and running, I love to read what others do for their workouts! I know one day I will finally be inspired to create a fun, healthy breakfast. That’s why grandma!

  17. Ha! I never have an answer to that question either – I always say that there ARE people who enjoy it or else there wouldn’t be such a huge community of bloggers! It’s especially hard to explain to someone whose never read a blog at all!

    It’s the generation of Facebook, Twitter, and social networks – we have this amazing resource, so why not take advantage? πŸ™‚

  18. Leave it to grandmas to ask the hard-hitting questions! πŸ™‚ I see her point – especially from a generational standpoint. I think it’s the voyeurs in us, but I also think it’s our need to find a sense of community in this big ol’ world. There are some people online that I think are great and I care about and I’ve never met! Sounds a bit weird, but it’s pretty cool πŸ™‚

  19. cbrady3 says:

    In the words of my brother “I read your blog every day, but I don’t know why. I don’t give a sh*t about what you’re doing or eating”.

    It’s very strange how addicting blogs can be – it’s kind of like a personal TV show or something! Once you start it’s just so awesome to follow personalities and lives!

  20. Alyssa says:

    Yep. I agree with Chels. I’m just nosy.

    hahah.. but it IS addicting. and I feel like all of you are my buddies I need to update and keep tabs on!

  21. I love getting different food ideas/recipes from other bloggers. It’s nice to have some “friends” interested in healthy living and have support. (I say friends in quotations because I often feel more like a creepo)

  22. carlee says:

    I loved this question! The thing I hate is when I try and explain to my friends I sound like a loser! I mean who has a legit GOOD friend over internet? But the truth is some of the people we meet we become so close to! I mean they read our lives everyday and we read theirs! And we have commen interests! and the people here are SO supportive and sometimes its hard to find that else where. Please! Compile a list so we can see what everyone said! And then next time someone asks me…”BING.BANG.BOOM. tHIS is why!” ahah.

  23. I read your blog because I like you.

    I blog because it’s fun and it allows me to “meet” people across the world.

  24. Jenny says:

    Your grandma is hilarious!! Hmm I read blogs because I like seeing what other ppl with my same interest are up to. If I had friends who lived their lives the same way I do I probably wouldn’t be blogging. Since I don’t and feel like no one understand my weird ass oatmeal concoctions I feel like I have to blog so that I don’t feel so odd! When ppl tell me oatmeal is disgusting I think to myself “Well my blog readers seem to think it looks pretty damn good” haha πŸ˜€

  25. I read your blog because its fun, and you seem like someone I’d hang out with all the time if we lived near e/o! And I read other blogs for the same reason, or to just get ideas about different things. I find that people in my “real” life are not as interested about healthy living as I am, but then I have this whole world of people who are, so why not connect!

  26. I started reading blogs because I loved hearing about people’s lives. Then their lives started to be a form of inspiration and motivation for me. Then I became kind of obsessed- IN A GOOD WAY – and jumped on the healthy train! HAHA. Now, I blog because it helps me feel better about living a healthy lifestyle. And I think it’s great to connect with people trying to do the same.

  27. I blog because it helps keep me accountable on this crazy ass weight loss journey I’m on. It helps me get me feelings out in the open, I tend to hold things in.
    I read blogs because I’m nosey, it’s the only adult interaction I get during the day, and it keeps me motivated to eat healthy!

  28. My grandma reads my blog too! She was my first subscriber. I love reading it to see how other people maintain balance and healthiness into their lives. But I also love to cook and bake and it is my outlet to be able to share those things!

  29. My parents and boyfriend ask me that all the time. Bloggers have their own little community, and I think that’s what I like about it. It’s kind of weird when you sit and think about it!

  30. Well, thanks, Colleen. I guess my question has been answered!…..G’ma.

  31. Peanut Butter Bandit says:

    It’s just so addictive to follow blogs… plus, I’m never short on meal ideas! πŸ™‚

  32. Your granny looks like a hoot! I love how older people just say whatever they are thinking. It’s true though. I’m hesitant to tell people I have a blog because I don’t want the “What is that? Why the heck do you do that?” questions. I read blogs to find people with similar habits and ideas about food and fitness and I write a blog to share my ideas and thoughts on food and fitness. I like you blog because you are open and well spoken.


Leave a Reply

