Couches, Tables and Beds – Oh, My!

This afternoon I had to say farewell (for now) to my BFF, Jamie 😦 Her brother is getting married this weekend and then she’s headed back to live in Richmond for the summer.

Of course we had to have frozen yogurt as our goodbye snack πŸ˜‰ My favorite fro-yo place in Richmond just opened a shop in my neck of the woods! It’s a good day, my friends.

Surprising Afternoon Workout

Some of you may know that I’m usually an AM workout gal, but it wasn’t in the cards this morning. So after my fro-yo extravaganza, I made a pit-stop at the gym and was able to get in a 4-mile run.

Can you believe that?Β I sure can’t. I was just trotting along, and when I got to about 2.5 miles I realized I wasn’t really tired. I even ran one mile at 7.0 mph, which is a little bit faster than my comfortable 6.3 mph. I was proud of myself!

Couches, Tables and Beds, Oh My!

Cory and I spent the evening furniture shopping. Woah. Doin’ big things, I know. But as lame as furniture shopping may sound, it was actually exciting! I’ve never owned my own furniture and I’ve never owned anything with Cory – so this is all very fun πŸ˜€

All that sitting on couches and Ooohh-ing and Ahhh-ing over memory foam beds worked up our appetites. Once we got in the car my hanger level was at a solid 7, so I told Cory “just make a decision. I don’t care what or where we eat.”

He made a good decision! El Fresco it was! πŸ™‚ I ordered two soft grilled chicken tacos with black beans and rice. Delish.

I know it is Mexican food, and I understand that many would dispute the healthiness of it all, but the ingredients are always so fresh here!

Look at that fresh salsa, fresh guac and grilled chicken. I’m also a huge fan of black beans – so all in all, I left stuffed, but I didn’t feel totally bad about it πŸ™‚

Now my night includes doing a whole lotta nothin’! I hope you’ve enjoyed your day, friends!

Let’s chat – Do you live near your best friend? Mexican vs Indian food?Β 

15 Comments on “Couches, Tables and Beds – Oh, My!”

  1. Parita says:

    I don’t live near any of my best friends. 😦 I wish I did! And you have me stumped with that last question, but I think if I ever did have to choose, Indian would win!

  2. I think Mexican food can be healthy if you order the right thing, and don’t go overboard on the chips and cheese! Black beans, rice, quac, pico de gallo, all healthy in my book!

    Your Mexican dish looks yummy!

    • Colleen says:

      I agree! I was so pleased that they gave us a little tiny basket of chips to share, because I normally can’t control myself with chips! Tonight was different thank goodness πŸ™‚

  3. Jamie says:

    I did live close to my best friend -I don’t want to leave : ( I have gotten so used to seeing you every week! Glad we could meet up today for a short time even during all of this craziness! I want to hear all about your furniture shopping trip with Cory! Love you, big!

  4. In my mind, there is nothing unhealthy about mexican food.. if it’s cooked right. I live off of Mexican!!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Nice job on the run! Always nice to meet with an ex sometimes! LOL.

  6. I live near my bdubs during the summer but we live 700 miles away during the school year ahh.

    Please send me all your froyo places as I am extremely jealous we don’t have many here.

  7. GF Grad Nut says:

    Congrats on your run! I always find I have more energy for working out after a good breakfast/lunch.

  8. Shopping for furniture makes me feel all grown up too lol. And congrats on the run! I’m definitely a morning worker-outer as well, but I can occasionally get in a good afternoon workout, and it always surprises me a little bit.

    Oh, and Mexican all the way. I LIVE for salsa and guac.

  9. Meaghan says:

    I looovvee mexican food! And agree, if it’s cooked the right way it’s totally not that unhealthy.

  10. Why does frozen yogurt make everything infinitely better? Oh well… as long as it just DOES.. I won’t ask why πŸ™‚

  11. Luckily I do live near my best friends! And I don’t think I could choose between Mexican and Indian – they are two of my faves! πŸ™‚

  12. I love sweet frog!!!! Ahhh it’s so dangerously delicious! πŸ™‚

    I’ve never heard of El Fresco! But based on those pictures… I’m thinking I need to try it!

  13. I am a big fan of black beans, too…especially with cilantro mixed in! So fresh tasting.

  14. Katy says:

    I now live near my BFF! I love it so much. I am a huge anti-Mexican food person. I know it’s almost blasphemos, but I’ve never liked it! Lol. I do love margaritas, though.


Leave a Reply

