It’s Beginning to Feel a lot Like Summer

I think we were pretty split down the middle about who indulges over the weekend and who doesn’t.

My last post made me seem like I’m a trash-food vacuum Friday – Sunday. I realized after the fact that that probably wasn’t the best “healthy living blogger” thing for me to share, but I was just trying to highlight the fact that, to me, not being afraid of foods is a huge part of the definition of “healthy living.”

No matter if and when you indulge, I hope you enjoy it every time! 🙂


Source

——-

I woke up this morning with a sinus headache (anyone else feelin’ the allergies lately?) so I stayed in bed with every intention of an afternoon workout with Cory. I was super pumped because we don’t normally workout together, and I was more than ready to embrace the change of pace.

But when we got to the gym (at his apartment complex) there were 6 people lifting weights, which meant no room for us. Not to be defeated, we decided to go for a long walk and chat about our days.

10 minutes into the walk I was a sneezing, coughing, watery-eyed mess. Ugh.

Allergies: 1, Colleen: 0

Tomorrow is a new day, yes?

Although I spent the rest of the afternoon resisting the urge to scratch my face off, I really do appreciate the nice weather. Life is so much nicer when the sun is shining 🙂

Cory was so happy that he bought his favorite beer, Woodchuck 🙂

And what better way to embrace summer weather than to have one of my favorite sandwiches for dinner?

Mozzarella , tomato and basil on a fresh baguette 

So, so good. Even though I can’t smell much, this baby tasted heavenly. This is the kind of sandwich that I want to make the “last” bite last as long as possible. I never want it to end! 🙂

I’m not quite sure what the rest of the evening holds, but whatever it is, I’m pretty confident it’s going to be relaxing! I hope you’re able to do the same!

Let’s chat – What’s your favorite sandwich? Do allergies bother you this time of year? I really think I would benefit from living in a plastic bubble.

16 Comments on “It’s Beginning to Feel a lot Like Summer”

  1. Allergies are terrible lately! I thought the week+ of rain would wash them away. And I just wanted to say, I didn’t comment on this morning’s post, but I think it’s totally REAL and admirable that you share that part of you. I think so many people glass over the choices that might not make them look “perfectly” healthy and in my mind its unrealistic. You blog is never anything but fun, refreshing, and relatable. Of course, not that I’m saying eat a chocolate cake for every meal, but I think a lot of people kind of loosen up on the weekend and I’m glad that I”m not the only one!

  2. That sandwich sounds so delicious!

    My favorite sandwich is probably the veggie sandwich at Potbelly’s. Tons of mushrooms!

    And yes, I’ve got major allergies!

  3. Val says:

    I can totally relate about the allergies. And I’m not sure what my fave sandwich is, brie with blueberry jam? or PB&J? I don’t know. haha

  4. The combo in that sandwich is perfect!
    And I completely understand where you’re coming from with the allergies. I always get them around this time.

  5. I do not really have a favorite sandwich, because I really do not like them. I mean, I can appreciate a PB sandwich and a grilled ham and cheese!

    I HATE allergies! 😦 They suck, and always get the better of me. I ran out of allergy pills sometime last week and have not gotten my refill yet (so I have been suffering, however not as bad as normal). I am going to get my refill tomorrow (since I do not want to leave my apartment tonight)!!!

  6. Ugh – I feel you on the allergies right now! They’re driving me nuts…my nose was like a water faucet all.day.long. Mreh.
    That sandwich looks wonderful. As for my faovirte? I’ve been loving eggplant “bacon,” hummus, tomato and arugula lately!
    Hope your feeling better soon!

  7. Parita says:

    I think my all time favorite sandwich is a plain and simple grilled cheese made with flaky bread and thick slices of sharp cheddar…oh and lots of butter! Your mozzarella sandwich doesn’t look too shabby either!!!

  8. I LOVE Woodchuck cider beer! I have it sitting it my fridge now!
    Looks like a fun day!

  9. Prior to this week, I had a sinus headache for almost two weeks straight. So yes, I have allergies :). I get allergy shots though, and they have definitely helped me over the past few years!

  10. I definitely feel for you about the allergies thing – mine used to make me absolutely miserable at this time of the year. Miraculously, they’ve been pretty absent for the past few years, which I’m hoping is the result of packing myself full of fresh veggies and good foods.

    And I wouldn’t mine packing myself full of mozza sandwiches. Uhm.. yum? I have four sandwiche combos that I’m kind of stuck on. Almond butter and banana. Avocado and cheese. Avocado and hummus. And cream cheese and jam. Swoooon.

  11. paulbentley says:

    Totally agree about ‘not being afraid of foods’. Just because I eat something ‘fast’ or fat filled, doesn’t mean my efforts for lifestyle change that week are for nothing! As well as a ‘healthier’ body, we all need a ‘healthier’ mind set. All food is good, it’s frequency that’s the key and that’s a mind set.

  12. I read somewhere that 2011 will be one of the worst summers for allergies that we have seen in a long time. I suffer really badly too. Allergies are the worst 😦

  13. Hope you are feeling better. Your sandwich looks delicious! What a great fresh, summer-y combo.

  14. Alyssa says:

    oh gosh, girlfriend. I have the WORST allergies and am on bi-weekly shots as well as two pills a day AND nasal squirts. I feel ya!

    aand that sandwich… omg. I loooove all paninis. especially the turkey artichoke panini from Panera. I wish it wasn’t so caloric/fattening!

  15. I’m not actaly sure what kind of allergies I may but they bother me in May…sometimes they’re bad enough to take stuff for sometimes they’re not. This year it didn’t seem so bad. Last year I felt like I had a cold for a solid month. My favorite sandwich…hmmm. Well I basically love anything with fresh bread, veggies, and cheese. One of the best sandwiches I’ve had as a vegetarian was an asparagus panini! Loved it! I need to invest in a panini press:)


Leave a Reply

