21st Century Love Letters

Thank you to Yahoo! Mail for sponsoring this post about staying connected. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Isn’t this video cute? It totally reminds me about writing letters to Cory when he was studying abroad 🙂

Love Letters

To tell the truth – I am a compulsive e-mail checker. On any normal day, I log into my email account at least twice an hour. The debate is out on whether or not an intervention should be staged 😉

While I love seeing any email pop up in my inbox, nothing makes my heart flutter more than a random “just because” love email from Cory.

Here’s the thing – I’m a sucker for a handwritten note, but any form of the written word can make me swoon.

Apparently Cory appreciates handwritten notes, too. He has saved every single card or note I’ve written him over the past 5 years.

The Background 

During the summer before my sophomore year of college, Cory studied abroad in Spain for several weeks. Weeks people, not months or years. But regardless, it was monumental to me at the time. I mean, we were fresh at this dating thing, and I was a baby.

Forever ago. I was newly in love. And I ate waffles everyday.  

While Cory was in Spain, our phone calls had to be precisely timed and they were never more than 3 minutes. I feel so badly for my parents who had to deal with me, Psycho, during that period of time.

I would run around the house prepping everyone on days I was expecting a call. “He said he was going to call at 2:00 our time! It’s 1:58, people. NO ONE get on the phone!”

Like I said: I’m insane.

I think it was that trip to Spain that started our love emails. I’m not talking anything steamy or x-rated, here. They were (and still are) always simple notes expressing the little things that we love and appreciate about each other. Cheesy? Possibly! But hey, it’s 100% genuine cheese 🙂

Those emails are pieces of time that I hold so dear to my heart. Cory and I exchanged dozens of emails during his time abroad, and I saved all of them. That’s what is so great about letters of any kind; the ability to revisit emotions that were powerful enough for someone to take the time to write (or type) them down.

And just so you know: e-mails do an awesome job filling the void when we’re apart, but I much prefer hugs 😉

The weekend Cory came home from Spain

Let’s chat – Have you ever written or received a love letter? What’s the best email you’ve ever had pop up in your inbox? 

30 Comments on “21st Century Love Letters”

  1. When we first started dating, we always wrote love letters to each other. And actually for our first dating anniversary, I stole all the love letters I had made for the Husband and put them into a scrapbook. It’s in our closet. 🙂

  2. Stefanie says:

    Great post. Just and FYI… I became your friend that summer when Cory was in Spain, you could not have been THAT crazy 🙂

    I have to admit, my name is Stefanie and I’m a hallmark junkie. I spend more time picking out and stocking up on the perfect card for my friends, family and boyfriend. Since Brian and I are apart I spend him a card about every 2-3 weeks. Even when I’m there visiting sometimes I leave him one. The last time I went to visit they were all set up in his house. It made me smile 🙂

    Also, one of my best birthday presents I ever got was a handwritten (on notebook paper, it was my 23 birthday)note from one of my best friends from JMU just telling me how much he valued me and our friendship. I still have it and read it when I miss him or feel down.

    XOXO

    • Colleen says:

      That’s right! I did meet you that summer! I guess I was a closet crazy 🙂

      That letter from your friend at JMU sounds like the perfect birthday present! And FYI…I need to know more about this Brian kid.. 😉 I miss you!!

  3. Aww this is so sweet! I love all the old pictures! I go away every single summer for at least a month and apparently my boyfriend starts to get grumpy when I’m gone-according to his family. Once when I was in Europe for two weeks we also sent email back and forth a lot since the phone wasn’t the best option. I have them all saved in a folder on my yahoo account actually! Cute video, too! My boyfriend and I are much less cheesy than we were when we were younger so I get a lot less love letters but I have all of our notes saved from high school also and they’re hysterical!

    • Colleen says:

      Oohh you have ones all the way back from high school?! I bet those are gems! Yeah, the ones from my freshman year are little over the top cheesy, but they’re still so fun to read!

  4. runyogarepeat says:

    Aw, so cute! We were long distance last year, but we saw each other probably eery 4-6 weeks (a long time!). My favorite “love letter” was a homemade card with a rose hand drawn on the front on Valentine’s Day. He’s drawn pictures and wrote his own cards for all holidays now – I love it, so thoughful!

  5. Michelle says:

    Ah, you’re so cute!! I love this. Totally was the same way before when waiting for a new bf to call… good thing my family loves me unconditionally 🙂

    I can’t wait for you to get married. Is that weird?

    • Colleen says:

      Haha no that’s not weird! Is it weird that I compulsively check your blog hoping for a new post every time? (like you would actually post 5 times a day haha)

  6. Ah love this post 🙂 I have a box of all the love letters from my boyfriend, there are some in there from 7th grade! I crack up everytime I go through them. Love letters are the best :)!

  7. Brittany says:

    Ya’ll are so cute 🙂 I love hand written notes and letters– no matter who they’re from! And that’s the kind of hug i’m talkin bout 🙂 That’s how i hug, which such love and excitement! love you bbff!

  8. Awww so cute! I love getting handwritten notes, texts, emails…pretty much anything that contains a simple message or just a “I love you” from Vishnu. I have everything saved and can’t wait to show it to our grandkids one day! 😉 I even have our first AIM convos printed out (from our pre-dating days).

    And don’t worry, you’re not the only psycho when it comes to this kind of stuff…I’m right there with ya!

  9. OhJones says:

    Muffin this is probably the cutest thing I’ve ever read. Don’t mind me as I weep openly next to Petey. He actually sent me a love letter once in Farmville. His hand writing oddly enough looks a lot like Barb’s.

  10. Ada says:

    Great post! That’s so neat that you studied abroad in Spain!

  11. applesnoats says:

    aww that picture is adorable and I think it’s so cute that he saved all of your notes/cards!

  12. This was such a sweet post. And that last picture is just adorable!!

  13. Aww, that’s so adorable! Sam and I used to write notes all the time – but these days we’re more about the texts! Maybe I’ll write him a simple love email today! 🙂

  14. I LOVE this post, girl! You and I were seriously cut from the same cloth!! Christopher and I had to spend two summers apart when I worked at a camp and he went home to be a lifeguard (the first two summers of college) and I had no internet or phone. So we had letters. Seriously. I wrote him like 10 page letters every week, haha! Then once we were back together in person, we continued with little hand written notes mailed in campus mail or stuck in school books. And now that we’re married and are together nearly all the time (other than work hours), it’s more emails (like what you were saying). And like you said, not steamy x rated stuff, just short little sweet things. Love it! 😀

    • Colleen says:

      AH, I love that our stories are so similar! Yeah, the first few summers in college were brutal, weren’t they?! I love that you guys still write each other notes, too 🙂 That’s great!

  15. Just found your blog and thought i’d say hi! I also love love letters, my boyfriend and I have been together for 5 years and I always tell him the only present I want for birthdays/anniversaries/etc is a love letter! He isnt good at writing but finally wrote me a love letter and put it in my stocking for xmas! It was too cute for words 🙂 Looking forward to reading more,

    Michele

    • Colleen says:

      Hey, Michele! Thanks so much for stopping by 😀 That is so cute that your boyfriend put a love letter in your stocking! Even if he isn’t Shakespeare, it really doesn’t matter, you know? If it’s from HIM to ME, that’s the best thing in the world!

  16. I’ve been in the same boat with having the pond between us. Kenneth and I were at our six month mark, and our seven month would be while I was over in France for a month. I was at least having issues, since I knew his longest relationship was seven months (I was a little stressed at that point). We would talk on the phone when I could call; but we did not really email much (I would email, he would not really – but he did read them). It was also bad, because one of the girls on the trip was falling for a guy from another trip (University of Richmond guy), and so her throwing their “love” all around was annoying (btw they did not last past the plane ride home).

    Kenneth is not REALLY good at cards, but he is good at roses (randomly) and lots of presents! But I do love love cards! For Valentine’s Day this year, he made a card on Halmark.com; that was specific to us (so it made it even more important)!!

    🙂

  17. Katy says:

    This is such a great post! I saved emails at work. But then I moved. Haha.

  18. Awwww what a precious post!I totally relate to going crazy when my college boyfriend was in Spain for ONE WEEK! I turned into a crazy person for that entire week. My poor parents.

    The best emails I used to receive were the simple ones from my man just tellin me I was on his mind 🙂

  19. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    I love getting mail too! And I am totally obsessed with checking my email 🙂

    That pic of you and cory is adorable! Your hair looks so cute long!

  20. I think we are all a little insane at the beginning of relationships, haha. I love getting notes from my boyfriend, which are kind of like love letters:)

  21. Jenny says:

    This is so cute! I’ve kept all the letters and little cards my boyfriend has given me. He wrote me a poem once and I thought it was the cutest thing ever. For V-Day he made me a booklet with our pictures and made cute little phrases. I cried like such a sissy lol

  22. Alyssa says:

    awww, Colleen, this is so sweet. and I love it. and I’m having so much fun painting for yooou. 😉

  23. My boyfriend and I have a long-distance relationship, but we’re lucky enough to see each other almost every other weekend. When we are apart, though, he writes me an email every single day. He’s in med school so he’s usually up late studying and doesn’t send it until I’m fast asleep, but it’s the most amazing thing to wake up to. I’m an incredibly lucky girl!


Leave a Reply

