To Tell the Truth Thursday

Hi! Hello! I’m so happy it’s Thursday – because it means Friday is almost hereeee. Cory and I are going to visit his family for Easter weekend, and I’m looking forward to it πŸ™‚

So last week was the maiden voyage of Totally Truthful Thursdays, but I like To Tell the Truth a little bit better πŸ˜‰ This is just a tribute to the fact that I embrace my normalcy, and the fact that I like to laugh at myself. I don’t write my blog in hopes of portraying an image of Β me being totally cool all the time (if ever) or of me constantly making the right decisons. Nope, nobody’s perfect – and that’s the way I like it πŸ™‚

To tell the truth…

  • I bought super cute peep-toe wedges this weekend. I wore them yesterday. And I only painted the toe nails that showed. Concern?

  • My only qualm with warm weather? I have to stay on top of shaving my legs. No one has to be silky smooth everyday in the winter, ya know?
  • The other day I let the number on the scale ruin my day. I couldn’t decide if I was more pissed about the number on the scale or how I was letting that number affect me. I kept telling myself IT’SΒ JUST A NUMBER!Β But it didn’t work too well. Goodness gracious.
  • I actually let out a grunt (well, the girl version of a grunt – more like a heavy sigh) while lifting weights yesterday. I gave myself a dirty look in the mirror.
  • I have a test tonight and I wasn’t sweating it until I realized how nervous my classmates are. Their nerves made me nervous for not being nervous. Get it?

So those are some things that are goin’ on in my neck of the woods! πŸ™‚ And hey, don’t forget to enter my Larabar giveaway! I’m picking a winner tomorrow morning!

Let’s chat – Do you ever pull any ghetto short cuts fashion short cuts? Why touch up the nails that won’t even show?!Β Β What’s your favorite color nail polish for the summer time? I love me some bright pink!Β 

31 Comments on “To Tell the Truth Thursday”

  1. Cait says:

    ahaha ohhh my darling don’t worry about the stupid number on the scale- as you said its ONLY a number and you are more FABULOUS than that dumb old thing πŸ˜‰ My fav color nail polish is ANYTHING bright pink as well bff! it just makes any outfit! xo happy thursday love!

  2. 1. I totally don’t shave my legs for weeks at a time in the winter.

    2. The darn scale always looks so tempting but I resist it because I know I FEEL good and that’s all that matters.

  3. I love those shoes! I’ve done the nail polish thing before…and I, too, hate having to get back into the routine of shaving in the summer. It takes up an extra five minutes that could be spent doing something else…like reading blogs..or eating a bigger breakfast :).

  4. Mariah@ Apples "N" Oats says:

    hahahaha i love that you only painted some of the toes!!!!!and im so with you on the leg shaving except even though it’s hot, Im used to cold weather and keep forgetting….whoops

  5. Michelle says:

    You crack me up with your nail polish… but totally agree, why spend the extra on the ones that aren’t going to show?!

    I don’t weigh myself anymore for the exact reason that you mentioned. I was getting too upset about the number, and it just wasn’t worth it. Even when I felt good about my body, if I stepped on the scale, all of that was negated. So, I stopped.

    Love the idea of To Tell the Truth Thursday πŸ™‚

  6. Jennifer Bennett says:

    OPI – Elephantastic! Best summer pink!

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/7516459@N04/3751612602/lightbox/

  7. I like bright pink polish for the warm weather! I am also guilty of only painting the toenails that can be seen lol

  8. I always have to choose a dark-ish colour to paint my toes, because my running shoes always leave one of my toenails bruised and purple on each foot. But I’m loving the colour you painted some (haha) of your toes πŸ™‚

    I definitely agree about the shaving thing!

  9. I want those shoes- where did you get them? I never shave my legs in the winter, what’s the point? I wish I could laser off all my leg hair.

    Happy Thursday- almost the weekend! Hollerrr!

  10. Brittany says:

    oh how i love thee πŸ™‚ But i still like the title Totally Truthful Thursday!

    And i hateeeeeee shaving, so not so excited about that going on in the summertime! But a girls gotta do, what a girls gotta do! Hence why i like to wear long shorts, so i only have to shave up to my knees! hahahaha!

    The scale is just a number! Do not let it rule how you feel and what you do! You are worth sooooo much more than that, blogger BFF! LOVE you!

    And last night when i couldn’t sleep… i may or may not have read your blog backwards to the beggining =)

  11. You are too funny!

    Girl, you should see my legs in the winter! Well, actually, maybe you shouldn’t… πŸ˜‰

    And I’ve totally done the nail polish shortcut too…nothin’ wrong with that!

  12. I totally get what you said about other classmates making you nervous about things when you weren’t to begin with. I always try to tune them out because otherwise I get all freaked out. I don’t really have any beauty short-cuts. Although I’m fairly certain I’ve done the painting the toes that only show thing.

  13. Paining my nails is a huge stress reliever so I do it a lot. In fact-my nails change almost every other day for real. I pull fashion no nos all the time but I often get away with it because I’m already strange to begin with…

  14. I love those shoe!. I need to get some new pairs for the nice weather. I have been fighting with the scale lately too, and am trying to stop using it. We should base how we feel on our daily choices, and how we feel, not the number that annoying object decided to project that day.

  15. Trisha says:

    Shaving legs in the winter is sort of really unnecessary! And I like anything bright, but I like it to be a little funky too. Right now I have some bright green on my toes!

  16. Haha! Love this! Super cute shoes too. πŸ™‚ And girl, I know what you mean about having to keep up with shaving your legs for this warmer weather. I mean, I LOVE the warmth, so I’m not complainin’. Just saying I hear ya πŸ™‚

  17. We were meant to meet in the blogworld (and hopefully we can meet in person one day)!!! I painted just the toes that showed when I went to DC for training! Hahaha! No one could tell, and frankly, I didn’t care! And I have been through (going through) each of the other things you listed, especially the number on the scale one. I think it bothers me that it bothers me (sigh). Have a good one, lady!

  18. Cute shoes!! I’m loving lilac and lavender for summer nail colors!

  19. Jenny says:

    I’m the same with the stupid scale. I always say it’s just a number and then I freak out and get pissed all day lol
    I shave like once a week but then again my hairs are blonde hehe and favorite nail polish as of now is either pink or marshmallow white πŸ˜€

  20. I love your truthfullness cause it makes me laugh, especially number 1! This morning when I put on a dress sans tights, I thought about number 2 and how I hoped no one looked at my legs today (not that they’re bad, they’re just not “silky smooth). And I totally feel you on number 3.

  21. I’m loving hot pink polish for summer! The only problem is, chips are pretty obvious and I suck at touch ups.

    I ALSO hate having to shave my legs every day! UGH!

  22. Oh ghetto short cuts are totally my thing. πŸ˜‰ And you don’t even want to know what my legs looks like in the winter – good thing I have light colored hair!! haha

  23. I love your new shoes! and totally agree on the whole shaving thing! Two truthful things for me, every time the sun shines on my legs you can tell how bad I am at shaving my knees and I’ve stopped painting my toenails all together. I have really ugly feet, especially my toes, they look for like fingers so I think not painting them draws less attention. However, the closer and closer summer gets I really want to!

  24. I only paint the toes that show, why paint the others?! I LOVE anything bright in the summer, last summer I was rockin’ bright orange toenails and I loved it.

  25. Totally do the same toe-painting cheat. Or just touch up chipped ones.

  26. I really ought to paint my nails now that they’ll show. I don’t know if I could deal with only painting a couple toes- I like things even…:)

  27. I did the same thing when I wore peep toes a few weeks ago! Bahahaah πŸ˜€ those are realllyyy cute, though!

    -courtney

  28. I hate when other people make me nervous!

  29. I love those shoes! And definitely support only painting the toes that show πŸ™‚ It’s a trick I always fall back on in early spring when sandals weather creeps up last second! I hope your test went well and that the number on the scale bothers you less with time. I fight it too. Ugh.


Leave a Reply

