Snowball Effect

Oh hey, my pretty blends! I hope everyone’s Monday is starting off on the right foot. After a weekend of pure indulgence (what weekend isn’t?) I find that poor eating (and drinking), lack of exercise and little sleep are behaviors that have the ability to easily roll over into my week days if I’m not careful.

Does anyone know what I mean? 

For me, it starts on Friday afternoons. After an entire work week or getting up early, exercising and eating relatively healthy, I throw caution to the wind.

Happy hour? Of course! 


Chips and salsa? Keep ’em comin’!

Dessert? I though you’d never ask! 


On Fridays, this kind of behavior doesn’t usually bother me because I probably worked out that morning, and my Saturdays almost always start with a sweat session. These facts help me rationalize Friday’s reckless abandon.

In addition to my Friday free-for-alls, my life hasn’t seen a “slow” Saturday in months; and while that’s not something I’m complaining about, celebrating a different something every weekend with cakes, drinks and greasy food can add up quickly if I cease to pay attention.

By Sunday I normally feel my body start to turn against me. It’s politely asking me to detox for the day.

Veggies, please.

Water, for God’s sake. WATER!

No. more. sugar.

Because I’m still within the grip of The Weekend, I normally ignore my body’s pleas at this point. What’s one more “naughty” meal?  I usually want to answer this question with a number 6 spicy chicken combo from Wendy’s for dinner. With a real Coke. Forget the diet stuff.

Then, as I sit back after my Wendy’s and lick the french fry salt from my fingers and feel my stomach fighting to pop the button off my jeans, I think – “Oh God! It’s happened again! I let The Weekend get the best of me.”

Yes, my friends. That is real life. After my mini freak-out, I simply tell myself that it’s time to get my ass back into gear. It’s time to put away my party hat and bring out the work clothes.

Because if I don’t get serious on Mondays, The Weekend will convince me to pack cookies and mozzarella sticks in my lunchbox rather than apples and turkey sandwiches

And that never ends well 😉

Let’s chat – Are you a freer eater/more relaxed exerciser on the weekends? Do you agree with the “snowball effect” of making poor health choices? After the first or second indulgence, I think, Oh why not?!

32 Comments on “Snowball Effect”

  1. I don’t really eat differently on the weekends. I never look at it as a reason to indulge, because I’ll indulge anyday if I want to!

  2. I think there is definitely a snowball effect! Which is why I am always hesitant to indulge in the first place, but then I remind myself that I can always put down the chocolate whenever I want to! Well, usually. I think it’s good to just let loose on the weekends though! We deserve some fun and relaxation 🙂

  3. Mariah @ Apples "N" Oats says:

    I’m definitely that way with indulgences if you give me cake, you can bet that I am NOT just having a “tiny” slice.

  4. I have to say I have fallen into the Snowball Effect probably too many times…so therefore I usually indulge more on the weekends. Monday is definitely hard to get back into the swing of things…but totally worth it by the time Friday comes around!! 🙂

  5. aimee says:

    I totally agree with the snowball effect! I feel like I constantly need to deny myself or else I take a pretty hard fall off of the wagon!

  6. I think your right about the snowfall effect. I don’t drink alcohol, and usually have a quite night at home on the weekends (i’m kinda lame lol), so I don’t tend to get into any big indulgence snowballs.

  7. I’m way more relaxed on the weekends and yeah I certainly agree with the snow ball effect. If I can manage to stay decently healthy all weekend then I do.

  8. I can relate to this so much! For me, weekends are for eating out, extra dessert, and using the oh so famous “but it’s the weekend” excuse. I try not to feel too bad about it though, because I’m usually celebrating with friends and family, and I try to exercise for some balance!

  9. Mandy says:

    #6 spicy chicken combo forever!!!!
    haha Colleen, your beautiful description of all this wonderful food is enough to make any dieter relapse haha!
    I actually find myself eating worse during the week sometimes, mostly bc im rushing around and use me being too busy to get healthy food as an excuse :/

  10. I think vacations bring out the snowball effect for me. I try to do a little more/better on the weekends since I am less stressed and have more time. Not to say indulging never happens on the weekends…because it does – but it just depends on what activities I have planned.

