Lucky Duck

Hi there! Is everyone excited for an abbreviated workweek? You know I don’t like Tuesdays, but since I have a very short week this week, I can handle it :)

Monday recap 

Yesterday was such a great, lazy day. I love days that have absolutely nothing on the agenda. No “have to’s” of any kind. This weekend I slept 9 – 10 hours each night and it was glorious. I guess my body needed to catch up on some sleep!

I spent about an hour at the pool yesterday. Jesus Christ – it was 100 degrees outside! That’s a little too hot for me. I also limited my time both pool days because I know being in the sun isn’t the best. But, gooosh, I love having a tan!

Post-pool I came back and whipped up a smoothie in no time :)

Refreshing!

My spinach stash had gone bad, so this was a regular old smoothie (please note my extremely precise measurements):

  •  Just enough skim milk to get everything movin’
  • A handful of ice cubes
  • A dollop of blueberry Chobani
  • 1 1/2 tbsp PB
  • 1 banana
  • 1 frozen strawberry

It was tasty, and even though you cannot taste the spinach, I missed it!

Two for two 

I made a smoothie, and Cory made a baguette from scratch. No big deal.

He’s never made bread. He just felt like giving it a try. It turned out so well! I even snagged a huge chunk to eat at lunch today :)

Cory was actually 2 for 2 in the kitchen yesterday. We had a little cookout and he made the best burgers I have ever tasted in my entire life. Truly, they were out of this world. How lucky am I? Seriously.

Gross picture, I know. But this was the only one I took. The food was hot and ready to be eaten, so I really didn’t take the time to try and be creative. You forgive me, right? ;)

(PS – We didn’t have any butter for the corn, so I sprinkled some parmesan cheese on the cob and it was quite a nice substitute!)

Movin’ Out

Cory moves into our new place in less than a month (!!), so he spent a good chunk of time cleaning out his closet. Look at all this stuff he’s sending to Goodwill!

A good amount of t-shirts were Longwood related, and it was kind of sad to see them placed into the give away pile. I would see a shirt and think “You wore that on such-and-such date.” It was strange!

Tuesday Workout

Remember how I said I’ve been getting 9 – 10 hours of sleep for the past few days? Yeah. Well, when my alarm went off at the ass-crack of dawn, I didn’t budge. An afternoon workout is in my future.

Tuesday Breakfast 

I am running so low on food right now! Like I said, it’s a short week for me because I’m traveling this weekend, so I’m trying to avoid buying food that will go bad. That said, I went to the grocery store at 6 AM to buy juuust enough to get me through the next three days :)

Thank goodness I made the decision to go to the store – how would I have been able to enjoy my beloved cereal combo without milk?!

Quaker oatmeal squares, Special K Multi Grain Oats & Honey, Cheerios, banana, almond slivers 

Well, my friends – that’s the story so far! I’m off to make the bacon :) I’ll catch you guys later!

Let’s chat:

 Have you ever made bread from scratch? I sure haven’t!  

 What’s your favorite smoothie concoction? Plain and simple: PB & banana, (and spinach) for me! 


13 Comments on “Lucky Duck”

  1. Wow, he just made bread on a whim? What a catch!

    I’ve never made homemade bread before–dealing with yeast sounds like a hassle to me.

    Fave smoothie is either strawberry-banana or chocolate banana

  2. I’ve made bread in a bread maker before, and once without a bread maker. Both times they only turned out mediocre, but they did smell amazing when they were baking.

    I always feel so accomplished after cleaning out the closet!

  3. You are one lucky girl! Vishnu will help me out in the kitchen, but his claim to fame is toast…and easy mac if I’m lucky! LOL!

    My favorite smoothie combo is def. PB + banana + cocoa powder + spinach. Can’t beat it! Have a GREAT day!

  4. That bread looks so could! I can’t believe he just whipped it up because he wanted to! That is talent :).

  5. That bread looks so go! I can’t believe he just whipped it up because he wanted to! That is talent :).

  6. okay, i apologize…that is supposed to say *so good!

  7. Ashley says:

    The bread looks amazing! I have only ever made it with a bread machine and a no fail recipe! I love smoothies, but I buy them pre-made…. I need to get on the homemdae bandwagon here soon!

  8. That smoothie combo is like exactly what I had this morning! My spinach was ALMOST bad, but I figured it would be fine in a smoothie, and it was! I love how bright green it turns. My roomies are always a little weirded out though ;) haha

    I’ve made bread from scratch once but it’s been forever! I should try it again!

  9. I’m impressed with the bread! I have made a lot of bread from scratch, but definitely not in 100 degree weather. Yowzers.

  10. Yum that smoothie sounds delish…especially in the hot weather! PB makes everything delicious!

  11. Jenny says:

    I have never made bread before! How awesome that he just whipped some up haha I love bread, well all carbs ;) That smoothie looks so yummy as does your huge bowl of cereal, love it :D

  12. cbrady3 says:

    1. I want cereal now
    2. I used to make bread when I worked in a restaurant but haven’t tried any at home!
    3. I was almost out of spinach for my smoothie yesterday too and I was so sad!!

  13. Lucky you with a man making you bread! ;)
    My sister and I made Foccaccia bread before and it was divine!! My mum makes brown bread all the time too, so delicious! :)
    Awesome cereal bowl! I love just throwing in loadsa things too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers