Directionally Challenged.

Hey there! Thanks so much for all of your good luck vibes you sent me this morning 🙂 Overall, I think they worked!

When I Googled the place of my interview this morning, I thought no sweat.

I know you may be thinking But, Colleen, you get lost in your own home.

Yes, yes. While that is a slightly fabricated statement, it rarely occurs that I venture to a new place alone and feel confident in my directional abilities.

But Google maps told me my destination was only 3 minutes and two turns away. How could anyone mess that up?

Oh, that’s right. I could.

Good thing I left myself 45 minutes to find my way to a building that was 2.1 miles away from my home.

On my first attempt, I missed the turn. I said to my GPS, No Gertrude. You can’t possibly be right about this one.

Who am I to tell Gerty that she’s wrong?!

After she said route recalculation for the 5th time in her annoyed British accent, (yes, I know she was annoyed) I decided to pay attention. I ended up doing a huge loop only to come back to the left turn that Gertrude had suggested in the first place.

And I took it. And she was right. Go figure. 

At this point I still had 20-ish minutes to find the actual building. And yes, I did stop a man in a suit to ask if he could “point me in the right direction” after I had turned off Gertrude in a fit of rage.

To make a short story long, I ended up on time.

Just a little sweaty.

The interview went swimmingly and I’ve been asked back for a second interview 🙂 So here’s the deal: I don’t really want to celebrate this call back yet. And I contemplated not saying anything because if I don’t get the job, I’ll feel stupid.

But, such is life. Everyone has interviews. Some go well and some don’t. I’m thrilled I was asked back, but I’m also finding a sense of calmness in the cliche: If it’s meant to be, it will be. 

Now I’m going to enjoy my fine dinner and get on my way to volunteer!

PS – Sorry for the lack of photos. I’m in a Panera and my computer is running so slowly! 

Let’s chat – Are you good with directions? Do you ever eat out at a restaurant alone? I’m eating out alone tonight, and I kind of enjoyed it! Not something I do on the reg., but it wasn’t too shabby 🙂

15 Comments on “Directionally Challenged.”

  1. Jamie says:

    I get lost in parking garages. I am so right there with you, big! Reason number 209423463.

  2. I am terrible with directions! I am so happy I have an iPhone because before I did it was hard to get around! I don’t eat out alone very often although I have at Panera:)

  3. I’d eat alone in places like panera where I can just grab something and sit down and do homework, but I don’t think I’d go to a restaurant alone just because I’d be lonely! Congrats on the call back! I always think interviews in and of themselves are great experience no matter what the outcome, but I will think positive thoughts!

  4. I love that you called the GPS gertrude. My family names the GPS Gina and we actually call her that all the time!

  5. Katy says:

    I’m pretty good with directions, but I’m not very good with GPS! I always end up wanting to fight it. Haha.

  6. I hope your interview went well! I am actually going in for a second interview for a job tomorrow too! I found the place easily though, its right across from my gym.

    My GPS also has a name, Flo, and she has a British accent too! “In two hundred yards, take the round-about, third exit” I never know when I am suppose to turn because she talked in yards instead of feet/miles, but she sounds so much better!

  7. Parita says:

    Reason number 1,000,000 why we’re so similar – I am notoriously directionally challenged. After 4 years of living in my college town, I still couldn’t find my way around. LOL! Nowadays, I rely on Google Maps, my GPS ( I call her Bubbly), and my friends and family to get to my destinations. I’m a hot mess when I’m going somewhere I’m not familiar with…a hot mess!

  8. Ack! Sorry I missed your post from this morning, girl! I woulda wished you good luck otherwise. But it’s so great to hear that things went well for ya 😀 I hope everything works out the way you want it to ^^

    I’m not that great with directions… especially if I’m somewhere crowded like down town and then are tonnes of people and buildings – I just get overwhelmed. You would think that I’d get GPS to solve that problem, but I’ve yet to join the 21st century I guess 😉

  9. What are you talking about? I fully expected you to take a video of Gerty flipping out! Then take tons of photos of your interviewer duhh.

    Omg seriously though, I just imagined (while reading your blog) this time it took me 45 minutes to get to an apartment 15 away. Yeah I got pretty lost.

  10. GF Grad Nut says:

    This post made me laugh — but only because it’s exactly like something I would do! Once my friend and I roadtripped from Indiana to South Carolina, and we made it all the way there and nearly all the way back, then got lost on the opposite side of our hometown. Duhh!

    Congrats on the interview!

  11. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Yay for being on time and for celebrating with Panera!!!

  12. Michelle says:

    WOohoo!! I am SOOOO excited for you and your second interview 🙂 I had a feeling you’d get one!

    With my job, I definitely eat out alone when traveling. There are times when there’s no one around to eat with and since I don’t have a kitchen or refrigerator, I’m forced to go somewhere. And since I get sick of takeout, I’ll sometimes sit in a restaurant alone. I used to think it was pitiful, but now I think it’s brave… So, I think you’re brave for doing it too 🙂

  13. I am terrible with directions! I sympathize. When my parents come visit me in NYC, I get lost, they get frustrated, and my dad ALWAYS inevitably asks, “DON’T YOU LIVE HERE?!”

    I like to eat alone when I’m out at a coffee shop writing (sounds like you’re doing that at Panera) but I don’t like to eat out alone without a distraction..It just doesn’t feel right for some reason.

  14. I am pretty much the worst person ever when it comes to directions – everyone makes fun of me and I’ve just come to terms with it! haha

    So glad your interview went well despite the direction issues! 🙂

  15. Oh yes, since moving to Richmond my boss at the museum spends a lot of time giving me directions. We tried to give me directions to MCV to get Chick-Fil-A; and I got lost (it is only like two blocks away, and a few flights of steps).
    I have lived in Richmond since July, and yet I still get so confused about driving around. I am getting better, since I can go from most Point As to Point Bs; but a lot of time I drive around lost.

    It is a natural thing to overestimate the driving and advice from a GPS (or Gertrude, as you call her). My boyfriend has a Driod 2, and cannot get from Point A to Point B without it. It is kind of depressing, since we do not really go that many places; yet he always has to turn on the phone to get there. I told him one day I was going to throw the phone out, and he would have to drive without it (down the road to our dance studio) and he thought I was crazy. I mean, really??? He is the one who cannot drive down the road (I literally mean the studio is down Broad Street for like 6 miles) without his phone.

    So, I believe men are more directionally challenged; but refuse to admit it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