  11. Katy says:

    I let the weekends get the best of me, too. It just happens sometimes.

  12. This totally used to be me, but now I just indulge whenever I’m craving it, which usually tends to be spaced out pretty normally throughout the week. I find that if I let myself have treats on more of a regular basis, I’m less likely to go overboard all at once and feel like crap on the weekends. But it’s nothing a few days of fresh foods and water can’t fix 🙂

    • Colleen says:

      I hear ya – I don’t say “no” to things during the week, but I usually just don’t crave anything super crazy. But I’m a happy eater – so many things are happy right now, so I enjoy eating! 🙂

  13. I know exactly what you mean! Whether it’s vacation or a super indulgent weekend, the ‘throwing caution to the wind’ definitely gets the best of me!

    You’ll be right back on track in no time! 🙂

  14. Grace says:

    I have problems like that on the weekend too but recently since it’s summer and I’m on vacation I try to make “balaced” choices:)

  15. Michelle says:

    Hahaha this cracked me up… you have a talent for phrasing serious things in a funny way 🙂 But for real, I definitely see the snowball effect taking place on certain weekends (particularly when I visit family, because I’m usually there to celebrate something). I’m working hard to prevent that from happening by continuing to keep up my exercise routine and fitting in as many fruits and veggies as possible.

  16. I definitely eat/drink more on the weekends. Partly because there is usually so much more food around! And so many events revolve around eating and drinking, its almost impossible to avoid!!

  17. I definitely let myself enjoy more things on the weekends – I try not to let the indulgences pile up, but they do once in a while (Christmas cookies are a perfect example!).

  18. I totally relate to this. I threw caution way into the wind this weekend and am trying really hard to get back into the swing of things! So far: Mission fail with getting up to run but mission successful with eating right. 50 percent there!

    • Colleen says:

      Oh, girl! I’m right there with you! I was dead tired this morning, so I promised myself I’d do something after work. BUT I did eat a healthy lunch, so we’re 50 percent there together!

  19. I think the amount that I indulge on the weekend definitely depends on my plans. If we have a party to go to, or are going out with friends, I find myself getting more lax with my food and beverage choices. But if I’m home, I tend to stick more with my regular habits. Which, of course, always includes sweets anyways. 😉

  20. Jessica says:

    So much yes to all of the above. That’s why sever diets never worked for me bc as soon as I would screw up, I’d think “oh well it’s ruined now” and be back to my old ways. I learned that you just have to let yourself indulge every once in a while without being consumed by guilt or you’ll never let yourself have any fun 🙂

  21. cbrady3 says:

    I usually go crazy on the weekends and then feel really guilty about it and get back on track on monday. I really need to try to just keep it relatively clean all week!

  22. Jenny says:

    I never plan to indulge on the weekends but the boyfriend tends to have fat attacks and I’m dragged into the mess! This weekend was terrible for eating, must have veggies now!! lol 😀

  23. I totally understand what you are talking about! Just this Saturday I indulged at about every meal. By Sunday, my stomach was a mess. Since it was Sunday, my brain still wanted to eat junk, but my body was telling me to stop. I found my self looking forward to Monday and my green monster breakfast!

  24. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! says:

    Weekends really do make everyone wanna do craaaazy stuff! But the good part about it is that you are able to realizde that you wannaget back on track! You’re in tune with your body and that rocks!

  25. kristisn says:

    I definitely think I eat more freely on the weekends. I always want to kick back and have a few drinks and then comes the food. I get that weekend mentality where it’s almost like a minivacation and you can eat and drink whatever you want.

  26. Oh yeah, I indulge on the weekends too! I think most people do! It’s healthy and normal, for the most part

  27. Brittany says:

    Ugh I know the snowball affect all too well! Normally I do OK, but this sounded just like my weekend. It did however give me more motivation to get my butt up and moving today which I hope leads into the rest of the week! =)


Leave a Reply

